We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“phu quoc mango bay resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mango Bay Resort to your Saves list
Mango Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport transfer
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Bowral
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“phu quoc mango bay resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Everything about this resort was well above par and exceeded any expectations I had. It is an absolute jewel, in such a beautiful location and generous helpful staff with big hearts. I am already planning to save for a return visit.
I cant imagine anyone who stays here not loving it and hating to leave as much as we did!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    228
    54
    34
    6
See reviews for
148
579
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Excellent Resort, absolutely friendly and helpful staff, very good location and very good food!
We stayed there 4 nights in December 2012 and were very satisfied! We did the snorkelling trip and can really recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at Mango By for 4 nights in November and would have stayed longer if they had any available space. First impression was that the roads leading up to the resort are not developed. The airport transfer was free, but it was extremely bumpy a ride, I was actually being thrown about in the car. If you're an adult no problem, maybe be wary if you have kids. The driver could have realised himself. 20 mins later you're in the resort, being greeted by friendly staff which is nice.The location is quiet and off the beaten track but if you're looking for peace and to relax its the perfect spot. The service, friendliness of the staff and atmosphere is really fantastic. You can tell the staff are well looked after and happy in their work as it really shows in the vibe of the place. We stayed in the superior sea view room after getting a free upgrade. The food in the restaurant was tasty, and although pricy for Vietnam, was still reasonable. Breakfast was included and we loved sitting beachside to eat it. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This place is brilliant, I 100% recommend anyone to stay there. It's quiet and uncrowded, lots of space, lovely beaches, nice loungers, excellent cocktails, great atmosphere. The customer service is some of the best I've had in Asia. The staff went above and beyond in helping us to celebrate a birthday while we stayed there and made us a cake & decorated a table, they made it very special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

For me this was heaven found, I religiously avoid "Resort's" as usually being too formulaic, sanitized and concrete but this sounded like it might have something special. I wasn't disappointed. From the rustic entrance up a windy jungle pathway, you come upon a simple structure housing reception and the restaurant, with tables on the deck that is practically in the water, as is the beach bar further along. The water is perfect postcard turquoise.
The "resort" is spread out along 1 kilometer of pristine tree and cabana shaded beach with little bays and rocky outcrops, allowing for privacy. The, individual bungalows, on stilts, set in tropical greenery, (great views) are spread out just back from the beach, they're spacious, elegant with large balconies and funky outside bathroom. Fun and friendly staff, great food. I stayed for 5 nights and didn't have the same thing twice, I had intended to go and check out the town but I couldn't tear myself away. Don't expect polished finesse, this is a rustic retreat, it's far from town but you can walk for miles along the coast and there are boat and snorkeling facilities. and there's a spa. Definitely on my "must return" list.

Room Tip: Plantation bungalows are more modern and better kept, with better access to the beach and have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

after a truly wonderful taste of the delights vietnam has to offer on our first trip we topped it off with a stay at the mango bay resort...........................just blissful! the staff, ambience, facilities,
setting and food/drink were all we wished and more.
katrina & greg

Room Tip: beach bungalow for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My partner and I had a 5 night stay here after a hectic 3 week tour of Vietnam and it was everything we'd hoped for .... and much more. We loved the whole ethos of the place, the blend with nature, the approach they have to looking after their staff and guests and their fantastic food and service. We had a Plantation bungalow which was beautiful and so, so comfy. We were happy to not have a phone or TV or fridge (but they provide ice for the ice box if you want it). Staff couldn't do enough for you and since the resort covers 1km of beach with only 41 bungalows spread around the property it was easy to feel you had this little piece of paradise to yourself. There is a shuttle bus service each day for anyone who wants to explore Phu Quoc further but we certainly didn't want to leave the bay, snorkelling is great and other activities and wellness centre are available.
Thank you so much Mr Doi and everyone at Mango Bay for giving us such a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The Plantation bungalows are really lovely but I'm sure all their accomodation is just as good d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a low density resort, driven by a passion for the environment, intelligent use of materials, and strong support for island culture. Mango Bay is tucked away off the beaten track, with Vietnam's first rammed earth bungalows, enclosed by beach and protected forest. There are no air-cons, television sets or telephones in the rooms for a true fusion with nature at the island's first eco-friendly resort. All rooms and bungalows have open sea views and offer mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Mango Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.