We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit vietnam, go to phu quoc and stay at chez carole” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Carole Cua Can

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chez Carole Cua Can to your Saves list
Chez Carole Cua Can
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Ward 1, Hamlet 4, Cua Can Village, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 80 Phu Quoc Island B&B and Inns
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“visit vietnam, go to phu quoc and stay at chez carole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

stayed there directly 2 days after re-opening.
NOT EVERYTHING worked well from the begining.
we had trouble with hot water and tv, sometimes bad service.
BUT.
WE WOULD ALWAYS GO THERE AGAIN.
new managers (marie and ben) are totally engaged to repair everything and offer european service.
waiters got better.
the place is one of the nicest and calmest all over the island.
bath on veranda with seaview. pure nature. pure elements (wood, stone, glas).
only 12 rooms. not crowded. flowers everywhere.
shuttle service to city for free every day.
out of our point of view the best choice in phu quoc to relax.
we stayed there for ten days.
much cheaper than other hotels that offer a comparable nice place.
WE ENJOYED IT VERY MUCH AND CAN ONLY RECOMMNEND IT.

Room Tip: invest 20% more and book a seaview bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
12
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Rooms are great overlooking a lovely bay and river estuary and far away from the crowds and pollution of the main town. We stayed at the end of January 2013 and had a wonderful 3 days. We arrived to friendly greetings and drinks and found it easy to communicate. This was our first hotel in Vietnam and we thought the food was a litle expensive until we went to other hotels and found them to be more expensive and not as good. The fish soup that you kind of cook at the table was amazing once we figured it out! The highlight was the trip along the river in the (free) kayak waving to the locals and really getting away from the tourist traps. Beautiful. The furniture and fixtures were really high class (and this is compared to 6 senses 5 star resort we went to after that) lovely carved tables and chairs with mother of pearl inlay. The swimming pool was such a lovely dark green and cocktails were very good. Only downside was some rubbish washing under the jetty from the sea they were cleaning that and it wasn't where you would swim on the private empty beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Found this really quiet, elegant beach hotel (separate beach huts) spot Cua Can, Phu Quoc.
Fabulous location on river estuary with beach.Great atmosphere. Lovely staff, great welcome, very relaxed and not expensive. Huts were luxurious and very pleasant. Nice artistic furniture, Free kayaks to paddle up the river, see the local fishermen and families living on the river then kayak across the bay?
Then swim in the infinity pool with cocktails til sunset.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The location of the ressort is great, close to a quiet beach with a very nice swimming pool. The room are quite good also. But as it is in a middle of nowhere (14 km from the city) we expect to find some free shuttle transferts as we had seen in other ressort in Vietnam or in Balli. There was no, so the only way is to take a taxi, count $17 for a way to the city, quite a budget after a few days. The other black spots were the slow... very slow service + communications issues, and the noisy electric generator which was running every nights.
It seems that the owner of the ressort had some ambitious plan when he starts the project but gets stuck in middle which is a pity as there is definitely a great potential there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on Jan 18-19, it was a nice, cozy and intresting place. The pool was great for the kids and the food. The food was a little pricey, but breakfast is included. The resort is quite a distance froma the city. We are a family of 5 and I dont drive a motorbike so we were here for the 2 days. You really need a motorbike when staying this far from the city. Also, the hotel prefers to be paid in VND, but they quote you a US price. When it is time for check out they round up the the Dong, so you end up losing a bit irounded up n the exchange ( I had US$ changed it to VND, to pay in VND and then they rounded up the US exchange) . Just pay with a credit card and save your self the few VND and a trip to the bank which is 30 mins away.
The English spoken by the Vietnamese staff is not that great, thank god we speak Vietnamese.
Everything here is on a generator, so conserve your electricity use. The activities were not that great, cycling on the red dirt road is difficult and kayaking isnt suitable for children.
On the upside the included breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Location is very nice, the resort is spectacular, especially the infinity swimming pool overlooking the sea. You have also access to the sandy beach which is like a wild estuary. At the swimming pool there are free sunbeds, but not on the beach.

Our room - deluxe ocean facing, it`s spacious, comfortable, equipped with all necessary amenities. For me was strange the toilet without walls to the top...

Restaurant - food is normal, nothing special but the staff is funny....let`s say....up to a point. They don`t speak English at all and it`s almost impossible to order the meal or a drink. We were lucky to meet two Western persons: Marija from the reception and Ben from the bar. They do great job for the clients, helping also their Vietnamese colleagues with the translation or advices. But, I think the hotel has a new management and they are trying to improve the restaurant services, the only minus of the hotel in this moment, in my opinion.

Free Wifi is only in the lobby. Hotel offers also free bicycles and we had a nice ride along the sea shore.

So, I recommend the resort to those interested in a quiet place just for relaxing and do not care too much about the food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Heading north on Phu Quoc in search of someplace to stay we just catch a glimpse of Chez Carole from the back of the scooter - asked our drivers to stop and got a room.
For us it was just perfect!
We like small places that melt into the environment with friendly staff.
Chez Carole operates on the fine balance of being careful with the environment, the nature and the guests. In doing so you may experience that electricity is not always reliable but you can always rely on the staff being there for you to ensure your wishes will come through. They even got us two mountain bikes in order for us to explore the Island.

The rooms are bungalows with verandas facing the sea. Chez Carole is situated at the northern part of the Phu Quoc Island were you will find a relaxing atmosphere and the direct accessibility to sea and nature. The resort has quite recently changed management and are now run by people from Europe. They are all well experienced and you can tell they care for Chez Carole as they care for your stay at Chez Carole. As the resort are situated some distance away from the "party beaches" they provide a free shuttle to take you into town every evening if you would like so. Keep your eyes open and you may also be lucky to find Chez Carole!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Carole Cua Can? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Carole Cua Can

Address: Ward 1, Hamlet 4, Cua Can Village, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chez Carole Cua Can 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Chez Carole Cua Can reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Carole Cua Can, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.