We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to the holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phu Quoc Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort
Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 hotels in Phu Quoc Island
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect end to the holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We initially booked just for two nights at Freedomland as were a little unsure about the communal dinners for too long at the end of our trip, but after one night we practically begged to be able to extend our stay (despite having already paid for somewhere on long beach)!

The food here really is absolutely incredible, I've never eaten so well before. It was delicious, perfectly cooked and an amazing selection every night. We had five courses per night and it was better than you'd expect from a top restaurant, we spent all day anticipating what we would be served. After night one our reservations about the communal dinners disappeared and we really enjoyed being able to have a quiet (amazing) cocktail at the bar alone, but also a lovely group of people to enjoy dinner with sat under twinkling fairy lights.

The bungalows were great (we had the coconut bungalow to begin with which was my favorite) - they don't have hot water or air con but the fans do the job and the cold shower was no problem at all for us.

We borrowed the free bikes and cycled to Long Beach and realised we weren't missing much there (lots of building work going on) and had made a good decision. The very quiet beach near Freedomland was only a short walk and was better. We also went on the organised boat trip from Freedomland which was fun too and motorbikes with drivers to take us around the island.

The hosts at Freedomland are lovely and make you feel very welcome. I cannot recommend this place enough. It was so relaxing and a place we'll never forget.

Thanks Peter and Rita!

Room Tip: The coconut bungalow was our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    21
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
41
200
39
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Freedomland is obviously a labour of love for the owners, Peter and Rita. The location is fantastic, the people are warm and friendly while many reviewers here praise the food, and rightly so, because it far exceeded my expectations, being some of the best food I've ever had in Vietnam. The atmosphere was very communal but not forced, and I particularly like the choice of music! A day after arriving my girlfriend got sick and stayed in bed for a day (not due to the food at Freedomland I hasten to add) they brought simpler food to the bungalow and were attentive, which I really appreciated. Freedomland is also home to two very friendly dogs who, on our first day led us all the way to the beach then guarded our belongings while we were in the sea! The Phu Quoc dogs are free to roam as they please and appear to be some of the happiest dogs on the planet! While freedomland may lack some of the luxuries of a bigger resort, it's more than comfortable, has the best food on the island and an atmosphere bar none.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

basically, the great reviews are right: this place is simply unique. the jungle setting, open-air showers and especially the shared meals. probably the best food i've had in Vietnam, and i've lived in Vietnam for more than a year now. seriously the meals are worthy of michelin stars; we normally like to try different places but after eating here once, we just had to try it again, and again, and again. i told the owner he should keep his place this way... i really hope he does!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We had read all the very long and glowing reviews. Still we weren't sure this was the right place for us. After traveling for months on a very low budget and feeling quite satisfied with our accomodations and meals, it was a big step up to pay $14 for dinner. After arriving Rita was kind enough to tell us she would give us a refund if we wanted to move to another location. Well we stayed and it was great. The dinners really were exquisite and the comaraderie at the long dinner table was fantastic. A great mix of travellers (familes, young couples, singles and retirees from around the world) made up the table every night. The first night it was a table for 40 or 50 but it felt like a big family. The food was everything it was cracked up to be. Peter and his team are brilliant. The room was an authentic bungalow all the way. We had five of us in a double bungalow and it was very comfortable. The whole feel of the resort was extremely relaxed and well thought out. No AC but you don't need it in January. No hot water but it didn't matter. We used the scooter rental at the place and enjoyed zipping around the island. In the end I still was not thrilled with the prices but you do get a unique experience that wasn't matched anywhere in our months of travel. We took some meals lunches elsewhere and bought some fruit in town to have for breakfast and that helped dull the edge of the higher prices for breakfast and lunch at the resort. Mangoes in town were super ripe and 5 for $1. In the end I really wanted to give Freedomland 5s accross the board but the value proposition wasn't perfect and location isn't perfect either. The dinner price was one thing I could handle as the dinners were exquisite but the breakfast and lunch was less special and fairly pricey. As for location, once you are there it is a 5, but it's in an odd area and the beach (also a 5) is a little ways away. So it's a great location and a great beach but the whole package comes up just shy of 5 for me. In the end, it was one of our favorite and most memorable stops in SE Asia and we hope to get back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Freedomland is truly wounderful - the jungle setting is magic, the food is delicious, the owners and staff deliver excellent friendly service .... you won't find a more amazing place to stay! I enjoyed the shared meals, the private bungalows, the geckos, frogs and friendly dogs, the outside showers, the great choice of dinner music, the comfortable bed, the relaxing lounge area.... and especially the people from Freedomland and Phu Quoc Island!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was my fifth time to Phu Quoc and the island's gone from a couple flights a week to several a day, including giant airplanes. And so many resorts. So I was all ready to talk about how it was overcrowded and not the same charming place. But, wow, Freedomland kept Phu Quoc as my favorite Vietnam getaway. They're really smart about being very clear up front about the downsides (if you consider these things big downsides): no aircon, no hot water (in the fantastic, private outdoor shower.. made using a coconut as the shower head.... loved it!), not directly on the beach (but a pleasant 10 minute walk to a fantastic private beach, with chairs and umbrellas all set up, which we had all to ourselves). The communal dinner is also a brilliant part of the total package. You do pay extra for it, but it's part of the total package in that, since Freedomland is a bit secluded, it makes sense to just stay and do dinner there, and then dinner is a 3-hour long affair, where you meet a lot of fun travelers, and get a really great multiple course meal. We did the communal meal three nights and each one was very different and really cleverly conceived. And Peter and Rita are really fun, consistently entertaining, but still careful and aware hosts.

