We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mangrove Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mangrove Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Bo. Barretto, Olongapo, Luzon 2200, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Olongapo
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We found the hotel by mistake .looking for another hotel.There were five of us that stayed in seperate rooms .From the moment we walked up to reception to the moment we left we all agreed this hotel was very special.All staff are polite professional and have a genuine smile.The rooms are nice and clean as is the pool and other areas of the hotel .Thumbs up from five very happy guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Not good, due to the following:
- No people in reception upon arrival
- Grumpy bartender in main bar
- Dirty swimming pool full of ashes and high concentration of chlorine
- Room cleaning only upon request
- No breakfast included
- No coffe or tea included in paid breakfast
- Stiff food and beverage prices compared to quality
- No fans nor air-conditioning in dining area
- Flies all over the dining area
- Water leakage in toilet wall when showering, flooding toilet floor
- No ventilation in toilet on one of the rooms we stayed in. Imagine the prolonging smell
- Fruit shakes served in cheap disposable plastic cups and soft cheap straw. Costing 160 Php each. Not what one would expect
- Alcoholic beverages displayed in bar, but bartender say they do not have what we ask for, even if we can see it at their display. A bit confusing
- No light along road to the main street
- No warning or evacuation plans when there was a large fire across the street engulfing an entire grass field. We stayed in the pool for our own safety
- No room service
- We asked to get our laundry done, and of course paid laundry, but we got a no, and they said they do not do laundry of guest clothes. But later the same day, the person we talked to pleasantly received a bag of laundry from another guest. Confusing.
- Horrible wi-fi. They state there is wi-fi in the rooms, but not in reality
- Front desk reluctant to give receipt after paying check-out bill. They said Bureau of Internal Revenue have not given them permit yet
- Delayed transport which was payed in advance
- Front desk trying to cheat us for the transport. We paid 5000 Php for private transport to Manila, when the car arrived there was already a passenger onboard. The driver from the third party transportation company was told that we were employees at the hotel and we were to hitch a ride to manila. We refused to have another passenger onboard since we were a group of five and, the car would be filled up by us an our luggage, eventually the passenger stepped out. The driver apologized for the sake of the hotel. He also said he also given toll fee budget for the old bumpy road which would take at least 2 hours extra to travel via, but we paid for express way, teh driver used money form his own pocket to pay for the express way, good man. Back when I was booking the transportation, I overheard the workers in the front desk chatting about that the timing was perfect since there was a costumer that had ordered transport from Manila to the hotel, meaning they received payment for two trips(two cars) but since we are traveling to Manila, they only had to pay the third party transportation company for one car. Double booking = more money in the greedy bucket.

I will not stay at this hotel again, even if it was for free, even if I was paid to stay here.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

It was our first time in the area and we're very much made up we chose this hotel. Welcomed warmly by the front desk staff, our check-in was a breeze, which was pleasing cause we had to travel more than three hours from Manila to get here. The hotel crew was very accommodating as well, attending to our needs and treated us with lovely service. Compliments to the chef for satisfying our cravings - food was excellent.

We had a nice sea view from our very comfy room. Anybody who wants to go to Subic should at least look no further than this hotel. Five stars all day long. Thank you, Mangrove for our delightful stay. Beautiful memories for us.
...(sir) Dave and Aisa :D

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Spent my birthday here and had the best time to rest and relax. Huge room for such a great price. Comfy bed. Too little beach area though. But the pool is ok enough for a little swimming. Nice and courteous staff. Very accessible from Subic.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is the newest hotel in this area. We were fortunate enough to share a couple of drinks with the owner of this hotel (which was complimentary) and greatly appreciated. The swimming pool is fantastic, the rooms are great and had the best pillows and bed linen I've experienced in a hotel in the Philippines. Huge flat screen tv, fast hot water and nice views over the bay. The finish of this hotel is fantastic and I would highly recommend a stay here. The staff will accommodate you in any way possible. The folks here really went out of there way for us and we will surely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We booked the standard room (since its the only room available) thru agoda at the last minute. Upon arriving, we were checked in quite fast which is good, however we noticed that there were limited parking spaces. Only about 8-10 cars can be parked in front of the hotel, and the rest would have to look for a parking space which means having to park your vehilcle a few distances away from the hotel. We brought a toddler with us, so you can imagine the hassle since the road is not paved and very rocky. They also have this ridiculous rule of reserving the parking slot in front of the hotel, so its not first come first served which is quite unfair for those who want to park in front of the hotel. When we got there, there was an empty parking slot, however the guard told us we cannot park our vehicle there since it was reserved for someone else who just went out for lunch. Room is very spacious, hotel staff very friendly and courteous, no complaints there, and also we found the pool area very nice, however when we went there for a swim early the next day of our stay, they said they already ran out of towels. How can you run out of towels when it's still early in the day and you should expect that guests would be swimming? Lastly, when we booked our room thru agoda, room description said that wifi is included. However there was no wifi in our room at all, we would have to go to the pool area/lobby, and when I complained and told to receptionist she said that she would 'reboot' the router, however nothing happened. All in all, we did enjoy our stay. Not sure if we're going to go back to that hotel, though.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the beach front and poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is the nicest hotel in the area, we loved it. From the moment we checked in the experience was excellent. The front desk staff were very helpful, friendly and quick. I can remember her name but i think it started with an R, excellent help. We were showed to our room on the 3rd floor which was next to the beautiful infinity pool. The room was very clean, big and plush (bedding so comfortable), shower is also amazing. 50inch flat screen tv. All this made it hard to leave the room but it was amazing to relax in the pool of an afternoon over looking the ocean. The hotel was very clean all round, the staff are very attentive and helpful. I can't wait until we get to relax at this hotel again with the very friendly staff and owner to make it memorable. Thanks guys.

Room Tip: A room with an ocean view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mangrove Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Resort Hotel

Address: Bo. Barretto, Olongapo, Luzon 2200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Zambales Province > Olongapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Olongapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel beachfront, located in front of Subic Bay. 41 new rooms , restaurant , bar, swimming pool. All the rooms have air conditioning and brand new furniture , minibar, in room safety box, flat screen TV, cable, hot and cold water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mangrove Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangrove Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.