We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An adventure for tourist but a rigorous means of livelihood for the boatman..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pagsanjan (Magdapio) Falls

Pagsanjan (Magdapio) Falls
Brgy. Anglas, Cavinti, Laguna, Pagsanjan, Luzon, Philippines
Improve this listing
Visit Pagsanjan (Magdapio) Falls like an insider
Top Rated
$138*
and up
Pagsanjan Falls Adventure from Manila
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Pagsanjan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
cagayan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An adventure for tourist but a rigorous means of livelihood for the boatman..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It is an exciting experience and adventure... To reach the big falls is by boat with the help of boatman pushing the boat amidst big rocks... We enjoyed swimming underneath the falls .. The place is just 2 hours from Manila..I thought at first that the fee is exorbitant... But experiencing how hard the boatman moved the boat for our convenience ... Its worth it.. We payed 1300 each... We let the boatman eat lunch with our packed food..

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    55
    20
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dangerous and risky trip for boatmen!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nobody told us that this trip is so risky for boatmen. The boatmen - they are moving the boat with the strenght of their mussles when there is not enought water in the river. They are moving it through the woodem piles mounted between rocks. They push the boat by pushing away from the rocks. They using their bare feets. When you look closely to their feets and legs you can see the scratches. It is very dangerous for them - they can broke a leg or harm themselfs very easily.

I know that there is only ay for them to earn some money but the risk is very high. You also can't help him because ou don't know the ground. Anyway there should be a worrning. I would not consider this trip if i had a chance to know the risk. The pirce should be also higher. I worn that you are gonna feel like fat turist moved by the people who don't have other way to get by. I have claims to the lonley planet that they didn't wrote about it.
The price is fixed -1250 php. It should be more and there should be information that you pay an insurance for boatmen. Otherwise you are just fat lazy tourist and you gonna feel in this way for a whole day.
You should also look for a certified places where you can pay for a trip. We chose las villas.
- hotel and restaurant.
We were at 7 o'clock at las villas as we agreed. One guy who had to only show us the boat mans he was eating a breakfast !! He knew that we are going to be at 7!!!

The whole trip took 2h with one stop. Take water with you and drinks to the boatman. Otherwise you will be caught by old trick: on the stop there is a guy who sells drinks. He will ask yoi whether you want one. If you say no it will ask about boatmen - whether you want to buy drinks for them. They know you say yes, because you are going to see tired people looking at you. It is not fair!!! I paid 120 php per can . It is stealing. I treated it as a part of the tip. At the end I paid them 500 php additionally because their took a large risk. My friend wanted to add them 100 php. So our tip was 600 php. My friend still thinks it was 200php.

At the end waited for us a view to the waterfall and a bamboo raft which was attached by the line to the rocks.

It was used to move the raft under the fall. ou could have a massage under a fall and some swimming in the small cave when you cross the waterfall. I was with two Philippine girls from Manila. They tried to swim. I waited for coming back. The water presure was strong but ok. I didn't dried up during comming back.

Next two hour was fast. We swam with the current. We came back before the 12. You can change in the toilets of las villas.Remember to take lifejacket and helmets with you to the las villas. The lady was a lit of bit upset about it but she didn't inform us about taking this staff with us.

Anyway I don't recommend this trip. The view is amazing but the price to high - I mean the risk for the boatmen!
After 15 min or 20 we go to the boatmen. We took lifejackets and helmets.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Trip to Pagsanjan Falls.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you don't want to pay 1250 per person, then, there is an alternate route to Pagsanjan Falls. You just have to go to EL Pueblo Salvador and just pay 270 per person. This alternate route is more fun compared to the other one since you have to walk and rappel just for you to reach the falls. There is also tour guides that will help you. The falls is beautiful, water is cold and lots of tourist.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Piñas, Philippines
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Trip to Pagsanjan Falls "the Rappeling Way" ..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It's near the metropolis! it's very accessible! And it's fun and Exciting Experience!!

if you're on a tight budget and wanted to go for an exciting alternate way to go to the Beautiful Pagsanjan Falls, then this trip is for you!! Instead of a boat ride to the falls which usually cost 1250 per pax. try this alternate route. From Manila take a bus heading to Sta. Cruz (From alabang it'll cost you around Php 80 or 64 pesos for students). From Sta. Cruz, ride a jeep heading to Lumban that would cost 40 pesos per person then drop of at "EL Pueblo Salvador". entering the Pueblo, you'll see the information center on the right. this is where you'll register and pay an environmental fee of Php 270. (inclusive of a tour guide, rappeling equipments and a bamboo ride heading for the falls.)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Don't just read it in your textbooks, experience it for yourselft”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We all know Pagsanjan Falls thanks to our elementary books.

Now that my goal is to discover the Philippines, it was great that we were able to experience this famous falls via the Cavinti route last March 23, 2013.

We didn't get the usual boat package since that would cost 1250 per person. We opted to take the route through Pueblo El Salvador for just 270 pesos.

The over all experience was superb! We went inside the cave behind the falls and took some pictures. We even asked the boatmen to allow us for a second trip back to the cave to experience the falls again.

Though our route was tiring, it was worth it since we were able to get a glimpse of the Nakulo falls and we also had a side trip at te Bumbungan eco park for just 10 pesos.

For a budget itinerary, follow this link:
http://igorotaonthemove.blogspot.com/2013/03/wow-philippines-pagsanjan-falls.html

PS. They are planning to add another attraction to their area - Underground River. This will be officially opened on April 1, 2013.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pagsanjan (Magdapio) Falls also viewed

San Pablo City, Laguna Province
Pagsanjan, Laguna Province
 
Batangas Province, Calabarzon Region
Botolan, Zambales Province
 

Been to Pagsanjan (Magdapio) Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pagsanjan (Magdapio) Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.