We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place that lives up to its great reputation...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phu Quoc Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort
Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 hotels in Phu Quoc Island
1 review
“A Place that lives up to its great reputation...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We chose this place for the food experience and because we wanted to be a part of the communal experience around it. We also wanted to get back to our travelling roots so the simplicity, tranquility and beauty were actually a plus point for us. The reality is that the weather was so fantastic so the cold water, which is not that cold, has been wonderfully refreshing and the rooms have fans which keep you cool.
Peter and Rita and the wonderful staff work tirelessly to make the experience for the guests. The effort that goes in is amazing and humbling to watch. This is what makes Freedomland so special.
We stayed for 5 nights and EVERY single dinner was fantastic! Our communal dinners with sometimes 30 people at a long table under the fairy lights strung across the trees are something we will treasure as memories for ever...although i am sure we will return again!! We met wonderful people and had such a memorable experience...we cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    21
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
41
200
39
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TicklyTigger
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Where do we start with the superlatives?

When we enquired about availability we immediately got an response to set up expectations about what Freedomland is and is not. This only cemented our determination to head over there.

From the moment we arrived we loved everything about it.

Our jungle hut (#15) was basic in setup, but really lovely in detail. The sheets were super cosy, the towels soft and even the mosquito net was embroidery. Perfect for our honeymoon.

The outdoor bathroom was great in the 35C heat and we really didn't mind there was no hot water. Mild water from the coconut shower was perfect.

As we knew the beach was a short 10 min walk away, but we had no idea how awesome it would be.

Essentially it's a 20km stretch of white sand that we shared with 4-5 other people and occasionally 2 doggies. There were sun loungers and parasols and when we wanted something to drink or eat, there was a guy on hand who'd give us something from the cool box or bring food over from the resort.

We had heard that the dinners would be amazing, but again, we had no idea how good. Peter really conjures a fantastic 5 course feast every night. They really mean it when they say not to eat too much during the day.

Every night we chatted to other guests, which was great for getting tips for our onward journey. We even met a couple that had come to Freedomland for 3 nights initially and ended up staying 13. We totally see why ...

All in all, Freedomland was probably the highlight of our 2 week stay in Vietnam and we hope we can make it back soon.

Thanks Rita and Peter and your team for taking fantastic care of us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Amazing place to stay! We just loved Freedomland. The bungalows are very pretty and the outdoor bathrooms are very adventureous :) We were visited by a huge gecko every morning in the bathroom! We just loved it!
Rita and Peter are a very kind couple. Peter and his staff do amazing cooking! We had some of the best food on our 3 week trip.
It is a 10 minute walk to the beach which is amazing. Hardly any people. Very romantic and relaxing.
The prices are a bit higher and costs add up. Nothing is included and one should keep track on drinks and meals( breakfast)
We would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is looking for peace, nice people and great food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were really lucky to get a booking as we only rang up the day before we arrived!

We stayed in two diffrent Bungalows during our stay. Because we extended our stay by two nights to a total of 6.

Its difficult to explain how good our experience was. We loved the spacious Bungalows, the giant Gekkos, the cold outdoor showers, the lonley beach 10-20 Min walk away, the comunal dinners and the FOOD!

RITA and PETER thank you so much for making our stay so precious and unforgettable.

We are still so happy that we got ENGAGED here whilst diving!

We hope to be able to come back soon.

Manuela and Kai

Room Tip: We stayed in two bungalows. One was big and one was a bit smaller. But they were all nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucol, Spain
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

A fantastic place hidden in the depths of Phu Quoc jungle but close enough to walk Mango Bay. The owners, Peter and RIta are busy but helpful, and excellent cooks. WE had the most divine food in all our trip in Vietnam. And prices are very resonable compared to what you pay elsewhere in the island. THey also rent out motorbikes which is a great way of exploring the island. ITs a place to chill during the day and socialize at night... we would return, no doubt!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Freedomland is special. Very, very special actually. I can't add anything that others haven't already said, I'm sure, so I'll keep this short.

If you don't like amazing and friendly people, this place isn't for you.
If you don't like exquisite food, this place isn't for you.
If you don't like outdoor bathrooms or refuse to have cold water showers, this place isn't for you.
If you are a complainer or a negative person, this place isn't for you.
If you would rather stay anonymous in a giant 5* hotel (or equivalent), this place isn't for you.
If you are likely to complain about the walk to the beach (10-20 mins depending on your speed), this place isn't for you.

Freedom isn't for everyone, and that's the best part about it. You'll meet new friends every night during the communal dinners. They last for hours and it's awesome. You get to try Rita's cocktails, which get you drunk and taste great to boot! There's such an incredible energy and it most certainly attracts likeminded people.

We'll be back. Even if it moves.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The reviews are all right! Freedomland was the absolute highlight of our trip to vietnam. After being a little uncertain because of no hot water, spiders etc.... I ended up loving this place so much. We met wonderful people and the vibe around dinner time is amazing. The food is absolutely the very best food you will eat in Vietnam... guaranteed and no exaggeration!! Peter and Rita are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Don't go to Phu Quoc if you stay anywhere else. It's a long way to go and the island isn't that beautiful. I was quite shocked to see a lot of rubbish and quite ram shackled development. However that doesn't matter if you stay at this wonderful place with clean beach. It's an experience in itself and truly relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort

Address: Ong Lang Beach, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freedomland Phu Quoc countryside house & bungalows, nestled in a rural / jungle-like area just 15 minutes walk on a red dirt road to the sandy Ong Lang beach on the North West coast of the island. The nearest and main town (Duong Dong) is 10 km away and the airport is 30 km away. An “homestay” for those who appreciate nature, food and people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Freedomland Phu Quoc Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Freedomland Phu Quoc Resort to your Saves list