We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to enjoy the sun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon Phu Quoc Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Saigon Phu Quoc Resort to your Saves list
Saigon Phu Quoc Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   62 Tran Hung Dao Beachside Boulevard, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good place to enjoy the sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel has a good location by the sea. The rooms have good beds (which is not the most common in Vietnam). The breakfast is tempting. You can get both Vietnamese and more western food.
Nearby the hotel you have the nightmarked. It is a small marked with lots of resturants. I recommand a vist.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    125
    65
    25
    12
See reviews for
51
137
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Free hotel transport was waiting on arrival and we were at the hotel within 10mins. Check-in was quick and the receptionist confirmed our return transfer and suggested check-out times. Free wifi everywhere as they have multiple routers. 

Large room and bed and a nice shower cubicle/bathroom. The beach chalet had great views of the sun setting over the horizon and watching the bats, there were no covers on the balcony chairs so they weren't too comfortable to sit on for long periods. Tried the inclusive breakfast on the first day, we got there late (10:30) not a lot of choice for western palates so we ate at Mondo's 10mins to the right for the rest of the week. 

The pool was the best feature of the hotel. The majority of guests tended to use the beach so there were always beds/towels available around the pool. The pool bar staff were friendly and were happy to spend time speaking to us. 

Check-out was just as easy and no problems with the accuracy of the bill. We were given a Vietnamese hat and a DVD of the hotel as we boarded our free transport back to the airport. 

Stayed here for 7nights and we thought it was excellent value. Phu Quoc is quiet but was great for us - already planning our visit for next year :-)

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our second visit to the Saigon Phu Quoc Resort was more pleasant than the first one. Mainly because the hotel had made efforts to upgrade the beach and not least that there was almost no plastic litter floating in the ocean this time. Our first visit – April 2011 – was spoilt by ocean garbage.
Efficient front desk had all arrangements made on our arrival. All staff was very polite, friendly and serviceminded. A good sized room with a huge comfortable bed. Cleanliness and tidiness to all satisfaction, as well as a breakfast buffet with significant variations of western and Asian food. The a la carte menu is not very exciting and the meat food at the restaurant was not tasteful. Go for the fresh seafood. The everyday varied dinner buffet was more exiting, with a variety for all palates.
At least one visit to the night marked is a must.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Panorama Room was great - massive King Sized bed (two beds pushed together). No view to speak of because of the massive tree's growing in front (room 207) but who cares when you can walk to the beach in 2 minutes! Room was clean and big, with a big shower and decent-sized wardrobe. Hotel supplies decent toiletries too :-) Breakfast is good (not great, or the best we had in Vietnam) but is a Buffet with a decent selection. Fruit selection not so great but you can get Vietnamese style breakfast too (Pho, Rice Porridge, Spring rolls, etc) which is a nice change if you're fed-up of bread and cake! Room had a big balcony to hang wet swimsuits on, etc and the room also had a decent sized TV with access to a couple decent English-speaking movie channels. You can walk to the night market in 5-7 minutes and there are PLENTY of restaurants going the other way too (literally across the road of the hotel), set up specifically for the resort stayers on the sea-front. Cost of the restaurants is more pricey than other parts of Vietnam, but this is a resort island and they import most of their food so I can see why. For the affordable price, friendly staff, access to free bicycles, gym, tennis court, karaoke room, tea/coffee/kettle in room, complimentary water every day, etc I would definitely recommend this hotel. I would also recommend renting a motorbike from the guys across the road (they have a sign outside the hotel with bikes for $10USD per day). Motorbikes are automatic mopeds so very easy to drive and a most-have if you want to explore the island (there are no buses and taxis are expensive). Plus, petrol is cheap too :-)

Room Tip: Panorama Room 207 was great, no view(!) but decent enough! (read details above :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This resort is right on the beach but depending on the season, the waves can be very rough as it was such for our kids in august. The location is fairly good and within walking distance to the night markets where you can really enjoy fresh seafood and lots of seashells and gifts, and inexpensive pearls. Breakfast buffets and lunches are usually included and are fairly good. Dinner buffets are extra costs and are worth it. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The resort is not giant by any means but typically small like most in Vietnam. Would come again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballywalter, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed the 2nd week in November in a beach view bungalow (semi-detached). Very nice room, basic bathroom facilities but clean. We ate in the Sunset Bar on two occasions, which was good quality but not as good value for money as you get in other close-by places (night market or Ganesh). Alcoholic drinks are quite expensive also in the resort bars. Breakfast is quite good and covers most tastes (5.30am to 10.30am).
The resort is 10 minutes walk from the Night Market and it is well worth just walking down at about 7.30pm (the boats get in at 5.00pm and unload their catch), it is safe enough to dander down but if you are nervous take one of the hotel bikes, hire a motorbike (20,000VND - >£1) or hail a taxi from just outside the resort (31,500 VND - >£1.50).
There were a lot of Russians, a few French, a few Germans, a few English and a few Scandinavians. If you like to sun bathe on the beach, you will have to get up early to reserve the sun loungers with shade, the most are gone by 8am.
It is a quiet resort, so if you like a bit of buzz it is worth going to Rorys Amigos (taxi drive away) or the Drunk N' Monkey (5 minute walk). We enjoyed the resort, the staff were friendly, it was clean (didn't see a single rat or any traces) it is a great base from which to explore the island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi MInh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at the Saigon Phu Quoc Resort last weekend and was not impressed. We opted for a beach view bungalow, which was the only redeeming factor, seeing the ocean while laying in bed and hearing the waves. Also, the bed was extremely comfortable and the staff was very sweet.

The hotel is extremely dated and they should not be charging the fees that they do. For the amount we paid, I stayed in the Hyatt Da Nang last spring, which was 10 x nicer. Everything in this hotel is dated (Except the bungalow) - the "gym" has equipment from the 80s, the dining room definitely hasn't been renovated since then. But I guess when you go to an island you're there for the beach.. so again, that the redeeming factor.

The breakfast was meh. Their taxi service charged us $5 to go down the street.

In general, I don't like staying at Saigon Tourist facilities (it's Government run and owned)

Room Tip: The beach bungalow was worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saigon Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Phu Quoc Resort

Address: 62 Tran Hung Dao Beachside Boulevard, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#7 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saigon Phu Quoc Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching over 4 hectares, on the West Coast, Saigon-Phuquoc resort and spa offers 100 bungalows and villas (comprise bedroom, sofa bed, living room, bar connecting with dining space and kitchen). The property hides under coconut forests and striking colour of flowers. From these balconies, you can enjoy the sunset on the Thai's Gulf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Saigon Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Phu Quoc Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Saigon Phu Quoc Island Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saigon Phu Quoc Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.