We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, just ok rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mai Spa & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mai Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Mai Spa & Resort
Group 5, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Vientiane, Laos
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, just ok rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Doesn't really have a strong spa or resort feel but I prefer a lower key place anyway, so not a problem. The room was okay, nothing to write home about but good sized, and quiet. The bed left a great deal to be desired and the one massage I had was overpriced and unskilled. I would definitely recommend this place as an option but recommend trying other spots first. Location on the beach was lovely, and location for walk-ability was great as well. The restaurant and breakfast were fine but nothing special. Service was quite good and made up for what was lacking in maintenance and ambiance of the grounds

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    70
    21
    14
    11
See reviews for
16
83
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

When we arrived we were blown away by how friendly the staff were and what a great view we had from the room. The beach outside the hotel was perfect, and the massages at the Spa were the best I had in Vietnam. I can’t help but feel it was a bit overpriced for what it was though. The rooms were nice enough, clean and simple, but nothing special. I could feel the springs in the bed, and the little finishing touches like a kettle for tea and coffee or a minibar weren’t there. I don’t mind things like this usually, but it was the most expensive place we stayed in and we got more from other places we stayed that were half the price. However don’t let this discourage you from staying here, we thoroughly enjoyed our time here, the restaurant serves great food and the massages are top notch. Just don’t expect complete luxury!

Room Tip: Sea view room offers a fantastic view but we were in room 15 and there were serious gaps in the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and paid about $80/night for a beach front bungalow. The prices are definitely more expensive on Phu Quoc island than the mainland but this is probably a given with a resort style island. The rooms are lovely, spacious with clean linen and comfy beds. The bathrooms are great too. The staff are very kind and helpful. The complimentary foot massage was a treat and once you have seen the sumptuous massage room and sweet massage girls you will want to go back for more. Nice restaurant on the beach but the hotels haven't picked up on the idea of comfy loungy chairs. The hard wood straight backed chairs seems a bit odd on a beach and not very comfy. Breakfast was great - lunch - a bit mediocre. The main let down for the resort is the unfinished, shabby feel of the gardens. End up scrambling down a slope with no paths or steps to get down to the beach. Also the beach area needs some attention. The sun bed mats are horrible - look like they haven't been changed for months. I chose to lie on the hard wooden bed. Area not tidied up too. With a bit more care and attention this resort could be spot on. But despite this - we loved our stay and would not hesitate to stay again. Go to the night market in Duong Dong for dinner. 5mins moped ride or 10-15min walk. It's amazing. Fresh fish, snails, snakes even!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great spot.... Awesome restaurant in the sand about 3 meters from the ocean. Staff are very helpful and attentive. Rooms are simple, just on the ok side. Everything is glazed brick but nice. Only downer is the seating...... Two hardwood chairs on the balcony offering little by way of comfort and the beach chairs, all wooden and with old thin mattresses on them, never taken in or hung of, so or feels and smells like a rugby team has hosed themselves down on them. Rather unpleasant.

Room Tip: Seaside is the go
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The resort itself is horrific, but very welcoming and thats what is different about Mai Spa as appose to all the other low down resorts in Phu Quoc. The MAAD in my title stands for mediocre, attentive, atmospheric and desire. I genuinely believe this resort has a future in that the staffs are amazing - especially the monsieur. (best massage ever!!!) i gave her a little tip and it flashed a smile on her face. After my amazing massage, i didn't want a cup of tea but the lady in reception (forgot her name) started a conversation with me and 5 minutes later, i had a cup of tea in my hand. SHE did that. this suggest the idea that staffs are quick witted, a little educated and possess a strong willingness and desire to mingle with customers. keep it up guys.

Room Tip: keep dogs away from the ENTIRE premises. not a comfortable feeling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at Mai Spa resort (not to confused with Mai resort) for 2N/3D in Phu Quoc island and had a great time, very friendly and helpful staff. We tried their Seaside BBQ on the last night and that was fantastic - really fresh seafood, decent prices, and great seaside ambiance.

The Mai Spa accommodations were more than adequate and we were upgraded to a seaside view - but the real draw is the spa/massages and location on long beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A lovely little beach-side resort right on the beach. The wife and I spent a lovely week relaxing on the beach and listening to the waves at night. We were walking distance from a few local restaurants and bars either along the beach or back up on the road.

Mai spa has a nice little restaurant down on the beach with a decent menu and a great breakfast that is included. We went for all options and shared (pancakes, omelette, bacon and fruit).

Also, ask for the brick bungalows as they are right on the front metres from the sea. Perfect!

Would recommend hiring a bike and cruising around Phu Quoc. Go and see south beach which is stunning and white with lovely blue, warm waters.

Room Tip: Get the brick bungalows as they are closest to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mai Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Spa & Resort

Address: Group 5, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mai Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Mai Spa And Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.