We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mai House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mai House Resort to your Saves list
Mai House Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Long Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“nice resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

very nice resort, comfortable cosy rooms, nice surrounding, the breakfast buffet is really good (bread, cereales, pancakes, eggs, coffee, juice..). however the sea is dirty, not the best beach of the island. in general, a very nice place.for a good value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    127
    37
    26
    14
See reviews for
52
293
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Don't bother booking sea view bungalows, they don't bring much value than garden view bungalow. No problem having no TV in the room but a fridge is more useful than a safe deposit box.
Cocktails are good and cheap while the food is acceptable.

Very quiet place

Room Tip: Sea view are quite far from the sea. Rather choose a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Well, Mai House resort is awesome!
You will feel magic when you'll walk on a footpath to the sea straight from your room. You will have a desire to get inside the water, so don't resist, swim!
You should try their restaurant dishes in the evening. Everything me and my friends ate was truly fantastic.
Staff will help you to rent a scooter and organize diving (which me and my friends did), so don't miss this amazing opportunity to explore the island.
Also make sure you say hi to resort manager - David, he'll go extra mile to help you out.
I hope you will enjoy your stay at this amazing place as I did.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed 3 days in My House Resort with my family, and we were really surprised to have such a good travel experience there! Perfect view on the sea, with the beach just beside our bungalow. We really loved this natural place! And the staff was very friendly. I recommend this place if you are looking for a quiet and beautiful place to stay in Phu Quoc Island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent 7 days in Mai House resort, it was perfect, the staff very friendly and heedful all the time. The place is natural and authentic, many simple things and it was perfect ! In the restaurant the staff was nice and take care of you, the manager of restaurant mister UT came and talked to us about the city it was so cute !

The dishes was very tasty and perfect cocktails. The room was confortable and beautiful decoration. The receptionist was able to advise us some good tour in the island.
Many thanks to the manager of the resort for the medecine.

We will come back for sure next year with "doliprane" if you know what I mean David.

We recommend Mai House resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Mai house resort was a great place to stay. We found the room to be very pleasant, and the service was also very good. We took a Gardenview bungalow and paid $60 a night in the low season. The room had no fridge or TV but this was not a problem for us. We were let down by the weather which was overcast and rainy most of the time. We did manage to get one sunny day on the final day.

The restaurant/bar was pleasant, and the staff very attentive. Food was good and Prices were reasonable however typically more expensive than HCMC. Complimentary drink between 3 and 5 PM was a nice touch. Breakfasts were okay, but not a great deal of selection Compared to others we have had in Vietnam. Do check out Rory's bar to the south about 500 m along the beach. They serve drinks until late and had a good atmosphere.

Phu Quoc itself is an interesting place. It almost seems as though the Vietnamese here want to embrace tourism but have not quite worked out the best way in which to do it. Places close early and the staff seem a little unsure as to what tourists really want from their holidays here. Prices vary enormously and this can mean very different clients in a small area. There are huge amounts taking place in terms of infrastructure and hotels/resorts. You must check out the night market where there is some fantastic food. We hired and moped to explore the island and this was good too. We would very much like to come back in a few years to see how the island is changed.

Having read the review about paying the bill below, it is worth advising caution on this. I only read this review after we had left and went back to check our bill. We were charged in US dollars and ended up paying more than we should through the exchange rate. We decided to pay in Vietnamese dong and had a conversion rate of 21.5. At the time I didn't notice as I thought they missed out on motorbike hire from the bill which bumped the final bill. We would have also saved had we paid by credit card.

It is also worth remembering that all of your drinks and food is charged to the room so will also incur the 2% charge For using a credit card or for paying in dong and the exchange rate. It may be worth paying in cash as you go or ensuring you have enough dollars for your stay if you don't want to suffer this problem too.

All in all though, a lovely, relaxing hotel where you could enjoy the quiet and the beach without being mobbed by beach sellers or hundreds of other tourists.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A beautiful place to be. Amazing garden, cozy houses. Very friendly staff and food is more than delicious. Besides that you will have a great view while eating. I had a very great time in here and definitely would like to come back! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mai House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai House Resort

Address: Long Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mai House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai House Resort is located on Long Beach, 5 kms away from Duong Dong city and the airport. The resort is located on a 2 hectares tropical garden, right on the beach with only 30 accommodations units (26 with AC&FAN, 4 with only FAN) each bungalow is separated from the others to preserve tranquility and privacy of our guests. A bar-restaurant right on the beach prepares Vietnamese seafood specialties, barbecue and Western food.A beach fully equipped with sunshades, sunloungers and beach towels. Each bungalow with thatched roof is private with a furnished balcony, a bungalow with king size 4 poster bed with mosquito net, a private bathroom (shower) with hot water and toilet and a closet with safety box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mai House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Mai Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Mai Phu Quoc Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.