We were me, my wife, and our 3-year-old son, and definitely recommend Freedomland highly for family travelers. While it's not on the beach, there's sand throughout the resort area, so it was like one huge sandbox. Some issues with mosquitos, but they sold us some spray for $1 and that took care of it. The beach was also perfect for a little guy who had been too scared to get in the water. It's very shallow until you get really far out, so really easy for little kids. As in many places in Vietnam, the staff was also great with him, often stopping to play a bit.

Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My young daughter and I stayed at Freedomland for a whole week and could have stayed for a month. This relaxing homestay set in beautiful countryside is only a short walk to the beach and is hosted by a lovely couple, Rita and Peter.

Approximately 18 bungalows with outdoor bathrooms are discretely positioned to ensure maximum privacy for all guests. Unless you actually go for a walk over the raised wooden walkways, you'd hardly know they were all there. The shady communal setting of the bar, restaurant and reading area has a really friendly ambiance and encourages conversation among the guests. The highlight for us was the communal dinners where Peter amazingly conjured up a five course dinner every night. Although he claims not to be a chef, he is definitely talented in the kitchen because the meals were truly gourmet. Twinkling fairy lights hung in trees overhead the long table as guests chatted, laughed and swapped travel stories, although mostly we were "ooohing" and "aaahing" at the plates put in front of us.

All the staff are incredibly friendly and tried really hard to please. Some days we were happy to laze around the place and just enjoy the atmosphere with other guests; on a few other days Peter kindly organised day trips for some of us to explore the island. We were never bored,

The cabins, although basic with fans, mozzie nets and no hot water (but who needs it?) are really comfortable. The outdoor bathroom with a mango tree in the shower area was fun to use, they even had a coconut shower head.

We're already thinking of going back for more but will have to wait for Peter and Rita to return from their own well-earned break and re-open in July.

Thanks guys, you made the last week of our long holiday truly memorable.

Jan and Georgie

Room Tip: Try the lime milkshakes, they're delicious. Add a dash of Malibu and they're even better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort

Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freedomland Phu Quoc countryside house & bungalows, nestled in a rural / jungle-like area just 15 minutes walk on a red dirt road to the sandy Ong Lang beach on the North West coast of the island. The nearest and main town (Duong Dong) is 10 km away and the airport is 30 km away. An “homestay” for those who appreciate nature, food and people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Freedomland Phu Quoc Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort to your Saves list