We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the Food!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phu Quoc Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort
Save
You added Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort to your Saves list
Ong Lang, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's all about the Food!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Location: Hotel is set in some rustic picturesque gardens. It's a good 10 minute walk to the beach but once your there a member of staff will bring you drinks and lunch. One complaint is I'd personally prefer sun loungers rather than deck chairs. The beach itself is a massive stretch of sand with just one hotel on the beach front. Unfortunately there is quite a lot of rubbish in the sea. I would recommend the hotel getting their beach boy to try and clear up the rubbish and to try and educate the locals not to litter the sea. It's such a shame as otherwise the island is stunning.
Bungalow: We stayed in beatuiful bungalow which was basic but had all we needed (note - no TV, AC etc...). Having no AC was not an issue but I would recommend taking ear plugs as the insects can be very noisy at night. Also, the bed mattresses were the best we slept on in Vietnam (i.e. they weren't hard!!).
Activities: We did a snorkelling trip to turtle island which was good, although the rubbish in the sea did spoil it slightly. I'd also highly recommend hiring Mopeds and exploring the island, especially the North of the island which has basically no tourism. Otherwise it's a place for quiet and peaceful relaxation
Food: Communal dinners were AMAZING!!!!! The food is a bit of a fusion mix. Favourite evening was the Vietnamese feast. If your a foodie, then I can't recommend this place enough.
Staff: Peter and Rita were both very helpful. The other staff try their best but in some cases their English isn't great.
Value: Overall great value.
In summary it's a stunning place to spend a few days relaxing away from Vietnams cities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    22
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
208
42
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

This place will put all the other places you stayed in a whole new perspective.

Besides its well manicured spacious and jungle located huts the main thing that sets this place way above all you ever experienced is the great dinners you enjoy with all the guests at a long table. under romantic lights you will enjoy different many courses dinners with a fusion kitchen.

During the dinners you get to know the fellow travelers and experience the overwhelming warmth of the owners Rita and Peter.
They clearly have put their harts in every small detail of this place, from the campfire every night till the eduction of the staff that comes from a nearby island and providing for their whole family. Stay here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start: we had the best time in freedomland. Freedomland really is a magical place to be. With mouthwatering 5 course dinners, the best cocktails we have ever had, massages to die for and the most picturesque bungalows, this place really was an amazing find for us. The people at freedomland are so welcoming that it really felt like a home away from home. Peter and Rita were amazing- they helped us with anything we needed including hiring mopeds to ride around the island on. With dinner served at a communal table we were able to meet the most facinating people and make great friends. With great chill out lounge areas and a dog who acts as ones private guide to the beach, what more could one want. Peter and Rita, thank you for such an amazing holiday. We would definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Thank you Peter & Rita for making our stay at Freedomland so amazing. I just wished we could have stayed longer. We chose this place based on all the reviews & we weren't disappointed. Loved the rustic feel, loved the outdoor bathroom, loved the fabulous food and who can forget Chilli - our own personal escort to the beach each day. The beach was lovely with our own private area with chairs & beach umbrellas. We will definitely be back, next time for a week or 2. Thanks again!!

Room Tip: Try the day spa, it's their hidden treasure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed elsewhere on the island at first for much more cost - beachside and pools etc but on coming to freedomland regretted time lost.
It is a hidden away place keeping cool under the trees. An impression of a secret hideaway oasis. Beautiful individual huts with vast adjoining bathrooms which are walled but open to the sky and stars. The communal area has chill out huts and a bar with places to sit and meet other travellers over a drink or use the wifi, read from the library, or play games.
From the warm welcome from Peter and Rita and all the staff to the magical night time 'jungle'noise as you meet under the stars for the evening meal, Freedomland is an experience not to be missed. A beautiful serene relaxing place from which to explore the island using the free bicycles, outrageously cheap mopeds or simply your feet- the beach is only a short walk away.
The romance of the place aside, the staff are equally worthy of praise being attentive, happy and making you feel very quickly part of the scene there. We highly recommend the massage hut too- and challenge you to find a nicer setting. We were frequent visitors trying the ever soothing array of massages on offer.
Of course much is said about the food but honestly it cannot properly be put into words. Peter is a genius and a comedian with his daily statement 'there may not be enough tonight'. Around 7pm everyone takes their seat around the long table under the fairy lights and feasts on 4-5 course meals worthy of the best restaurants any city has to offer. Take advantage now as it is obviously a labour of love for Peter and not one of profit.
A truly magical, unique place for which we have to commend Peter and Rita for their vision, creativity and character.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

What an amazing place to stay at! Having booked 3 nights first, I fell in love with this place and extended to an entire week. The beach is approximately 10 minutes away from the resort but it is definitely worth the walk as you will have the beach basically to yourself. Being traveling alone, the communal dinners are a great opportunity to mingle with fellow travelers. Peter's dinners are already legendary, ranging from typical Vietnamese dishes to share to excellent 5 course fusion cuisine.

I would like to thank once again all the friendly staff from freedomland and especially Peter and Rita for their hospitality, they all tried to make my stay as comfortable as possible. I will definitely return. Keep it up!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
748 reviews 748 reviews
281 hotel reviews
Reviews in 247 cities Reviews in 247 cities
1,203 helpful votes 1,203 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I'm German living in Ukraine, was trying to make a reservation at Freedomland Resort due to the rave reviews at TA.

I've sent an email and received the usual Autoanswer. I answered their questions honestly 'country: Ukraine' since I see no reason not to write where I'm living. The result: for one month no answer, even I've sent 3 reminders (the received my Email because I got the Autoanswer).

Then I opened two other Email accounts, have sent a 2 requests for the same dates, one mentioning 'country: Germany', one mentioning 'country: Russia'. Surprisingly I received an answer to both Emails:

Country: Germany
'We have either a Jungle bungalow at 50USD/night or a Garden bungalow at 45USD/night. The level of comfort is the same, the jungle bungalow is a bit more private. Both with private open air bathroom and balcony.'

Country: Russia
'sorry, we're fully booked.'

So before you're making a booking at such a 'free thinking' spot please think what kind of people are the owners/managers of this place. But in case you're fine with supporting those people, go ahead, spend your money and holiday with Freedomland Resort.

We're now spending our time & money at Mango Bay Resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort

Address: Ong Lang, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freedomland offers an home style hospitality, where you can relax amongst friends you have just met, swapping stories over dinner after a day of adventure exploring the island or a day of total relaxation on the nearby beach. As each day goes by, you will appreciate we are not a hotel. LOCATION: Located 15 minutes walk to Ong Lang beach, nestled in a jungle-like area in the North West of Phu Quoc island. 20Km from the airport (about 45 min. Drive); 10km from the main town (15 min. Drive) BUNGALOWS: We designed our bungalows in harmony with the surrounding environment. They are opened enough to allow air flow, furnished with fans (no A/C), wooden furniture locally made and mosquito nets. There is no tv plasma, no hot water (method Kneipp ;), no hairdryers, no minibar and no air conditioned in our bungalows. FOOD & DRINK: Exclusively for lucky freedomland guests, family and friends every night we cook a communal dinner when everyone has the opportunity to meet, enjoy the food and the ambiance. Peter's cuisine is a skilful blend of vietnamese and European cuisine. All the guests fell in love with the Peter's cooking, and he likes sharing his love for food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Freedomland Phu Quoc Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.