We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant on phu quoc island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Tree Restaurant

Palm Tree Restaurant
Tran Hung Dao | 25 Meters From Laveranda Resort Gate, Phu Quoc Island KP 7 - TT, Vietnam
+84 97 899 80 27
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 105 Restaurants in Phu Quoc Island
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Southwestern, Seafood, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: FREE BEER & COCKTAIL PARTY EVERYDAY from 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The best restaurant on phu quoc island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Simply the best food on the island-every single dish tastes different...try the seafood hotpot if you want a traditional Vietnamese experience they bring you a stove & the broth and you put the veg & seafood in.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing seafood near La Veranda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place walking back to our hotel from the beach. The seafood is fresh and the dishes are divine. The staff is very friendly, and the menu is offered in multiple languages.

This might be the best food we've had in Vietnam thus far, and it's cheap too! Don't worry if it's not as crowded as some of the other places, it's just not featured in the guidebooks.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“BEST RESTAURANT IN PHU QUOC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Friendly Service, beautiful seafood. Coked on open bar b q. Snapper I had on two different nights was cooked magnificently in herbs and spices. People running the place can't do enough for you, they even also remembered us from having a meal there the year before. They don't have a lot of snapper to choose from so my advice is get there around 6.30 to 7.00 pm for a good sized fish. Great value, great service, great food, can't beat that.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quite ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Went once and all pur food was nice except my fish with phu quoc pepper sauce. Too much pepper!!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011 via mobile

We decided to eat at the Palm Tree this evening, on the strength of the previous reviews. It is opposite the entrance to La Veranda, in an open air setting. It was completely deserted when we arrived at 18.30ish, but it's still the very start of the high season and very quiet here generally. Our food was SO good (I had squid stuffed with pork- I highly recommend). We also had a couple of mojitos each, which were excellent. The food arrived quickly considering they fired up the kitchen especially for us, and we had no complaints at all about our dinner. The bill was very reasonable and we left full, happy and slightly tipsy from our cocktails! Don't be put off if you go there and it's a bit empty. It's worth the slight lack of atmosphere for the food!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Tree Restaurant also viewed

 
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 

Been to Palm Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Tree Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.