We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay at Long Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mai House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mai House Resort to your Saves list
Mai House Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Long Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay at Long Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at Mai House for 3 Nights and enjoyed our stay. We thought the bungalows were nice, clean and with enough privacy around. The garden and the beach area was beautiful. The only two things we did not like so much was so slow pace of the waiters in the Restaurant (and it was quite expensive) and that we had to look around the corner to see the sea despite having booked a sea view bungalow. The costs are quite high for the ressort that's why it did not quite match our expectations.But all together we had a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    117
    32
    22
    13
See reviews for
49
268
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I really don't understand the good reviews on tripadvisor. but I guess taste is different. but to anyone who stayed at a descent beach resort before will understand what I mean. bungalows are okay. pretty average. as mentioned before, no door between bathroom and bedroom, thatched roof, small bedroom, hard bed (but that's normal for vietnam). you can only sit outside your bungalow as inside you don't have any furniture except for the bed, desk and a very small wooden chair. small closet with 4 hangers. there is at least a safe, which is useful as the entrance doors don't really close properly, so anyone could walk into your bungalow. no fridge no tv - that was mentioned before as well. didn't bother me too much. beach is anything else but white sand (as also mentioned before). its more yellow and quiet dirty at times. beachchairs are very old and moldy and half of them are broken. the cushions are moldy too. I saw that when it was raining the hotel staff did not remove them. I guess that's why they are moldy. breakfast is very basic. you get to chose from eggs sunny side up, omlet with onion and tomato and crepes. thats all. there is some bread, toaster didn't work, coffee was good, tea was cold, butter was melted and recooled over night again (can see it by the shape it took). sometimes fresh croissants sometimes the ones from yesterday (rockhard), some fruits but not peeled. you can only order one thing from a la carte. we ordered 1 portion crepes in addition and didn't get them. happened twice. they just refuse to bring them. ate once at the beach restaurant in the evening. cocktail was horrible. tuna salad was small but costs 3 times more than the restaurant next door and we couldn't really find any tuna in it. sandwich was very dry.
I mean all in all, it's 80 dollars a night. not a big deal for two people. but what I really don't understand is the lack of service. the waiters are so rude. even the reception. no one is really helpful. you can stand around and wait and nobody would ask you what you want. they always look like you are bothering them with something. also most of the time 7 people stand around and you still have to walk up to them if you want to sign the receipt for the dinner. compared to other places I stayed at in Vietnam, it's very poor service. you can pay much less and get much more on this island.

Room Tip: take garden bungalow, you can't really see the ocean from the ocean bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Mai House. The bungalows are well spaced out and although not hitting the 'luxury' front are clean and pleasantly decorated. with spacious verandas. The bungalows are set in a beautiful well kept garden which is full of tropical flowers and butterflies and leads straight down to the lovely white sand beach. The owners are friendly and helpful and kindly moved us to a different bungalow the day after we arrived, as the one we were in was a bit dark. The breakfast is good and croissants really nice. The hotel restaurant serves tasty food but is a little more expensive than some other places on the beach and there are plenty of good restaurants nearby. On the downside we did think the bungalows were quite expensive compared to elsewhere in Vietnam but I agree with previous reviewers this is one of the best places to stay on the island. One suggestion is that a fridge in the room would be good and also when we came back from the beach bars at 10.30-11 ish the lights on the path had been switched off. It might be helpful to leave them on till midnight just so people can see where they are going on the way back to their bungalow. Hire a moped to see some of the island but be prepared for some exciting off roading! Also if you go to Sao beach which is lovely watch out for the sandflies. We had join the dots after our visit!!

Room Tip: If you dont decide to pay extra for the sea view bungalows try and get a bungalow that is nearer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner, Middlesex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Everything you could need. The bungalows are lovely, the location is fab as is the beach. Beautiful. The resort also respects the natural habitat unlike the Veranda. They were really helpful. The bathrooms are lovely. Really happy!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The MAI HOUSE is just a little Paradise on the white sand Long Beach with an excellent restaurant! The bungalows are very beautiful decorated with lots of love & elegant taste, embedded in an amazing very well keep tropical garden! Hold by a french-vietnamese couple Gérard & Tan the place is well known since years & calm, clean, relaxing & always welcoming with a very nice service!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

10 minutes taxi ride from the new International Airport and right in the middle of Long Beach Mai House is a fantastic base from which to enjoy this tropical paradise.

Although not cheap, the rooms at Mai House are excellent. Accommodation is in the form of self contained bungalows set back from the beach in immaculately maintained gardens. The price of the bungalow dictates how near the beach it is.

Many other places along the beach seem over developed but Mai House have resisted this instead limiting the bungalows on site to around 30 and keeping most of the place as gardens.

The service in all areas was fantastic. We arrived very early (8am) as we were on an early flight. We went to reception expecting to be able to drop our bags there while we wait until the afternoon when we could check in. Instead they told us to go grab a coffee in the restaurant and they cleaned a room for us there and then so we could check in early.

The food and drink in the restaurant was great. We never ate there at night however, choosing instead to eat out and about around the island. It's worth noting, like many have done before, that the small seafood restaurant next door is excellent!

Our room at Mai House was one of the best I've ever stayed in. No TV admittedly but this only encourages you to get out and go make the most of this stunning island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in Feb 2013 and was very impressed by the property. The grounds are impeccably well-kept, the bungalows are tastefully set back from the beach, and our ocean-view bungalow (with A/C and mosquito net) served us really well. Of course you're staying in a thatch-roof bungalow, so mosquito netting is a major bonus. There are always a few other guests in your room with you.

Restaurant on-site is very good for salads and snacks, but we never did a full dinner here. Service is friendly and beach is very nice. It doesn't have a party vibe, which is welcome for us. Just mellow and relaxing. A cab into downtown will cost you a few bucks or you can take a long hike down the beach to get there.

I'd highly recommend this spot. Especially if you can score the rate we did ($80/night via Agoda.com).

Room Tip: Bungalow 9 (Ocean view) is very nice. Rooms in the back are crammed a little closer together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mai House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai House Resort

Address: Long Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mai House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai House Resort is located on Long Beach, 5 kms away from Duong Dong city and the airport. The resort is located on a 2 hectares tropical garden, right on the beach with only 30 accommodations units (26 with AC&FAN, 4 with only FAN) each bungalow is separated from the others to preserve tranquility and privacy of our guests. A bar-restaurant right on the beach prepares Vietnamese seafood specialties, barbecue and Western food.A beach fully equipped with sunshades, sunloungers and beach towels. Each bungalow with thatched roof is private with a furnished balcony, a bungalow with king size 4 poster bed with mosquito net, a private bathroom (shower) with hot water and toilet and a closet with safety box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mai House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Mai Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Mai Phu Quoc Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.