We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice folks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viet Thanh Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Viet Thanh Resort to your Saves list
Viet Thanh Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tran Hung Dao | Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam (Formerly Viet Thanh)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Phu Quoc Island
Morogoro, Morogoro, Tanzania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location, nice folks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed there for a week and enjoyed the beach and location at the quiet end of Long Beach.The room was quiet, very basic and had very little charm but there was a small fridge and telly which worked fine and the plumbing was fine. The bed, however was as hard as a rock and covered with only a rough sheet- really the worst part of my stay. The staff was helpful and friendly. All in all it was a clean place with a beach for not much money, plus safe and friendly, so I would go back.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    45
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
31
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful location right on Long Beach

The bungalows are spacious, cleaned everyday and provided with AC, fans and even satellite tv if you ever need it. The bungalows each have a fantastic balcony with your own deck chairs and a hammock.

Booking ahead is recommended in high season as they are fully booked most days.

Best of all were the wonderful wonderful staff throughout the resort.

Would fly back and visit again tomorrow if I could!

Highly recommended

Ian from the UK

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Viet Thanh Resorts garden bungalow for 2 weeks with our 11 months old daughter and absolutely loved the place. The garden bungalow was roomy and clean with two big beds and mosquito nets and the terrace was great place to hang at the hammoc and enjoy the lush garden and the seaview. The staff was very helpful and heartwarmingly friendly. Viet Thanh is located at the best part of long beach. The atmosphere was very relaxed but not too quiet. The beach is clean and great to swim. There are several minimarts and different restaurants and cafes and spas around and it's very easy to get a taxi to Duong Dong or rent a motorbike to ride there. Viet Thanh was great place to stay with children, we really truly recommend it.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 via mobile

Nice and clean bungalows at competitive prices when you compare to other resorts in the area. Cleaning service takes every day, staff is very helpful and the beach here is just amazing. Or maybe it is just a feeling when you suddenly move from - 10 celsjus to over 30.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

I booked six months in advance of my stay with booking.com.

During my stay I found out that walk in guests were paying less than I was.

Don't book in advance of your stay, negotiate hard upon arrival.

If I'd have known this I could have saved 10 dollars a night.

The standard of decor in the bungalows is quite poor, very tired !

For 40 dollars a night I expected a higher standard.

The staff are friendly, but I didn't like the inconsistent approach from management regarding pricing and general service offered to guests.

I wouldn't stay there again, just not good value.

The beach restaurant looks dirty, the staff lolling about and very casual. I ate there upon arrival, but didn't eat there again during my 7 week stay. Enough said !

I would say the standard of accommodation and of customer service is generally pretty poor in Vietnam, and in Phu quoc is overpriced too.

The beachside location can't mask the very obvious flaws with this resort.

David, London

Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Rooms have the basic necessities. Set in nice garden, so quiet and good privacy. Located right on the beach. Several restaurants nearby both on the beach and on road up to highway. Good place to spend for couple of days to relax and get a tan.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We stayed in this resort for five nights and it was okay. Not to bad, not to good. The resort has a very nice garden that ends at the beach. This 'private' beach however is small and not really private (and therefore crowded with other tourists). The resort staff is most friendly and helpful but will keep trying to sell you tours (we found cheaper and better reviewed ones online). The bungalows seem ok (although the beach view bungalows are really close to the crowded beach, you do not really get any privacy). Since the bungalows were booked we were offered the last available garden view room (50usd a night). We can not recommend this room (number 1) to anyone. It is next to the resorts garbage belt (I'll include a photo) and next to the reception and motorbike rental place (noisy). We did rent a motorbike here (200.000 vnd a day) and that was perfect.

Also the hygiene was not okay. Although the room is 'cleaned' every day. A positive aspect is that you receive fresh towels every morning and that the breakfast is served at your room (you order the night before at the reception).

The resort uses solar power to heat the water. This results in warm water during the hours that the sun is shining (the only moment that you do not really need warm water). If you want to have a hot shower at the end of the day, go just after sunset. All other times that water is really cold (colder than the seawater).

All in all we would recommend a garden view bungalow in this resort or looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viet Thanh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viet Thanh Resort

Address: Tran Hung Dao | Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam (Formerly Viet Thanh)
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Phu Quoc Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viet Thanh Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Viet Thanh Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viet Thanh Hotel Phu Quoc Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viet Thanh Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.