We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc

Save Saved
You added Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bai Xep, Ong Lang | Cua Duong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam (Formerly Chenla Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to over 60%.
Ranked #5 of 40 hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Chen for three nights recently and we couldn't believe the price of the food! We were not informed that you needed to book a table for the all you can eat buffet so decided not to take the tape on offer inside the restaurant which was lacking atmosphere. You could have heard a pin drop!
The all you can eat buffet was overpriced and nobody explained to us that there was also a regular menu on offer also. After some confusion with the staff members we ventured to the beach bar which was much more relaxed playing good music and enjoyed some great food (if a little overpriced!)
We ended up eating out every morning and evening as we weren't prepared to pay the high prices! Breakfast was $24!
It's a very relaxed place with a great Infinitiy pool but staff don't seem happy and cannot communicate due to lack of English. This was surprising as all other resorts we stayed in throughout Vietnam educated their staff to a basic level so they could communicate with different nationalities.
We were impressed with the room and the outside shower was a nice touch! Don't bother trying to fill the bath though as we ran our water for over an hour and then gave up at about half way, the bath was just too big!
This place has great potential but they don't have the atmosphere right. Throughout the resort you do feel like you need to whisper constantly as to not disturb anyone. Some would love the tranquility but my partner and I didn't enjoy the lack of friendly chat but that could just be us!
Overall we were dissappointed.

Tiffany and James

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear TiffanyJLH,
We checked what was your room number, checked on the passport pictures that we store by law for the Police, and Eric, our Executive Assistant Manager did recognize you. He even remembers asking you more than once if everything was fine and you said yes. We pay particular attention to Guests coming from another Resort.

He could have helped you with the bathtub issue; he could have helped you to explain that it is not compulsory to book a table, some Guests do it to have a particular table on the terrace, so it is natural upon welcoming our Guests to ask if they have booked a table. He would have explained to you that every diner we have the Buffet, or A La carte, or that you even could ask the Chef what is it that you want to eat.

When it comes to the story of the overpricing, I let the readers check the previous comments. This story is so inaccurate that even Contributors mention it.

You would have taken the option when booking online to have the Breakfast included it would have cost less.

So everywhere you have been, everybody was speaking good English… Strange… For your information we do not educate our employees we train them, and this is why this summer we hired an English Teacher for 3 months. But this has been said already before.

You found that our Employees didn’t seem to be happy… Why so many Guests ask us how we get our Employees looking so smiling and feeling happy to work here?

I really apologize as obviously the Chen Sea is not your kind of Resort, and maybe yes the Resort you were in ahead of your stay with us was more in phase with your liking.
This happens and we are really sorry for it. As it is your first contribution to this Forum, we hope that the other Resort has been more lucky than us.

Kind regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    121
    37
    16
    10
See reviews for
91
334
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I'd been following the reviews prior to our 10 night stay in Chen, and was pleasantly surprised how enjoyable our stay and more importantly how reasonabley priced the food was.

We stayed in room 101, which was a beach front villa and in fact the most comfortable and had the best views we have ever had in all our stays in Asia. We would definetly recomend paying the little bit extra for a beach front villa.

In terms of food, as I stated earlier it is very reasonable compared to the majority of similar starred hotels we have stayed. As its an island you can only imagine how good the fresh sea fish were. We ate in the restaurant 9 nights out of the 10, and enjoyed every single of the meals and did not eat the same meal twice. We also ate breakfast every morning which was very enjoyable.

We found every single member of staff extremely helpful, and their English to be above average.

As former reviewers have pointed out the resort is 20 mins away from the town (which to be honest there's not a great deal there). If you want to get out of the resort during the day for a change, you can walk to the Mango Bay resort which is a 20 min walk along the beach, and offer great quality reasonable priced food.

Chen arranged a supplier to provide mopeds for our stay but strongly expressed that they were nothing to do with the resort, although all the paper work had Chen resort printed on it, which was strange. We used the moped most days to visit al over the island, which we enjoyed.

During the stay we visited the 2 other resorts we were also looking at when we were thinking of visiting Phu Quoc - La Verenda and Mango Bay resort, and I must say I think we were glad that we chose Chen.

Unfortuently we were unable to try water Ski-ing as it was still officially low season and the cooking course as the Chef was off the island.

All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Brit39,

First I have to thank you. There is something you say which is matching what I did post some months back when I was answering to another comment:

“How is it possible that some Guests spend their entire stay with us having all their meals with us, being pleased with it, and finding the rates reasonable, if we are as bad as what you say in your comment.”

Now it is black on white from our Guests, so thank you so much for this.

A little word of apologies for the nautical activities, as we really must wait the end of the Monsoon. If we set up everything and face a tropical storm, we lose all our equipments, boats and wharf.

Then there is the issue that we have nobody else but Chef Thao to do the Cooking Class. He is our Vietnamese Chef, he speaks English, he loves teaching, but there was an issue and he had to rush back to HCMC. So we are very sorry for that.

