We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Divers-Phu Quoc

Rainbow Divers-Phu Quoc
The Beach | Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island KH 339, Vietnam
0084-913-400-964
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Rainbow Divers are the longest established PADI Divecentre on Phu Quoc and throughout Vietnam. Jeremy Stein pioneered diving on the Island and is the General Manager of a truly International team of Divemasters + Instructors. Daily diveboats depart to the North + South and PADI Training courses start everyday, including 3-6 month residential Divemaster + Instructor Courses. November - March are extremely busy times on the Island so early booking confirmations are essential. If you're wanting to take a PADI Course on PQ, please start the theory online before arriving to avoid a day in Paradise sat in a classroom! Check the elearning information on our website.
studio city, ca
1 review
“Fabulous family experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our family of four (including 2 adults plus a 10 & 13 year old) spent the day on the north end of Phu Quoc with Rainbow Divers during a recent vacation to Vietnam. The kids participated in a resort course with Bill Thomson, while my husband and I (both certified) tagged along. The course included pool training and (2) open water shallow dives. Bill was super fun, taught the kids the basics necessary for a safe dive all while having a great time. Thanks to Bill, our 10 year old wants to dive again and get certified in the future. He was very professional but also knew how to relate to young children. We highly recommend the whole team at Rainbow Divers but especially Bill Thomson. Thanks!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    19
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“For Bill and Liza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I made my.open water cursus with Bill and Liza. They are not just great people but also they are really competent instructors with their own positieve and fun outlook on life. Thanks a lot for the experience from your friend eduardo (moon resort party) love from ingrid

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

For the world divers out there who have been spoilt by some of the best dives sites on offer, you will be dissapointed by what you don't see underwater. Mostly due to over fished oceans by the locals and some crazy tides, the visability is lacking just as mush as the species.
But what makes up for the lack of whats beneath, is the awesome energetic crew onboard.
They will have you in stiches from the moment you get picked up in the morning.
Not all are comedians, most are great at their craft and extremely helpful.
We were doing our Open Water Advanced Course with a great diver by the name of Jess.

So for us the time spent training went well as we were not distracted by the array of fish, as there wasn't many.
But for the fun divers, great times ahead and besides, what else are you going to do on the island?

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozoir-la-Ferriere, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great day with a great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I went for a snorkeling trip last month just before NYE and we loved Rainbow.
Not the best spots in the world but we sure had a good time.

$25 for a snorkeling trip. Ours last for nearly 12 hours as we got home round 8pm so totally worth the money and very professional. Staff members are mostly English native speakers which made things easier to understand. Very friendly as they invited us for NYE. Had a great time with them.

We loved Allan by the way! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well-run op with small groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Enthusiastic, multi-cultural team had a lot of fun and were pretty well-organised. Safety briefings and dive plans were very good.

Huge cattle-boat but there were heaps of DMs/Instructors which resulted in small groups. Quick in-out of water.

Good condition gear, not great. They replaced a chewed up reg mouthpiece for me and had stacks of spare parts.

Diving in North Phu Quoc (Turtle Island) wasn't the best in the world - not a lot of life, limited coral - but sure beats working!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Divers-Phu Quoc also viewed

Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 

Been to Rainbow Divers-Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Divers-Phu Quoc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rainbow Divers-Phu Quoc to your Saves list