We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc

Save Saved
You added Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bai Xep, Ong Lang | Cua Duong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam (Formerly Chenla Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to over 60%.
Ranked #5 of 39 hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Stockholm
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed at Chen la in december 2009 and had a fanstastic stay. If you are looking for something relaxed and quiet this is the place for you! The Location is a few kilometers outside (not walkable) the town but we had no problem getting a cab. During our 10 night stay we visited the town 3 times which was enough for us. The rooms are spacious and clean and nicely decorated. Probably the nicest room we have stayed in. You have a fanstastic view of the ocean from your room and veranda. The beach is also quiet and clean..

The restaurant is good but not fantastic and off course more pricy than the town. The service was good with friendly staff. The Spa area is also to recommend!!

Overall a very nice stay at this fantastic resort. We can highly recommend it for all of you seraching for a quiet and romantic resort.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    118
    38
    15
    10
See reviews for
88
329
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

This is a superb resort with outstanding rooms. The bedroom is large with a lovely bed and the bathroom to die for. The facilities are fantastic with double hammocks, a suspended outdoor bed and an infinity pool. The one drawback is that it is quite remote so to get out you will require transport but you may not want to leave! The quality of the food is excellent and as is the service. If I travel to Vietnam again then it would be on my list of a place to stay. It's a must!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We decided to share our 1 week in Phu Quoc between Mango Bay and Chen La. After the wonderful 4 days at Mango Bay (other review to see) i was expected huge level from chen la as we paid nearly 3 times more....what a disappointment!!!
Let's make a list:
- Your room is next to another with connected door...great privacy!!!
- The food at the restaurant is very very expensive and worth an average family restaurant in saigon but nnothing more...and u are far from town so cant walk out for dinner. Even calling a taxi happened to be complicated...
- The service is terrible and so unfriendly. We felt like we were disturbing them any time we were asking something.

I dont know who is managing this place but there is a lot to do improve and be at the level they claim they are. We were very disappointed and sad we left the gorgeous Mango Bay for there.

Will never be back

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Bad surprise when we arrived at the Chenla Resort.
We booked a pricey jacuzzi villa , they are works in progress behind. No sea view.
Due to rainy season, watersports center closed ; diving in the South part of the island only. No activity for teenagers, no snooker, no ping pong, sea bathing dangerous, no walking/hiking along the beach (small beach blocked by rocks at each end)...
Breakfast and dinner quite good ; service ok but due to remote location, there is not much to do. Relaxing in the bedroom is difficult with works going on.
No good place for honeymooners or stay with teenagers.
You'll have to book expensive tours/taxis to take you to the southern part of the island where you can bath, snorkel..etc or to the local city Duong Dong.
No good value for money; very disappointing. For the same price go to La Veranda, with a better location and european standard rooms.
Do not go there between May and September; probably much better in dry season but no sure you can really swim and use the hotel beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

My husband and I had been planning a trip to Phu Quoc for a long time. However, picking the accommodation was not easy as we wanted something luxurious with a resort feel. At last there was Chen La which looked to fit the bill.

We booked a Jacuzzi Villa (top of the range at the time) for 4 nights. These villas are located on the 3rd tier from the beach behind the Seaview and the Beachfront Villas. There is construction work for the Pool Villas which will be situated behind the Jacuzzi Villas. There is nothing much to say about these Villas except that they are of good size but with basic amenities. There is an outside area with a very small jacuzzi which we did not use once and there were 2 badly stained sun beds which were not used either. There is a high fence to guarantee privacy as well as no view of the sea. All in all these villas are not very cozy, in fact they are pretty cold.

After 2 nights, we decided to be closer to the beach, so we moved to a Beachfront Villa. These were a lot smaller in size but they were more cozy with great views and direct access to the beach and sea. The beach was ok with golden sand, however, it’s no Maldives.

Service was adequate, although nothing to write home about.

Room service menu was limited and not 24 hours.

To round off, Phu Quoc is a lovely Island and you need to go now before mass tourism. At the end of the day, Chen La is the best the island has to offer but not for long as Six Senses will be coming soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

we througherly enjoyed our stay in this resort. It is a little out of town however i don't think there is anywhere in Phu quoc that isn't a little hard to get to and from.
we hired a motorbike from a local who lives on the road that the chenla is on and def reccomend you do the same. otherwise you'll spend money left right and centre getting into town or around the island.
pool, beach, rooms etc where lovely, however we did feel b/fast was a bit average for a hotel of this standard. the restaurant was OK but we more enjoyed the night markets and local food there. however the night rides home the on the bike are interesting especially during the rain.
would love to visit phu quoc again, but its a pain to get to.....delayed flights in and out is the norm so expect 3-4hr delays in each direction.
wish they had a fitness centre....would have been a great way to spend 1hr a day in the morning before heading out

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

We came here halway through our holiday of vietnam and cambodia for a bit of down time. This place is amazing, it looks just like the photos. We stayed in the Jacuzzi villa, it is massive. It had a private jacuzzi, day beds, LCD TV, bath, 2 showers (one inside, one outside), speakers which link to your ipod, tea and coffee facilities and a great view.Staff here were so nice and even came into the room every night to sparay for mosquitos and close the curtains.
The spa is great and the massages are not to be missed, so relaxing. The spa and pool overlook the ocean.
This place is perfect for couples, especially for honeymoons.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc

Address: Bai Xep, Ong Lang | Cua Duong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam (Formerly Chenla Resort & Spa)
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront 4-star resort is located in a quiet pristine bay, allowing the guests to enjoy the peace and natural beauty of Phu Quoc Island. Located 30 minutes away from Phu Quoc Airport, the resort was built after a long and thorough study in order to be integrated and to respect the natural environment of the bay and its surrounding coastal zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Agoda, Fastbooking, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chen Sea Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Chen Sea Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.