Then I have to thank you for another reason, and this reason is that because of you I am able to stop a huge mistake that we were not aware of. I am talking about the renting of the mopeds and all the paper work under the name of Chen Sea. The proof that we have nothing to do with this, is that we even didn’t know that he made vouchers under our name. I nearly had a heart attack . So we talked to him and told him to stop that, which by now is probably already done. So thank you so much, because really we are not involved, we just facilitate as a matter of courtesy for our Guests.

Like wise, Guests Comments is still the best way for a property to improve.

Thank you so much and kind regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 2 nights here having arrived straight off the back of a 3 day Mekong Delta tour and a few days spent prior to that in the hecticness that is HCMC. We were looking forward to a few days of relaxation and luxury and Chen Sea resort did not disappoint!
The resort is simply stunning in design and we found it to the perfect place to chill as it so quiet and peaceful. The infinity pool was a particular highlight - we spent most of our time lounging here enjoying the wonderful scenery.
Our beach-front villa was amazing - as per other reviews, they are beautiful and spacious with a really cool outdoor shower area, a HUGE terrace with private plunge pool, walk-in wardrobe and all the mod-cons you can dream of. Perfect!
We ate in the restaurant both nights and weren't disappointed. A few people have commented that the food is quite expensive, but for the type of resort we didn't think it was any more than you would expect and we found there to be a good variety of dishes and the meals were of good quality; the buffet breakfast was plentiful too. We found that most people staying at the resort kept themselves to themselves, which was ideal really and our experience of the staff was that they were extremely welcoming and attentive. If we'd had more time, we'd have loved to have stayed longer. Paradise!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear vezarchie,

Thank you so much for your nice comments, and I am very glad that you loved it so much.

Once again I do hope that our Forum’s readers will realize that staying with us three nights, will always make you regret not to have stayed longer.

Please, do not misunderstand me, if you extend your stay it won’t affect our business, as the only consequence on our property will be that we’ll have to refuse more bookings than what we presently do.

But you know, as often as possible, I am here saying bye to our Guests and most of the time they don’t want to go away….

I even have to explain that they should be happy to leave us on the ground that if you don’t go back home, you’ll never have the pleasure to come back to us.

We really hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again.
With our renewed thanks and sincere regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed there for 10 nights after visiting Ho Chi Minh City and loved every minute of it. Phu Quoc is still very much an under developed market for example there aren't many main roads, from leaving the airport you'll be driven down on to pot hole ridden dirt tracks which make it all the more fun! On arriving at Chen we were taken to the restaurant to finish registration and then shown our Beach front villa. Simply awesome opening onto a lawn in front of a beach, so 20 metres from your door you can be in the sea. There are also these call hanging chair baskets that are really comfortable to chill and rock back and forth on.

The resort is really well laid out and very quiet and chilled. The infinity pool is really big and plenty of loungers to lie on. The bar can be quite quiet in the evening and not many people seemed to use it but we enjoyed having beers whilst over looking out on to the sea. The restaurnant has a good range of food from vietnamese dishes to more western as well. All the staff are really friendly and can speak English. I know some reviews complained about this but have a word with yourself. The staff really do what they can for you for example recommending some traditional dishes we should try at dinner that we really wouldn't have looked at. The vietnamese hot pot and hot rock dishes you have to try. The latter being where you cook your own food on a hot plate in front of choosing sea food/fish or meat.

Chen is based quite a way from the main town which is worth a visit to see the night market where you can eat fresh fish grilled in front of you. The taxi ride is really cheap and easy to ask for. We actually hired motor bikes so we could explore the island and I have to recommend this because you simply won't see some of the out of the way places if not. Fair play to Chen they don't recommend it because the roads are really bad and so if you haven't ridden one before I wouldn't recommend it either but it is fairly safe, off the main roads you really can't actually go that fast as you are avoiding bumps and pot holes the whole time which does make it a good laugh! Not forgetting, cows, chickens and other friendly waving Phu Quoc locals.

The front of house staff were always good with recommendations and answering questions and made the resort very welcoming and always keen to ensure we came back safely after a day out on the bikes!

Well done on a great resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear StarkyD,

Another Senior Contributor, and one more beautiful positive comment.
Thank you so sincerely.

God, you seem to have tried and enjoyed everything we have to offer, it is so wonderful.
This being said, I would like to inform all the readers of this Forum, that I do not share the advice from StarkyD, when it is refered to the hiring a bike chapter.
You all know my opinion by now, so no comment on my side. As I said, you did it, enjoyed it, had fun, and came back each day in one piece, we like that!!!

But really, thank you so much, your report is superb and I hope that it will be useful to many people.

Kind regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our family spent 4 days in Chen Sea Resort and our overall judgment is that it exceeded our expectations. The natural location is fascinating, the resort is elegantly simple, exotic, beautiful. Staff is extremely welcoming. Beach villas offer a close contact with the beach and sea, very convenient.
We stayed just before the high season start (which is from Nov to March) and it was extremely quiet, adding a lot of fascination to the place.

