We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free upgrade and loveley beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon Phu Quoc Resort

Save Saved
You added Saigon Phu Quoc Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saigon Phu Quoc Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   62 Tran Hung Dao Beachside Boulevard, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Standard room is only $81
Ranked #14 of 40 hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Deutschland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Free upgrade and loveley beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent 4 days at the resort and enjoyed very much our stay.

Positive:
- Free Upgrade.
- Clean and cozy rooms and comfortable matress.
- Friendly staff.
- Loveley beach with nice beach loungers and kayaks.
- Center of small village in easy walking distance.

"Negative":
- Food and breakfast was average.
- Partly staff has difficulties with english.
- Breakfast area could be cleaner.

Recommendation:
- Go to the nightmarket and enjoy fresh seafood.
- Beverages and snacks are also available in shops across the street and much more cheaper.
- Take one of the free bikes and cycle around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    112
    61
    23
    11
See reviews for
44
123
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Overall this was a lovely resort to retreat to for my boyfriend and I. Great location with a really lovely tropical feel to it.

The staff were attentive but also a little gloomy....

We booked a panorama room ( so the least expensive) but we could see the beach from our room and it was definitely adequate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

For being just a 3 star hotel this is a really nice spot just a stone's throw from the beach. The beach is very clean here and less "windy" compared to the southern parts of the beach. Facilities include AC, Gym, SPA, tennis court, ping pong table and tiny driver's range. Breakfast is OK. By far the most "classy hotel" (after "La Veranda") and also very close to the "main town" (Duong Dong).

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Room is clean, friendly staffs
i had a nice three days stay in this hotel. the room is clean and big.the breakfast is good have many things to eat. the in-house tour is cheaper that other place. we had a one day tour for 4 people.the in-house bbq seafood is cheap
Travel tip: the sightseeing in phu quoc is not very attractive but the beach is beautiful. the night market is small not much thing to buy.phu quoc is a good place for relax

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I booked this resort through a website for 6 nights to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday. It was truly a very disappointing resort. I had booked what was supposed to be the BEST 2 bedroom suite at the resort (presidential suite) for my family including our 6 yo son & a friend, and also booked a single room for my husbands cousin. We were checked into a 2 bedroom suite that did not look like the photos on the website.....this one had a smaller lounge area, tattered old 2 seater lounge & bedrooms that looked smaller than they should be. I explained to reception that this was not the suite I had booked & showed her the pictures on my IPad & that it was a special occasion & I would like the room I booked. First she told me that they were just the pictures they use for the website & the pics were the "BEST" room. So when I told her well I want that room that I booked or i want a refund she said its booked for another 2 nights & she can move us after that. Although I was disappointed I felt it was a win as my husbands birthday was in 2 days time & we would be in the right room for it at least.
The rooms were clean but very old, as other reviews state. The staff were not friendly & not in a hurry to help. The service at the pool bar was disgusting....long waits, staff that were biting each other on the arms & mucking around fighting & they couldn't get a meal order right.
The pool is nice & was clean thank goodness.
The beach was clean too but to swim at this time of year was awful as there were tiny jellyfish in the water that stung us everywhere!
The food & drinks are way over priced.....at least 3-4 times street value for Vietnam. We only had 2 lunches there. The first was when we arrived & couldn't get an early check in so had to wait 2 hours around lunchtime & the 2nd because we were enjoying the pool & didn't want to go out.
The resort had a high count of russian & eastern europe patrons who had low tolerances for non-Russian or english only speaking guests. There were also a lot of retiree aged guests & we felt very out of place there.
The only positive thing about this resort is its location. It is very central to restaurants, cafes, bars & sights.
Any locals who asked where we're staying all laughed & said there were much cheaper & better hotels than this one. We paid a lot of money to stay here (nearly $500 a night between the 2 rooms) and left feeling very ripped off & upset that we had this experience.
I would not recommend this resort to anyone....there are many better places to stay like La Veranda & Cassia Cottages.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaigonPhuQuoc, General Manager at Saigon Phu Quoc Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. We are certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.



We would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay. As you claim that you could not received your “booked room” at your check-in time. It was our fault that we did not give you the exactly room which showed on website (room 101) because there was another couple who were staying there and they wanted to spend more two days living there (room 101) without informing us first. We also apologized and invited them to take another room for their remainder of stay. They were also angry to us and said that they did not want to move into another room. We ensure this case will not happen in the future.



Besides that, staff that was biting each other on the arms, we move them to work in the back office and we train the rest and don’t let it happen again. We would like to come back to us with room voucher of one night stay of room 101.



