We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Bungalows and very friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nhat Lan

Save Saved
You added Nhat Lan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nhat Lan
118/16 Tran Hung Dao, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Bungalows and very friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

They have a few basic but nice bungalows with ensuite bathroom and fan for 20$ directly at the beach. There were also bungalows for 15$ just a few meters off the beach. The surroundings were beautiful and they had an awesome restaurant with fast and helpful staff(not very common in Vietnam :)) You shoul definitely get a BBQ fish. We had a few things broken in our bungalow but they immediately fixed it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    21
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
1
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This is a place for thieves to congregate. Their Cottages are poor, their land-use is out-of-zoning and their admin procedure includes picking guests locks to take iPhones and then threatening them when they want to call police.
When our friends wanted to check out after a theft, the hotel refused to return their passports and fought with a tour agency that came to retrieve them.
We then saw them assemble a gang of toughs to go settle the score by stealing from another hotel then holding the goods for ransom!
So a poor collection of cheap shacks, , run by low lifes and suitable only for the same ilk.

The other reviewers who thought this place was OK were paying about $15 a night and being overcharged. Or they had nothing to be stolen.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Nhat Lan is right on the beach - about half way down Long Beach. It's a gorgeous part of the beach as there's no other resort to the south and to the north are many resorts that are much more expensive (the one 2 or 3 up is about $70 a night in relation to $10 for Nhat Lan).
The restaurant on the beach is lovely and serves a fish bbq every night which is very good and very well priced.
My criticism with the place was the room itself, it was pretty poor and not that clean. However if you just want somewhere to crash and spend the day sitting on a gorgeous beach, then you can probably put up with the room. I don't think there are that many budget options on Phu Quoc with such beautiful views out to sea!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Nhat Lan - we stayed in low season and stayed in a bungalow away from the water for $10 / night - could have been $8 / night if staying more than one night. The price is very reasonable for the setting as they are right on the beach as is the restaurant - a great spot for eating breakfast. The bungalows are separate from each other and have two hammocks outside on each verandah. Inside they're very spacious with two double beds in ours and a large clean bathroom. Beds are hard - but get used to that, they are in all of Asia!
We hired a bike from here too for $5 / day which was OK.
We had no problems with this place, photos to follow!

Room Tip: We would recommend booking ahead to get a bungalow on the beach front - only $5 more, not much when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

Although the beach bungalows had a tranquil setting amongst palms and garden area, it was not what it appears. As it was low season for us we paid $15USD which was ok, I wouldn't pay more for it even in high season. They stated they had Wifi/internet but both are very slow and possibly not working in the evening. There were a few things that need mention though. Be aware that in Vietnam they must have your passport to advise police in the event there is an accident or as proof of your stay. Usually they will give it back to you but each place is different. Nhat Lan keeps them until you leave, make sure when you pay your bill you ask for a receipt. In our case; when we asked for our passport back the night before as we were leaving early in the morning (we had already paid our bill) we were told come back at 6pm, after that we were told come back at 9 pm. At that time my husband went on the internet and did a bit of research and found a scam where they hold your passport until the last second and try to get you to pay more to get it back. This did not happen here but when 9 pm arrived and he asked again my husband was told that the police had it. When he saw the scam on line he went out and requested it again stating that he didn't believe the police had it and that we should call the police to get it as we were leaving early in the AM. It was returned to us promptly. Also if you get a massage at the beach be aware that the family offering the service on the beach of this hotel will try add in a hair removal to your massage - you must be adamant if you do not want this, because it is not free and they will add an extra double amount to you bill at the end. One very positive note is the restaurant was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nhat Lan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nhat Lan

Address: 118/16 Tran Hung Dao, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Specialty lodging in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Nhat Lan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nhat Lan Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nhat Lan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.