Room Tip: The last beach villa at the end of the row, (n.112), offers extra privacy. Garden villas have sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear letiziaShangai,
I love Senior Contributors!!!

Thank you so much for your very positive comments.

It was nice to see you with the family and true, you all seemed to be both at peace and enjoying.
Indeed it was a quiet month for us, but as you say it adds some fascination to our Resort.

And on the other hand I can’t stop myself to encourage you to come and see your Little Paradise when we dress it up with its end of the Monsson costume.
We still have to wait a little bit before doing it, and on a very personal note, I miss it.

Thank you and to the pleasure welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, south wales
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I can't express how much this place amazed me. We stopped off here for 3 days on our 6 day trip to Phu Quoc, after the hecticness of HCMC we really needed to relax and this place did just that!

On checking in, we were very early, given a wonderful welcome drink, definately need this recipe please?!! check in was great and we were shown to our room within 10 minutes.

I can only saw that viewing the beach front villa for the first time, i was overcome with emotion at how beautiful it was. It was quite minimalist, which I love.a walk in walkrobe, beautiful views of the beach which we could step onto from our terrace and we had a bath on our veranda. Stepping out a little further there are wicker chairs to sit on and look out at the sea and sunset.
The bed was so comfy and there was a flat screen tv and a dvd player (also a massive library of dvds to borrow from reception for free)

The bathroom was amazing, the shower was kind of enclosed but our doors and a huge full length mirror. The toiletries are poured into flasked which smell divine. If we could have purchased the soap,we would have bought a suitcase full!!

The infinity pool is so warm and amazing to cool down in, as soon as you start to walk up to the pool attendent, he runs up with a thick fluffy orange beach towel and puts it on the padded sun beds for you. there is no music and its so peaceful to watch the sun sets.

The bar underneath the restaurant offers 40% off everythin from 5pm-6pm. highly recommend the cosmos and mojittos. wished we had discovered these sooner!!

The breakfast was the most fantistically displayed one I have ever seen and the waffles are great. The restaurant staff are so attentive and serve you very quickly and continually topping your glass up with free water.

The food at the restuarant was alot more than the markets in phu quoc, but this is a top quality hotel therefore you would expect this. we found the club sandwiches at lunch to be really nice, chips are lovely.
some of the meals we had in the evening lacked a bit of something but cant put my finger on it. Nethertheless it was all very nice.

Room service was very quick and excellent service.

On the whole, if you stay here I cant see why you would ever have to find fault in anything. I have stayed in many hotels around the world and nothing compares to what chen sea has to offer,

Paradise. I wish we had stayed longer.

we also had a relaxing body massage which was about £30. it was amazing.

Room Tip: beach front villa 104- excellent 5-6pm happy hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Cardiff_chick22,

Thank you so much, what a wonderful comment, and you are a Senior Contributor…!

Like I say to my Guests: “I love my Office”, your Little Paradise…

I wish I could have helped you to put your finger on the little something that you felt lacking in our Food.
It must be identified. There is a potential explanation, though I am not sure that this is valid in your particular case.

If you have travelled in the region ahead of coming to us, there is a great deal of probability that you did consume MSG without knowing it or even thinking about it. As MSG has been banned from our property, there is a slight possibility that your palate missed it.
Would that be it?

So you say: “I wish we had stay longer”… Which translated in French means: “We shall come back!”

And we shall be there for you.
With our renewed thanks and sincere regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was by far the most relaxing part of our 3 week journey through Asia. We stopped here for 2 days on our way home - should have made it a week. We stayed in the Sea view villa with our own private pool. Very private and spacious 2 bedroom villa. The ocean was very calm and refreshing. The restaurant and bar were excellent with top quality food of Mediterranean influence. The staff were wonderful and very friendly.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be great but definitely the pool villas were the most spacious and private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier P P, General Manager at Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Kiz9789,

Would you be kind enough to tell me why you didn’t stay a week???
I love when my Guests have this feeling that really they should have stayed longer.
Not that we do it intentionally to frustrate our Guests, but true, this is the Chen Sea syndrom.

When I say to my Guests that some other Guests come here for a month, here we go, now it is clear.

Chen Sea is addictive. I believe that it is the beauty and the peace and in the world we leave in, these values are rare.

I am glad that you enjoyed your Pool Villa and wish to welcome you soon.

Kind regards,
Olivier, your GM at the Chen Sea Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc

Address: Bai Xep, Ong Lang | Cua Duong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam (Formerly Chenla Resort & Spa)
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront 4-star resort is located in a quiet pristine bay, allowing the guests to enjoy the peace and natural beauty of Phu Quoc Island. Located 30 minutes away from Phu Quoc Airport, the resort was built after a long and thorough study in order to be integrated and to respect the natural environment of the bay and its surrounding coastal zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chen Sea Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Chen Sea Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.