We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about people!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Orig Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Orig Resort to your Saves list
Orig Resort
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It's all about people!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This resort is actually called "Phu Quoc Eco Beach Resort". I don't know why it appears in tripadvisor as Orig Resort.

Rooms are proper and clean and the beach is really beautiful with azure sea, palms and white sand..

BUT:

The service at this resort is abysmal. Most of the staff (even those at the reception) do not even understand basic English and are not willing to take care of the needs and wishes of the guests. The worst is that nobody from the management is accessible at any time to solve problems.

Food is uninspired and of low quality. Portions are ridiculously small. We ended up walking to neigboring Mango Bay everyday for dinner where service and food were in stark contrast to here.

Furthermore, during our stay we tried to figure out what the "eco" in the name of the resort stands for, but we couldn't find an answer.

Conclusion: With its prime location and beuatiful beach this could become a great resort, were the staff and management completely replaced by a competent and professional team.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Orig Sea has changed its name to Eco Beach Resort.. Apart from that its pretty much the same place.
We booked 3 nights here and it grew on us while we were there. Its got a lovely pool, a small but adequate private beach and large comfy bungalows with pretty outdoor bathrooms. Theres no air-con, which was fine by us as the fan works well and with the doors open theres a nice cross-breeze.
Its true that the beach isnt huge, but nonsense that you have to be a "mountain goat" to get to other beaches.. Just a short stroll round the corner and you reach a huge deserted white sandy beach. Reviewers who claim its really far/hard to get to are either exaggerating or disabled.
The resort is very far from the town - in fact it costs so much to get a taxi to to the night market in central Duong Dong that its actually cheaper to hire a motorbike for half a day.
There was work going on while we were there, so the paths havent been laid and there was a big digger parked in the middle of the resort all week, but they dont work that hard, so it wasnt really a problem!
The staff are lovely. They try really hard to please you and it makes things easier - if we'd left after the first night it would only have got 1 star, but their constant efforts really raised our impression of the place.
The main problem is the food. Considering how good the food in Vietnam is I was shocked at how terrible the kitchens at eco beach are.. Everything was bland and cooked without effort. There are great bakeries in Vietnam and even on Phu Quoc, but for some unknown reason the heavy handed chef is tasked with baking her own bread every morning.. My 9 year old son could bake better bread than her! It got to the stage where we didnt bother getting up for breakfast and went to the supermarket in town to stock up on pringles etc. to keep us going. If they got a person with tastebuds/pride to work in the kitchen it would really help.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I actually wrote a review before, as did our friends that we were travelling with, and neither review was published on the website we booked with - in fact we noticed, there are few reviews around February which I believe is suspect. I really hope the place has improved since then, but because I've been disappointed a number of times recently, I feel I must start to redress the balance by sharing our experience on tripadvisor, as more and more I'm left feeling disappointed. This is the reason I am writing again, so much later on....here goes:

OK this place is beautiful! The bungalows are great and the location is lovely with a fantastic white sand beach immediately to the right of the property if you are looking out to the sea.

The problem was the service, especially the manager and his treatment of his staff, which ultimately affected everybody's stay there. It was coming up to the Vietnamese New Year celebrations; Tet, and many staff had gone to visit family leaving no one to work in the Hotel including the manager, who on a night when the Hotel and restaurant was full, was nowhere to be seen. That night, there were only two staff working front of house; a waiter and the receptionist, plus the cook and the washer-upper both of whom had been working non-stop since 6am that day. We waited over two hours for food and the place was deathly quiet as around 22 people seethed with anger at the situation.

Our poor waiter told us he was quitting the next day, as he said that the manager was dining with his family that night even though he knew that they were short staffed. It was a joke! The following morning we went down to breakfast to see the manager being lambasted by several guests, but it still took over an hour to be served and he just didn't seem to 'get' what customer service is all about. The staff themselves were lovely, but out of their depths and very underpaid it seems, which is terrible when a room costs close to £100 a night. I spoke to him myself and he just kept blaming his staff which was very saddening, as they are only ever going to learn with the help of a skilled management team. One example; I ordered a bottle of wine on the first day and it took 50 minutes to arrive as they had to find the key which was with the said manager who was out fishing with his little boy. I do hope things are better a few months on as it has such potential.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very nice quiet place. We were impressed by cozy bungalows where you can enjoy an open-air bathroom. Wild nature is all around – very beautiful. There is no air conditioner in bungalows, only ventilators (as they adhere some ecological principles), but it was not a problem as fresh air passed from both the door and an open-air bathroom. The beach is not quite suitable for swimming because of underwater stones. The most exciting thing about Phu Quoc is that you can rent a motorbike and ride throughout the island, visiting different beaches (they all are really different!) and swimming there at your pleasure. So, if you are going to rent a bike to explore all beaches on the island, than Orig Resort with its beautiful outlook is really a good choice. However, if you would like to settle down at your hotel and enjoy the nearest beach only, probably it will make sense if you search for a place without rocks on the beach. A few words about motorbikes: we rented them at the hotel and were slightly disappointed by their quality, they got broken from time to time, which was quite unpleasant. Fortunately, people on the road were very helpful and assisted us with our motorbikes; however we would prefer properly functioning equipment. The most unpleasant in this entire situation was that the hotel staff tried to convince us that the bikes were in order and we just did something wrong (which was not true, as even proficient local people on the road could not make it work).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our stay at Orig Resort was perfect. Beautiful bungalow in a nice garden with a view on the beach.
Our room was spotless and all bungalows have a open bathroom.
The resort is located north of Dong Duong, aprox 10-15 min by motorbike.

There has been a recent change in management and the new manager makes sure that everything is perfect for his guests.
They offer an high service, breakfast has changed too, its now in buffet form.

The beach is very clean, not so big but more than enough for all the guests to have a comfi beachchair. Yes there are rocks in the water, very good for snorkeling, but there is plenty of open water for normal swimming. You can take a long walk on the beach, you pass different resorts (orig looks the most beautiful), another thing to do is renting a motorbike and explore the Island. Some roads are very bumpy, but all are doable.

For the money charged for a room you get good quality.
I would recommend Orig Resort to everyone looking for a perfect stay at Phu Quoc.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Great place to relax after Saigon in a very quiet setting. It is 15min out of town. Good beach for wading and snorkeling. Lots of rocks not good for swimming. Stay in room 105. Good shade on porch. Staff is excellent. A little hard to understand at times but that's why we travel to get away. Great breakfast. If you want quite this is your place if you want night life stay in town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

This has the potential to be one of the best resorts on the island, and overall, my friend and I enjoyed our time there. The rooms are arguably overpriced given the lack of amenities (no fridge, kettle, TV or AC) but this seems to be common (e.g. similar at the very popular Mango Bay Resort) and our room was spotlessly clean with a gorgeous outdoor bathroom and a big balcony with a view of the beach. The beach itself is more of a secluded lagoon than a long expanse of sand and there are a few rocks, but this didn't stop us swimming every day. If you want a longer, sandier beach you can find this just a 10 minute walk north of the resort. This beach is just beyond Bo Resort, where you are likely to spend a lot of time if you stay at Orig. The reason for this is the laughably poor food and service in the Orig restaurant. Others have said it before so I won't go into details but it really is appallingly bad. It's sad because this would be a great resort if it weren't for this problem. If I heard reports that a new F&B manager had come in and sorted things out, I would definitely go back. Until then, sorry to say, no way.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orig Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orig Resort

Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orig Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Orig Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orig Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.