We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired...but fantastic food, and great floating bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Rock Resort & Dive Center

Save Saved
You added Blue Rock Resort & Dive Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Rock Resort & Dive Center
Baloy Long Beach, Olongapo, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Olongapo
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“A bit tired...but fantastic food, and great floating bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I have stayed at the Blue Rock many times over the last 8 years. It was once the only place I would consider when visiting Subic. Back in the early days when the original owner Tommo ran the place he really kept everybody entertained. He was unconsciously competent at making sure everyone had everything they needed to be happy.

I have been back since Tommo sold out the last of his shares and moved on....I anticipated being a little disappointed, and reminded myself to give it a good go. Unfortunately the new management did not come out offering a welcome handshake or introduction. I sat at the restaurant bar and spotted the new manager and other owner doing something....whatever it was it wasn't making me feel at home. I felt a bit awkward as no welcome came my way.

I drank a few beers and had some oysters. Still, they have managed to deliver great food and ice cold beer...that hasn't changed.

The rooms are getting a bit tired and could use some redecorating. I was at the Blue Rock the day the new wing opened a few years back and we were the first in those rooms. Though nice at the time, I think the interior decorator needs to drop the bright floral theme, and get into something a bit more metro or hip.

I did lots of Scuba diving when staying here and that was just fantastic.

I just booked my next holiday through Asia including Subic....I am leaving in a couple of weeks. Of course being a serial reviewer I spent a lot of time comparing places, reviews and prices...including Blue Rock. Using the BR website, I was unable to identify which room was which, and what rate it was so I had to email them. It took about 24 hours to get a (kind) reply, but that was too late, as I had already booked the Wild Orchid across the road. I think internet inquiries should be dealt with every hour....as we do in my own business.

In comparison, the prices for the larger nicer rooms at Blue Rock, were the same as a deluxe room at the Orchid....and the Orchid looked much nicer, however not beach front. The facilities such as the pool look second to none at the Orchid, as the BR pool is merely a plunge pool and nowhere to lay out.

A lot of people complain about the vendors on the beach at the front of the hotel. I first despised them but after a couple of trips around Asia I learned they are just making their living....just learn how to deal with them and don't offend them.

Great food, beer, floating bar and great location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    25
    14
    10
    9
See reviews for
12
15
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I guess your opinion of this hotel depends on what your expectation is. I didn't expect much and that's pretty much what was delivered. The room I stayed in was at best; basic. It looked like it had been decorated with cast off furniture from the Salvation Army.

On the plus side the aircon worked well and the room was relatively clean.

Rather unexpectedly and the highlight of the stay was the food served in the restaurant. Reasonably priced, a good menu selection, decent quality and huge portions. It's not upscale dining by any means but was good decent tucker.

There is a pool but it's postage stamp sized. The beach is okay but as others have mentioned you run the beach vendor gauntlet every time you step foot on the sand.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The same goes for the Aussie management.

If you're looking for a room or hotel that looks like it's part of an international chain - this is not for you. If you don't spend much time in a room and just need a place to lay your head, this may be okay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed there for one night, although i had planned to stay longer, but after one night in an old, overpriced room, that smelt only toilet and chlorine cleaner, we decided to go back. Aircondition worked well, but noisy like an old JU-52 airplane engine. Staff was quite nice, food was ok. As some of the comments already mentioned, the difference between cash and credit card payment is ridiculous. who wants to carry so much cash in a country like the Philippines?


The floating restaurant was swept away by a typhoon, no idea when or if they will build it up again.

All in all an experience i do not want to have again. there are nicer and better places in this area. i strongly recommend to do some refurbishment or renovations, because for the state the rooms are in, it is far too expensive.

By the way, it is quite strange to not allow any foods and drinks to be brought to this hotel. Looks like they want to absolutely force people to stay and spend the money there, which brings it almost close to rip off, although prices are reasonable. Never happened to me in any hotel of the world before.

