We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommened for swimming pool and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Carole Cua Can

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chez Carole Cua Can to your Saves list
Chez Carole Cua Can
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Ward 1, Hamlet 4, Cua Can Village, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 80 Phu Quoc Island B&B and Inns
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Recommened for swimming pool and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Location is very nice, the resort is spectacular, especially the infinity swimming pool overlooking the sea. You have also access to the sandy beach which is like a wild estuary. At the swimming pool there are free sunbeds, but not on the beach.

Our room - deluxe ocean facing, it`s spacious, comfortable, equipped with all necessary amenities. For me was strange the toilet without walls to the top...

Restaurant - food is normal, nothing special but the staff is funny....let`s say....up to a point. They don`t speak English at all and it`s almost impossible to order the meal or a drink. We were lucky to meet two Western persons: Marija from the reception and Ben from the bar. They do great job for the clients, helping also their Vietnamese colleagues with the translation or advices. But, I think the hotel has a new management and they are trying to improve the restaurant services, the only minus of the hotel in this moment, in my opinion.

Free Wifi is only in the lobby. Hotel offers also free bicycles and we had a nice ride along the sea shore.

So, I recommend the resort to those interested in a quiet place just for relaxing and do not care too much about the food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
12
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Heading north on Phu Quoc in search of someplace to stay we just catch a glimpse of Chez Carole from the back of the scooter - asked our drivers to stop and got a room.
For us it was just perfect!
We like small places that melt into the environment with friendly staff.
Chez Carole operates on the fine balance of being careful with the environment, the nature and the guests. In doing so you may experience that electricity is not always reliable but you can always rely on the staff being there for you to ensure your wishes will come through. They even got us two mountain bikes in order for us to explore the Island.

The rooms are bungalows with verandas facing the sea. Chez Carole is situated at the northern part of the Phu Quoc Island were you will find a relaxing atmosphere and the direct accessibility to sea and nature. The resort has quite recently changed management and are now run by people from Europe. They are all well experienced and you can tell they care for Chez Carole as they care for your stay at Chez Carole. As the resort are situated some distance away from the "party beaches" they provide a free shuttle to take you into town every evening if you would like so. Keep your eyes open and you may also be lucky to find Chez Carole!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We came Chez carol Cua Can to day because the power shut ted down at Duong Dong town, we love the Swimming pool, it's amazing and refreshing after a long drive..
When we came, we asked for the mattress for our Pool chair with the waitress, and then she call the Pool attendant staff but he said that they have no more?? While I see only 5 guest using the mattress chair!
The food price is very pricey , the Beef noodle is 230,000 vnd, can you believe that? So we decided to order 1 Cheese burger , 1 Double Cheese burger, and 1 Goat cheese salad, when they bring out the burger, it's very small portion , specially my Double cheese burger, only 1 layer of Beef, and few lettuce and 2 slice tomato, normally Double cheese burger, that's meant Double beef and cheese, but they said that only double Cheese !!

Any way, we enjoy the Pool very much, it's a good location they have!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Although the rooms and scenery were beautiful, the staff made it difficult to enjoy. We were promised access to a jetski but it was subsequently denied. The restaurant staff was not accommodating (especially to vegetarians). The staff gave us attitude, making us work hard for their compliance and hot water was not available for the outdoor tub.
Overall we enjoyed the scenery but were perpetually bothered by the complacency of the staff (to be fair not all staff members were disagreeable). Considering the price, we recommend taking a picture of the view and moving along.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stumbled on Carole by accident when biking through the Island. Prices are MUCH HIGHER for food and drinks than all of the other places we visited, and it looks as if building is ongoing. The menu seemed dull, expensive and staff were inattentive. Because of the price, we only had two Cokes (which were warm). We then had a very short swim to cool off, and were amazed when we were harassed by one member of staff demanding that we pay 100,000 Dong for using the pool. After much embarrassment, having it been demanded twice, They did back off when i explained they should have made this known before hand and we would have had a swim in the sea instead. One lady was pointing to her watch in what looked like a massage that had been cut short looking very dissatisfied. All very new and shiny with a great pool and nice location. Would say be careful if making a booking.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Point, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Our visit rolled from one disaster to another. Firstly our deluxe beachfront room was double booked and we had to change rooms after the first night. ( not a big issue, we spoke to another family who were also double booked, and they were put up in a 1 star hotel I n town, hot happy) then there was issues with the power. At times there was no air con, or no hot water and on our last evening, no power at all.
The biggest issue was the food. When we arrived there was an extensive menu, Asian and western food. Shortly after, the menu was reduced to 3 pages, and all western food removed. Even on that reduced menu, some dishes were unavailable. The quality of the food was also very poor. We loved Vietnamese food, but what was on offer at this resort was the worst we had in all Vietnam. All the guests were sharing recommendations of which other resorts to eat at, which was most helpful.
At breakfast we were told there was no fresh milk, another time no pineapple. Consequently a fruit platter consisted only of watermelon.
The surroundings and location were beautiful, if only they could fix the food and the service.

Room Tip: Stay away from the generator, room 1 is closest and it is especially noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Carole Cua Can? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Carole Cua Can

Address: Ward 1, Hamlet 4, Cua Can Village, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chez Carole Cua Can 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Chez Carole Cua Can reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Carole Cua Can, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.