We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Diving, Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johan's Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Johan's Beach Resort to your Saves list
Johan's Beach Resort
Midway Baloy Long Beach | Barrio Barretto, Olongapo, Luzon 2200 , Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Olongapo
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Diving, Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I did our Open Water course in Australia a month ago and decided we wanted to do more diving, and we thought the Philippines might be a nice place to do it. Johan's showed up on the PADI website as a 5-star dive resort, and it looked reasonable on the website, so we decided to give it a try. Rooms were cheap, so we weren't expecting luxury. They were comfortable and clean, however. At any rate, we were there for the diving.

The food was a great surprise. The menu contained hundreds of items from around the world, including delicious Italian pastas, German schnitzels, Philippino dishes, Belgian-style frites, and American and English breakfasts. The quality of the meats and seafoods were quite good, and nearly everything I had was excellent (the exception was the pizza - the ingredients were good but they don't have the crust right). Mains were around $3-5 each, for very nice portions. Local beers were available for around a dollar; also on offer was a range of Belgian and other international brews.

Finally, the diving. My wife did her Advanced Open Water and her Enriched Air certification and I did the upgrade from Adventure Diver to Advanced Open Water. Paul Southgate was our instructor, and he was brilliant, as were the rest of the diving staff. My wife was a bit of an anxious diver, and he was very patient with her. He knew his stuff, knew the dive sites like the back of his hand, and adjusted to our schedule. The rest of the dive staff, including another instructor (also called Paul) and the two divemasters (Henry and Weng) were also incredibly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    15
    11
    9
See reviews for
12
16
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have no good reviews to write about this resort as my company and I found it very disappointing from the time we made booking until we left. First of, during booking the resort did not provide accurate information about their resorts in particular the hidden charges. The rooms were terrible, with what passes off as blanket is merely a thin piece of cloth and noisy aircon units. The rooms were not as clean as pictured and really small. Extra thick blankets incurred charge P150/night. The dives were a feeble save. The thing that upset us was no mentioned of extra charges for night dives on top of the charge mentioned in their website until we arrived and had our orientation. Some of the staff were zombies. Overall, will not come back here as it was not worth the price and all the extra charges incurred made it not a budget stay at all.
On a good note, some of the staffs were wonderful and made the stay bearable. Otherwise, the rest are a thumbs down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have stayed here many times and as the others say yes the rooms are simple and old looking but to my families taste it's ok and the kids love it since it's right on the beach. The staff is on the most part pleasing and helpful and the children are very well taken care of. If you love to dive this is the place, if you like a cheap decent place to stay this is the place but if you are looking for a Boracay style place then go to Boracay or choose another hotel that will cost you a lot more. Honestly we like it here and we get our money's worth.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Diving and Stay @ Johan's Beach and Dive Resort

Had a great time.. Upgraded my Scuba to Open Water, the Dive instructor Paul Leggott very good very supportive i enjoy learning with Him.. The kuya Dive Master are friendly and capable.
The hotel staff friendly and accommodating, no problem at all.
Food was good we had terrific barbie with my Family...
Accommodation basic but clean. Once check in make sure you ask the manager to clean your room everyday or they are unsure if you required privacy or cleaning...
Value for money very good.
My family enjoy their stay staff very child friendly...
Happy to stay there again..

Room Tip: By the way if you stay mostly in your room make sure you ask them the rooms on 2nd floor above dive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed at Johans 30 Apr through 05 May. Pick arranged at the airport (Manila-Clark) Made several dives on the wrecks in the bay. The dive masters and dive team were very good and friendly. Observed that the dive training staff were very professional, with good rapport with students. Restaurant and bar staff also accommodating and friendly. The accommodation was basic, bed room, bathroom, but clean. If you want the room cleaned daily ask when you arrive, as they are reluctant to encroach on your privacy. The overall experience was very good. Would I go there again ..... Yes definitely.

Room Tip: Choose a room above the dive shop, not too noisy as away from the bar and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I spent two weeks at Johan's Beach Resort, also known as Johan's Beach and Dive Resort! They have a range of moderately priced rooms which also range in size from small and comfortable to large and self sustaining, as you can cook and live for extended stays without blowing the budget!
Diving is big here! Dive boats go out each and every day and from my observations they are professionally run and use the many submerged wrecks which litter Subic Bay! Johan's is located on a stretch of beach known as Baloy Beach and is situated right on the beach! Views are great and some great photography can be done here as well! There are plenty of motorcycles that can take you back and forth from Johan's as it is located almost at the end of the Baloy Beach road!
Johan's is not a modern place it has an old world charm about it that would have been on offer during the 50's and 60s, but that is what I liked about it! In Johan's your a traveller and not a tourist!
There restaurant offers a huge ranch of International standards and also offers a great range of European beers, especially Belgian Beers!
Enjoyed my time at this place, the staff are friendly and helpful and assist you where they can!
Well worth a try!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were supposed to rent a place in this resort last April but there was no more vacancies left to accommodate us..Nonetheless, I am happy that we were able to dine at their restaurant. Good thing I have a husband who has fine taste when it comes to food. This is the place where you'd get the value for your money. We ordered European cuisine though I can no longer remember the exact name of our entree. What I liked best was the baked potatoes and the porkchop with something sauce. The meatballs, spareribs and beef stroganoff were not bad either. Again, they gave us more than what we hoped for. Looking forward to going back to this place! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Johan's Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johan's Beach Resort

Address: Midway Baloy Long Beach | Barrio Barretto, Olongapo, Luzon 2200 , Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Zambales Province > Olongapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Olongapo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Olongapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: Experience Subic Bay at Johan's Beach Resort along with friends and guests at picturesque Subic Bay. Quality air conditioned accommodation right on the beach, European and Asian cuisines, Belgian bakery and ice cream parlor, land & watersports and wreck / reef diving with internationally accredited trainers / divers. Johan's now offers 24 fully featured, quality rooms, newly built on the beach at Subic Bay.Rooms are available for all needs and budgets, from electric fan style through to air conditioned beachfront family rooms with queen size bed.We got a generator who insures your comfort during electric power interruptions.All rooms come with queen sized beds, private bathroom, hot and cold water, safe, WIFI connection and TV with DVD and flash drive connection, cable available. Internet computers are available at no cost to guests. New: We got more than 3000 movies on computer to play in the privacy of your room of a flash drive. Johan's offers European & Asian cuisines, the restaurant comfortably seats 100 with room for 200 more on the beach. Our menu contains hundreds of dishes, you're sure to find a favorite. For something different, one of our cooks can barbecue your own selection of fresh seafood or meats at your table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Johan's Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johan`s Beach Hotel Olongapo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johan's Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.