The beach was not nice too. someone should tell the customers that they have to look upon an industrial harbor in close vicinity. no chairs and umbrellas installed - but you are allowed to take a beach chair by your own, with the "kind" reminder to take care that they come back again. but since these annoying vendors are around there all time, i guess not many guests will use this unique opportunity. the management should take a look at hospitality in other Southeast Asian destinations, in order to learn a bit about customer care and guest service.

Not the hotel's fault, but the sea water was very dirty. but, the water in the swimming pool was not much better, which is the hotel's fault.

oh, concerning guest service supplies. the hotel just provides a small piece of cheap ,packed soap. of course, all other supplies are there, too. with the exact price written on it. this is not really guest service. for this price they could maybe offer some shampoo and shower gel, fixed to the wall in the bathroom, or even better, some small bottles for free.

for just 900 pesos more per night i had a fantastic stay in a very pleasant, clean and modern 4 star hotel on Manila bay. including all the necessary things - and breakfast, which is, of course, not included, too. i really regret to have interrupted my ten days stay in manila for this bad experience in this blue rock resort. wasted time and money for the travel and the stay in subic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Well situated right on the beach in Subic Bay. Arrived during a very wet July and access to the hotel site was not the ideal introduction to our short three day visit. However the weather eventually improved and once the beach was cleaned up by staff it looked every bit like the promotional brochures except for the missing floating bar. Great menu with wide range of local dishes and western style meals. Staff very helpful and room service very prompt. Thanks we will be back

Room Tip: The Blue Rock Resort does have very blue rooms on the beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

A review depends on one's attitude to life, past travel experiences and expectations. A 'resort' in the Philippines does not mean the same as these words in another country but the price you pay should indicate what you will get.


Room 18 - right on (above) the beach. Smallish room but quite okay with a mattress on the floor for 5 of us (3 kids - 3yrs, 6yrs, 8yrs). Mirror on the ceiling but sadly no pink champagne on ice.

Kids could play in the sand and we could watch from deck chair on balcony or join them. Not a fantastic beach (grey sand with rubbish) and lots of vendors etc but water clean. Vendors no problem, they are polite - be nice to them they are just trying to feed their family.

Blue Rock sweep their part of the beach regularly and vendors are unable to actually enter the resort. The food is just GREAT! The staff are excellent. Very well trained. A small mistake in an order in the restaurant was rectified immediately (one small error in 10 days not bad!). Office staff are great.

Right on the beach so impossible to stop getting a bit of sand in your room esp with kids but staff turned up everyday to clean and change sheets etc.

Sure a few guys there with girls they had picked-up in local bar but it wasn't a problem and certainly didn't bother the kids. Why should it?
Floating bar just off-shore looked fun.

Pool is very small (although deep).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011 via mobile

This place was recommended to me by a Filipino friend of mine who works for a bus service company based in Angeles City. The ride here from Angeles is about 1 1/2 hours. The location is quiet and secluded. The Good: they have decent food and the floating bar was nice! The Bad: the rooms are worn and have an odor that could be from the sewer and the bed mattresses don't have covers and have a myriad of stains from past guests. The sheets have stains and burn holes and if
you ask for a replacemen you have to pay for it. I would also
recommend that you bring your own towels because if you need an extra towel you have pay for it. Neither fee is going to break you but I was surprised after all of the money we had just spent at the bar and restaurant! I ended up sleeping with a friend at a different hotel that was just as inexspensive and alot cleaner!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010 via mobile

Blue rock is riddled with some of the classic australian hotel owners of the world. Great resort with a superb range of food covering menus around the world. If only someone would seal the road from the highway to the hotel. Like the gaza strip and getting worse. Mind u it adds to the experience. Wouldn't bother staying elsewhere unless there's no vacancies. Look up the boomerang hotel in angeles when it opens in july 2011.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Rock Resort & Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Rock Resort & Dive Center

Address: Baloy Long Beach, Olongapo, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Zambales Province > Olongapo
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Olongapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Blue Rock Resort & Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Rock Resort And Dive Center
Blue Rock Resort & Dive Hotel Olongapo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Rock Resort & Dive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.