Once again please do accept our apologies and we do hope that you will be happy to visit Phuquoc island again.



Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The resort is wonderful. Staff is very nice, helpful, professional and they always smile. We stayed in a romantic, beautiful sea view villa with two bedrooms. It was spacious, clean, well-furnished and equipped as well as the bathrooms. The villa had a big terrace where we enjoyed the sun sets and a big garden around it with two swings, pond and a stone table. The beach is nice, clean, flat and sandy, convenient for children. There are a lot free sun beds on the beach and beach towels are available. My children liked the swimming pool most. The resort is set in a beautiful exotic garden; there are a lot of coconut palm trees which offer just enough shadow in the resort and on the beach. The resort offers free gym, table tennis, kayak, bicycles; the tennis ground is free of charge between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. The breakfast was good, but could be better for such a good resort. We liked the restaurant beside the beach. BBQ dinners offered excellent sea food and plenty of other food for children. My husband and I were celebrating the wedding anniversary while staying in this resort and the staff prepared a wonderful dinner for us on the beach. I want to say special thanks to all the waiters in the beach bar; it was really nice; thank you.. My husband injured his leg before we arrived to the hotel; after we checked in, Mrs. Linh from the reception noticed it and she immediately offered to call the doctor and she did. Later on the hotel provided free transportation to the local hospital and Mr Nyung (I am not sure about the spelling) from the concierge escorted my husband to the hospital and he stayed with him all the time and took care of all necessary arrangements that were necessary (x-ray etc). We are very grateful for it and I would like to thanks to Mrs. Linh and Mr. Nyung for their most attentive support and help when we most needed it. Mrs. Linh especially is a great person, very helpful, kind, considerate, the best receptionist you could ever imagine. Outside of the hotel you can also find many good restaurants and the night market is less than 10 min walk from the hotel. We will definitely go back to this resort; contrary to the next door hotel Sasco Blue Lagoon where we spent two nights and we left it as it was very dirty, old and our room smelled as a cabbage soup with fish. And staff did not care about guests at all; they were having their own parties, playing with their mobiles all the time. We booked a villa in Sasco Blue Lagoon resort for eight nights but we were given a room in a multistory building. When I wanted to talk to the manager she/he refused it and then we just checked out after two nights, booked a villa in the lovely next door Saigon Phu Quoc resort and spent a wonderful time in this resort.

Room Tip: I would reccommend a sea side villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were two Swedish families staying here in the end of February, in total six children aged 3 to 11 and four adults. This was just a perfect place for us, since there is so much to do at the hotel, and almost everything is for free: nice pool (but no children's pool!), table-tennis, "big chess", playground, kayaks by the beach, tennis, boule and a lot of computers in the lobby. There was always something to do!

The beach is rather narrow, but it works. There are plenty of sun beds which I appreciate and the water is clean and warm.

We stayed in a house with two (connecting) rooms and two bathrooms and terraces. It was just perfect for our family. The furniture was new and everything was clean, but there was a small whole in the sheet.

The breakfast was OK but not great. We stayed for five nights and it was the same food everyday. We also had the buffe three evenings, just because it was so convenient with the children: When they had finished their meal, they just ran away to play somewhere and the rest of us could stay in the restaurang talking. The buffet was good with a lot of bbq fish and seafood, but ýou can get just as good food ten minutes walk from there much cheaper.

The staff was friendly but rather slow, a least in the pool bar. (We had great fruit shakes everyday for about 2 dollar!)

We signed up for a great snorkeling and fishing tour one day. For 220 dollar they took us, ten people, by bus to a boat which we had all for our self. A rather big and nice boat. Then we went fishing and snorkeling on an small island north of Phu Quoc for some hours and then had a great lunch on the way back (including our "own" fish).

All in all a nice hotel that was perfect for us. It cost a lot more than most hotels on the island (but half price compared to the really expensive La Veranda), and there is no luxury, but we liked it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saigon Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Phu Quoc Resort

Address: 62 Tran Hung Dao Beachside Boulevard, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saigon Phu Quoc Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching over 4 hectares, on the West Coast, Saigon-Phuquoc resort and spa offers 100 bungalows and villas (comprise bedroom, sofa bed, living room, bar connecting with dining space and kitchen). The property hides under coconut forests and striking colour of flowers. From these balconies, you can enjoy the sunset on the Thai's Gulf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Saigon Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Phu Quoc Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Saigon Phu Quoc Island Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saigon Phu Quoc Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.