We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“calm sea and clear water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sao Beach

Sao Beach
On the east side of the island, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Hanoi
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“calm sea and clear water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Beautiful white sand, but long way from the center going there! We rent the motorbike and went to the new road, the road is 0% ready, me and my wife went for 30 mins bumpy ride on the muddy road!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    249
    168
    68
    52
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Thanh Pho Vung Tau, Viet Nam
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Visited following a days fishing. Good restaurant serving a variety of seafood dishes. Quiet, except for the jet skis. The road to get to Sao Beach is extremely bumpy with lots of potholes but worth suffering. Great place for a lunch and a siesta - then a swim. Recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice clean beach however the restaurants on the beach are not good. Our live hand picked crab we believe were substituted with some other crabs.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Serene and calm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Picture perfect, calm water, and obviously quickly becoming a popular spot for tourists to enjoy water sports and enjoy lunch in the beach front restaurants. Water was quiet still in June the other side of the island gets all the winds and rough water... But the beach did have sea lice which disrupted our enjoyment of floating about in the water.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Interesting beach but very dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

First of all let me advise you: only try to go there by motorbike if you are either an experienced biker or if you are looking for adventure. Roads are awful, cement halfway then dirt (that turns into dangerous mud when it rains) then some gravel in between.
If you really want to go there and it is the rainy season I recommend you take a taxi, which will be costly but safer.

Having said that, the beach is indeed interesting with a nice view, has many restaurants that serve good food and some entertainment such as beach volleyball fields and kayak renting. In this time of year that side of the coast has almost no waves so expect calm and warm water.

What I found very disappointing was all the trash laying around in and outside the water.

Overall would not recommend it... but hey, there not that much to do in Phu Quoc so give it a go.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sao Beach also viewed

Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 
Ham Ninh, Phu Quoc Island
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 

Been to Sao Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sao Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.