We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice resort, however no "blue sea"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon Phu Quoc Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Saigon Phu Quoc Resort to your Saves list
Saigon Phu Quoc Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   62 Tran Hung Dao Beachside Boulevard, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Grafing, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very nice resort, however no "blue sea"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is south of the town, but very close to the town.
It is a typical up market resort place, with all pros and cons. Garden is pretty good, all is being constantly cleaned (we found it disturbing to see somebody cleaning as of 07:30), rooms are good. Some good things to do we had really fun with (canus, big chess), and some things we didn’t use (e.g. tennis)
Really worth mentioning is:
Pool is good, children enjoyed it a lot
Restaurant is really nicely set to have a romantic dinner in the evening – food is a bit more expensive than in other places, but not so much that you feel ripped off.
You can easily walk somewhere else: Nightmarket in town good – here food is 50% compared to the hotel. Thai/French restaurant and a good pizza restaurant within five minutes the other direction), you get free bikes from the hotel (sometimes even the breaks work, so keep looking for a bike which will not kill you!)
Con:
It is pretty close to the town, so I had the impression water is even a bit more murky then further south – but generally the water was pretty murky all along the north and west coast, and quite a lot of rubbish in the water (in my opinion driven by fishing boats)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    125
    65
    25
    12
See reviews for
51
137
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at the Saigon Phu Quoc in November of this year while traveling throughout Vietnam.

Pros: excellent location on Long Beach, clean rooms, hot showers, friendly staff. plenty of lounge chairs on the beach and around the pool
Cons: super outdated air conditioner that rattled all night keeping us awake and our room also faced the main road which led to additional noise, overpriced restaurant relative to the area, small shady pool not overlooking the ocean

Overall the price seemed a bit steep for the offerings of this self proclaimed "four star" resort... it felt more like an aspiring 3 star spot. We had a pleasant stay but if we had booked earlier in advance we would have chosen one of the more highly reviewed options for the same price and probably been happier. The Phu Quoc area can book up quickly so plan ahead!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My parents booked this place so I didn't have a choice although I think the existing reviews are accurate. Stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas in a panorama suite.

Pros
-nice pool. Very deep and clean although its tough to find a chair
-breakfast buffet is nice and runs 5:30 to 10:30 and includes a good mix of Vietnamese and western food
-housekeeping is great and your room is always cleaned early
-free bikes!
- close to town
-the spa is cheap and is open until midnight
-good movie channels
-robes

Cons
-dirty beach
- not enough spots at beach or pool
-shower could be cleaner
-smoking rooms
-very slow food and drink service

Pro and con: while its good that the room power is not wasted while you are out because you need the key to power it, it's not fun to come back to a hot room

Room Tip: Try to get a bungalow closest to the beach: VIP
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

The hotel and the rooms are not bad, but the prices I would expect a much higher level of service. The whole place has a feeling of neglect and the general feel from the hotel reflects this. We have just come from the La Veranda resort on the island and the hotels could not be more different with the La Veranda substantially outclassing it on every level, except price. I would not stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We chose this hotel for our Christmas/New Years Holiday. We had some friends visiting from the states and wanted to show them a beautiful beach and hotel. Additionally, we were travelling as a larger group, as we have 3 children, brought our nannies and our friends are a family of 4. We travelled during peak season and had to prepay the entire room when I booked it 4 months earlier. Not a chance of a refund - which was fine, as I never needed to ask for one. HOWEVER, the service here continuously disappointed.

1. We had a booking for their large family suite (not sure of the exact name, but it is a bungalow, on the beach with a living room that connects two rooms. Addtionally, we booked a garden suite (we would have booked two of the same bungalows, but there weren't 2 available). Upon arrival, it took over an hour to check in. And the nervous tapping on the keyboard affirmed our suspicions...they had given our room away...the expensive $400+ night room. This was a huge splurge for us. They wanted to put us in 2 rooms on the beach, but we have a 3 year old and twin 1 year olds. How can we put them in a room without a door that connects to our room? We finally had to settle on a building close to the road and take 2 rooms and then move the next day in the middle of our activities. They offered us a free beach buffet dinner to take the rooms, so we would get out of their hair! ; ) We took it, then they tried to charge us for the other people in our party. We weren't the only one's sitting there for 1+ hours trying to check in. Finally got them to agree to give everyone the buffet. Thank you. Frustrating, but we had no choice but to accept the lesser room. We worked it out.

2. We specifically chose this hotel based on all of the activities they "offer" online. Babysitting, tennis, kids activities, etc. Pretty much none of them were available. The first day, I asked where the kids center was for babysitting. They pointed me to a room and I took the boys there. No sitter. Some 30 minutes later, i was told to just leave my kids there and they could play. Unsupervised. They are 1 year 4 months. What? Then they sent a male gym attendant to "watch" them. Finally went to the office, they said we need to book someone. OK. So I booked someone for the NEXT morning, went to drop the kids. Nobody arrived. I went to the office again and asked them where the sitter was. Said the sitter was sick. Decided against actually having a sitter while the kids were awake. I let everyone else go about activites so I could hang out with the kids in the room. So I booked a sitter for that night so we could take our group out for dinner, after the babies would be asleep. Was agreed on that morning. We make plans, at 5 that night, we are told that the sitter cannot come into our room while the babies are sleeping. They would have to stay up and go to the sitting room. We eventually just passed and let the nannies take turns going out and staying in. We wanted to give them a fun vacation as well.

3. The food is VERY overpriced. You can walk to the main road, turn left and walk 5 minutes and eat at this cool little hotel on the roof. We did. There were 8 of us. We ate and drank and filled up and spent $50...compared to our meager lunch at the hotel that cost us about $150.

The positives.
1. The beaches are beautiful.
2. When we did get our pricey bungalow...it was beautiful and comfortable. Great sitting area with a view of the ocean.
3. Breakfast buffet which was included was great.

I would caution on choosing this resort based on what they offer, as most things were not actually available. If you are travelling without young children and just want a beautiful little beach bungalow...go for it. It is pricey, but very lovely and comfortable.

Room Tip: Garden Suites are a bit on the tired side, in need of updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Free hotel transport was waiting for us at the airport. Check in was very fast bell boys took us to our room within 10 minutes. We were in the standard rooms which were fantastic. Good beds free tea/coffee & TV.
Breakfast was superb night restaurant fantastic food service. (Thank you phu. waitress.) The pool & beach very clean with life guards.
Night market turn left out of hotel very cheap food/ souvenirs. Turn right out of the hotel you have restaurants & bars.
Went scuba diving with flipper diving club (padi) had the most enjoyable time out there as it was my first try dive. The manager Neil from England is a top man who would do anything for you and he made you feel safe at all times.
The level of service was outstanding.
In all this hotel is fantastic and I would go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel has a good location by the sea. The rooms have good beds (which is not the most common in Vietnam). The breakfast is tempting. You can get both Vietnamese and more western food.
Nearby the hotel you have the nightmarked. It is a small marked with lots of resturants. I recommand a vist.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saigon Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Phu Quoc Resort

Address: 62 Tran Hung Dao Beachside Boulevard, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#7 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saigon Phu Quoc Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching over 4 hectares, on the West Coast, Saigon-Phuquoc resort and spa offers 100 bungalows and villas (comprise bedroom, sofa bed, living room, bar connecting with dining space and kitchen). The property hides under coconut forests and striking colour of flowers. From these balconies, you can enjoy the sunset on the Thai's Gulf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Saigon Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Phu Quoc Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Saigon Phu Quoc Island Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saigon Phu Quoc Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.