We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't need to eat for a week!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phu Quoc Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort
Save
You added Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort to your Saves list
Ong Lang, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“You won't need to eat for a week!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Freedomland is definitely one of the best places which we have stayed in on our travels so far. The bungalows are great value, spacious and clean...if you opt for the outdoor shower, it's so sweet you don't notice the cold water!! Although Freedomland isn't in the thick of it in regards to Long Beach, its out of the way location is what makes this place....and the food! The food is beyond words to be honest and we can't do it justice, the best food we have had in Vietnam and there is a lot of it...Peter gets very concerned if you're not eating enough..you tend to starve yourselves all day as you know what the evening will bring! This place is also great for meeting people, the evening meal is a big communal affair and loads of fun...and lots of photo taking of the fantatsic dishes served up!! Peter really is the most fantastic host, very attentive, always suggesting what you can do each day and generally someone who you'll never forget and certainly a place which we will reccomend for the reaminder of our trip!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    22
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
210
42
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Fantastic place. Definitely the best place to stay after two weeks travelling north to south of Vietnam. The other reviews of the food are spot on, delicious, fresh and varied every night. Staff were very helpful and gave helped with personal advice for enjoying the best of what Phu Quoc had to offer. And the rooms! So cute! Coconut showers and thatched rooves, completed our tropical getaway experience. Really clean and well cared for. The only thing about Freedomland is that is is too far to walk to town, but depending on what you are after the main town doesn't have that much to offer. The beaches nearby are nicer and a lot more protected and calm than others on the island. Thank you Freedomland for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

I spent a fantastic six days here. It's a bit remote and the accommodations are humble but the food is fantastic and the hosts work very hard to make guests welcome and to bring guests together as a group. This was a very refreshing break from the anonymity of a string of hotels and I was genuinely sorry to leave.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

i dreamed of staying on a shack on the beach but a hut in the forest was so much better. this is the best of both worlds. you don't have to deal with the uptight resort attitude and inflated prices but you have access to their beaches and resources while staying deep in the forest, sharing amazing food in the evenings and being part of a community for a moment in time. we felt this most strongly one night when rita was standing at the gate with a torch worrying that we had lost our way in the dark! then we realised this ain't no ordinary hotel. thank you peter and rita for giving us some honey for our moon.
love paula and e

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We spent 4 nights at Freedomland and so happy to have found this great spot. We were the only guest (low season) and Peter and Rita went out of their way to make us feel welcome, comfortable and very well fed!!! The menu really is 5-star and the best we had in Vietnam. Freedomland is very supportive of the local community, evident in the happy, friendly staff. Freedomland is not on the beach, however very easy access with the new motos and bikes. Being off the beach provides a chilled, quiet, natural setting. Thanks Peter and Rita and good luck for your future plans for Freedomland.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

What an amazing find here on Trip Advisor! We chose Freedomland after reading the glowing reviews, and people were right!

Our bungalow had an attached bath and we loved it. You actually walked out the back door, through a walled pathway to the bathroom. The walled pathway was where the outdoor shower was with a coconut shell shower head. So many quirky details!

The best part about Freedomland is the food! We were blown away! I'm not a huge fan of shrimp, but Peter and his staff made some delicious shrimp for us. We had perfectly prepared squid almost every night as well. Meals averaged about $6 US, and they were totally worth it. Someone will whip you up a plate of pasta and seafood for lunch, and the flavors are incredible! We also loved the communal table for dinners. We met so many great folks and loved the range of conversation topics.

The walk to Mango Bay was about 20 minutes, and along the way we passed many yards full of drying peppercorns. The beach at Mango Bay was kept very clean, and we were allowed to use the lounge chairs as well. Be sure to catch a sunset here, but remember to bring a headlamp to get back to Freedomland.

The staff were friendly. Peter was an excellent host. He helped us to arrange a taxi half-day trip around the southern part of the island. The room was comfortable despite the lack of air conditioning - luckily we had a fan. The worst part of the whole trip was that we were only there for three nights. We would have loved to stay longer!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

I've stayed at Freedomland for 4 nights and loved it. It's a beautiful and unspoilt, sandy piece of land with different fauna and flora and little bungalows in the middle. Open shower, and no A/C (there are fans instead) and lack of hot water (which you don't need in HOT Vietnam :)) make you feel very close to the nature. Fantastic place to chill out away from motorbikes and traffic. You can spend a day on a hammock, walk to Mango Bay or join one of the arranged trips. Peter - the owner- is a very laid back and friendly guy, who makes this place feel like home for everyone who arrives. The food he serves is one of the best I had in Vietnam. Great place for solo travellers!! Altogether - wonderful experience!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort

Address: Ong Lang, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freedomland offers an home style hospitality, where you can relax amongst friends you have just met, swapping stories over dinner after a day of adventure exploring the island or a day of total relaxation on the nearby beach. As each day goes by, you will appreciate we are not a hotel. LOCATION: Located 15 minutes walk to Ong Lang beach, nestled in a jungle-like area in the North West of Phu Quoc island. 20Km from the airport (about 45 min. Drive); 10km from the main town (15 min. Drive) BUNGALOWS: We designed our bungalows in harmony with the surrounding environment. They are opened enough to allow air flow, furnished with fans (no A/C), wooden furniture locally made and mosquito nets. There is no tv plasma, no hot water (method Kneipp ;), no hairdryers, no minibar and no air conditioned in our bungalows. FOOD & DRINK: Exclusively for lucky freedomland guests, family and friends every night we cook a communal dinner when everyone has the opportunity to meet, enjoy the food and the ambiance. Peter's cuisine is a skilful blend of vietnamese and European cuisine. All the guests fell in love with the Peter's cooking, and he likes sharing his love for food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Freedomland Phu Quoc Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.