We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place , not too much bad !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kim Hoa Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kim Hoa Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Kim Hoa Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88/2 Tran Hung Dao | Block 7 , Duong Dong Village, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 42 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place , not too much bad !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I spent 2 nights with our friends in May. And I think this hotel
is good place to stay in Phu Quoc. Good location, nice
view, room was Ok!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    29
    35
    46
    29
See reviews for
29
65
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hobart
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights and that was enough!! Check-in was unfriendly and slow. They were feeding small children at the time ( at reception ) and I waited. I was escorted to my beach front bungalow, past piles of rubbish, empty beer bottles and broken plastic outdoor furniture. The bungalow was very basic !!! On the veranda was a cracked and broken concrete table and bench chair with rusty steel reinforcing sticking out the side. The front door had packaging tape holding it together and inside the room there was a queen size bed and a single bed. The clock on the wall that had run out of battery and a calendar with January showing in March. No other decorations of any type. Just badly painted walls with finger marks. The windows have iron bars and no insect screens. there's a TV that didn't work very well and a bar fridge with the basics. Chipped and cracked coffee cups and no kettle, presumably the third person that the room is capable of housing doesn't want a tea or coffee, only 2 cups. The bathroom was dirty. The toilet seat was broken. The shower doors wouldn't close all the way and the shower base hade an 8" long crack in it. It was fibreglass and had no support under it. Water ran out all over the bathroom floor. There were bathroom "sandles" provided but they were very dirty. I complained to the management and requested another room. He was happy to move me and acknowledged my concerns. The next room was a slight improvement. This hotel has huge potential but has poor management. It is in a great position on the beach and has a lot going for it. But, the lack of staff training ( the wait staff in the restaurant are very young and have no idea what they are suppose to do ) the unprofessional reception staff and the piles of rubbish still around the property after being mentioned in earlier reviews let the place down badly. Would I recommend it to my friends...........no. Not in it's present form !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We did not have any hotel booking in Phu Quoc and after checking on the internet, we decided to take a taxi and check directly at the hotel. The idea of the swimming pool seemed good to us, and as we were on a honeymoon, we went for a beach bungalow. Room was ok, on a beautiful sandy beach with clear water. The pool was clean and there were sun chairs . Breakfast was to me a bit of a joke . You get a choice of one item from a list, as in many other hotels in Vietnam. I went for the bread and cheese, and was given a baguette with a single "laughing cow". I remembered afterward reading the same review on tripadvisor ...My husband was wiser and went for the pancake. I ordered a tiger beer at the bar the first day, there was only one left in the fridge, but there was a lot remaining in the main restaurant one. The following day, I ordered again a tiger beer at the bar, and they told me they did not have any left. I eventually ended up going to the restaurant ( literally 1 minute walk from there) and ordered my tiger beer ! The 3 of them just couldn't be bothered... it actually makes me laugh as I have experienced this before in other part of the world. The staff in general does not seem to care, or even work and you will see them check the internet, read papers or even sleep on the beachside bar tables. There were also cans, bottles and garbage bags in some green areas of the resort and again, nobody seemed to care . I am sure this could be a perfect place with a little bit of effort, but they're just not quite yet there, and when you see what you usually get for 60 USD in Vietnam, it makes you laugh even more ! Check out the bungalow resort next door, 20 USD per night ( no tv in the room but who needs one anyway), with a nice bar and pool table.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

This resort is located right on Long Beach and that is a great selling point. It's also very close to some great restaurants and short distance into the main town, so that's all great. The beach restaurant is good though, all the food we had there was delicious and reasonably priced. There are lounge chairs right on the beach and they have security all day to stop you being hassled by local sellers while you're relaxing, which is a great. The pool is alright too.

What lets this place down is the reception staff - extremely rude and money focused, and not very helpful at all. Also the rooms are overpriced for what you get and the bed is incredibly hard, making it difficult to sleep well. The breakfast is simple and they use a coupon system which seems silly.

I had a nice stay but next time I go to Phu Quoc, I'll be looking at other accommodation options.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

If you are planning to reserve a garden view bungalow (there are 4) ask one from the back row. We had one bungalow in the front row for few weeks right beside from the main gate. Not so nice. Othervise resort was ok, some noise from the building. Stuff was helpfull and friendly (exept the girls in the restaurant). Bungalow was clean and in good shape. Not luxury but quite good value for the price.
Very very very good family restaurant called Hieu, 100 meters before Kim Hoa. Highly recommended! Good price and exellent food! Try raw fish!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Risor, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

This is a resort made for Vietnamese tourists, coming mainly from HCMC for weekend stays and short vacations. Accommodation, food and service are fully acceptable for Westerners, being able to adjust to this fact. It is a two-star resort, not pretending to be anything else.
Ok, I had to buy some tape at a plummer's store, taping the windows and door of our beach bungalow to close the cracks to keep the mosquitoes outside. It cost me fifty cents and ten minutes of work, but I didn't mind.
Ok, every Saturday and Sunday we woke up at six, because this is when Vietnamese take a swim all together! After sunrise they might get a tan, which is not preferable!
Ok, the staff is very young, not being fully used to "oversea people", as they call us. But they are very nice when you get to know them. The service is good, but things tend to take a little more time. Get used to it! Being impatient and rude is "to loose one's face".
OK, the accommodation is basic, but the cleaner will keep your room in perfect condition. The price is very reasonable, 40-60 USD.
Be polite, smile and take things as they come, and your stay will be very nice, because: The location is fantastic!
Phu Quoc is a genuine Vietnamese island. In a couple of years the new international airport will open, international hotels will pop up, and perhaps spoil it all.
Kim Hoa is situated right on a fantastic beach close to the main village, Duong Dong. Go there now, stay at KH, have your phò for breakfast and experience what Vietnam is all about.

Room Tip: Beach bungalows! Book well in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soeast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

stayed 3 nights, personal staff, great room w excellent a/c and rotating fan, all the accoutrements of a beachside location. pretty grounds, very accomodating

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kim Hoa Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kim Hoa Resort Hotel

Address: 88/2 Tran Hung Dao | Block 7 , Duong Dong Village, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kim Hoa Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kim Hoa Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kim Hoa Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kim Hoa Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.