We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of By the Sea Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added By the Sea Resort to your Saves list
By the Sea Resort
#99 National Highway | Barretto, Olongapo, Luzon 2200, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Olongapo
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Affordable and recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

GOOD
-nice location
-spacious parking lot
-plenty of rooms
-good food
-relaxing music that doesnt disturb visitors inside d room
-guests can move freely,not so many rules
-nice swimming pool
-not crowded
-so many space to relax
-they allowed us to enjoy the beach and pool even though its past the swimming time

NEEDS IMPROVEMENTS
-i hope they dont allow guests to smoke inside the room as a courtesy to the next user coz it smells bad
-during high tide shoreline is not that wide coz of the spacious parking
-some towels are not bright white
-rooms are quite small but still ok

TIPS
-bayside rooms are d best location and not pricey
-dont go home without trying the KENI SPA the best massage super! (Make reservation,best time is before going to sleep)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
15
10
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I love the resort, especially the atmosphere. It is a best place for you to relax and enjoy the fresh air. Good for family get to together or quick vacay. You will really enjoy the place and the view.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

5 star service, clean invoirement, nice hospitality, near to beach, for people go for honeymoon is best place in subig. been to BTS more then 10 times me and my friends love this place coz of the service we had here from the staff to management.

Room Tip: tarrace room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByTheSeaResortHotel, Sales and Marketing Exec. Asst. at By the Sea Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Good day Sir!

Thank you for your kind words.

We hope to see you again here in By the Sea Resort Hotel.

Best Regards,

BY THE SEA RESORT HOTEL
Your Home Away from Home in Subic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Been travelling 3 months always want a nice chilled relaxing place for my last week. I was going to stop a few days (mainly because its in the middle of lots of girlie bars) but ended up stopping 8 days and loved it! Didn't have to leave the resort everything you need is there. Nice restaurant good staff in every dept and a swimming pool. Right next to the beach if you want that. I had a cheap room excellent value (and i was travelling alone) but there are exec rooms if thats what you want. Well done to all the staff and thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

the service is excelent, the view is so magnificent and no worries in car parking,, all is secured and all of the staff has a service with a smile. its a good experience for me with my family... can't wait to get back by the sea side resort

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Philippines
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I reviewed this Hotel two years ago and gave it a very poor rating due to bad service, among others. This time, I am giving it an average rating because it improved.

1. They allowed early check in, no fuss, no hassle.

2. Their towels in our room are better and fresher than how they looked like before.

3. They have CABLE TV!!!!! clap, clap, clap.

4. The housekeeping assigned at room 39 was very friendly and accommodating. Request to mop the bathroom floor during the night (after a swim) was granted immediately.

5. Bathroom amenities were acceptable.

6. Request for a bucket of ice to be brought to the picnic area was granted with no fuss.

However....

1. Beach was (still) dirty and untidy with floating plastic cups, potato chips bag, candy wrappers, etc.

2. They call their small rectangular pool "Infinity Pool". Misleading to first-timers. I find it hilarious.

3. The water of the err... "Infinity Pool" is not clear; looked very dirty.

4. Did I mention the beach is dirty? I hope they do something about that.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

we used to stay here for ten days every year office staff very very very rude especially the girl that has been there for years you have to pay upfront so make sure you check every thing before paying security guys were very good staff ok linen dirty so why stay here we go now to suzuki (just down the road) very clean staff extremely good and a discount for longer stays nothing a problem and every thing in the rooms work

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to By the Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Sea Resort

Address: #99 National Highway | Barretto, Olongapo, Luzon 2200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Zambales Province > Olongapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Olongapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your By the Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Hotel Olongapo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By the Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.