We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona International Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Olongapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arizona International Resort
Save
You added Arizona International Resort to your Saves list
47 National Highway | Barrio Barretto, Subic Bay, Olongapo, Luzon 2200, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Olongapo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gosford, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The food, atmosphere, diving and customer service made this a very enjoyable relaxing break. Well done Tommo & Gavin.

Room Tip: Drink the local rum!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    55
    11
    11
    5
See reviews for
17
37
62
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Thanks for a great time guy's. We were not expecting five star as we were only paying around AUD55 a night. Saying that it was well above value for money and the staff did everything to make sure our trip was enjoyable including looking after any trips and transport we needed efficently. Thomo (Owner) and Gavin (Manager) made sure we were always looked after. Rooms were good, quiet and comfortable and the food was great. Sorry Thomo but I got your order of ribs (best ever). Special thanks also to Mark and Tim in the dive shop for some great dives. Great memories and good times. Thanks guy's.

Room Tip: generally all good as management try to keep any noise to a level that wont effect the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We just got back at Angeles City from a three night stay at Subic. I was looking for an old friend from Australia, the only information about whom I had was that he drank in the Score Bar at the Arizona. So that was a good enough reason to stay at the Arizona. Minutes after checking in and not even in room yet a text had been sent to my mate by management that someone was looking for him. Met up later that night. The stay was during the storm season, but it is a good place in which to wait out the bad weather. Met Gavin and Don, bothe genuine friendly fellow Aussies who make a bloke feel welcome. In some immortal words, "I shall return" to Subic Bay and it will be to the Arizona.

Room Tip: Only had Room 20, but it was a quiet room and quiet good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Myself and 2 friends visited the Arizona Resort in April and had the time of our lives. We spent a majority of our trip in Angeles and it was a breath of fresh air arriving in Subic Bay.

From the moment we walked in we were treated absolutely fantastic. My friend requested a small alteration to his room and it was dealt with straight away. No Fuss. Gavin the manager was absolutely fantastic. Not only was he great company to have a beer with but very knowledgeable. Helped us out in many areas of our trip.

The rooms were not flash however were very suitable to what I needed. All I need in a big bed, air con, a safe and a mini bar. As long as it's clean I'm very satisfied, which they were.

The restaurant has great food. From memory a Surf and Turf was around 600 peso's. This is about $13. This is a bargain.

The floating bar was great, nothing like having a few beers whilst watching the sun go down before heading to the score bar. Funniest part was watching "Pungit" the owners dog getting rowed over to the bar. The score bar was so good we found it hard leaving to go to other places. Although it is not a flash bar by any means it is just very friendly and has a great
atmosphere.

We are doing another trip in October/November and we will definitely be heading back to Arizona. I encourage everyone to check it out.

If you have enough fun you may even make the wall of shame :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The location is pretty good with one side on the Barrio Barretto strip and the other side facing the beach. The restaurant was undergoing construction work when I was there recently although they were making an effort to keep the disruption and noise to a minimum. Restauant and floating bar staff were reasonably friendly and efficient. Unfortunately the rooms really need an upgrade. Although the rooms are kept clean the furniture is old and worn. I was in one of the 'deluxe' rooms and its window looked out onto some old pipes and had no natural light. There was also no mobile phone reception in the room. It has to be said the prices are fairly reasonable for a seaside resort but the place could be really nice with a bit of investment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I write this review from my room at The Arizona, (WI FI signal is strong) and thanks to previous reviews here on Tripadvisor my friend and I booked 2 rooms. The rooms and property are well maintained and we were fortunate to catch a few drinks on the Floating Bar which is an experience! By the end of the first day the staff and other guests are calling you by your first name it is just a super friendly well managed place. The food is great, available 24 hours a day and very reasonably priced. Scores Bar is like the bar you'll wish you had back home. Gavin (Manager) arranged our timely transportation from Manila Airport to the Resort and the Van is available to use for any local shopping etc.while staying here for a reasonable P450 per hour. If you don't want to venture out, everything is here. As their Tee Shirts say "where it all happens". Trust me... the Staff and Guests will make you feel like home here after after your first step into the Resort. You could stay at other places here.......but why?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay meet some great people,had alot of fun,both at score bar and the floating bar.I found the food realy good and catered for all tastes.the location is central in Barrio Barretto and the beach is great and offer's safe swiming. Having a dive operation right there in the resort was great and the diving was fantastic with some great wreck diving and underwater photography avalible.there is free WiFi avalible and handy free cell phome charging stations,Managment was friendly and accomodating and the staff were a joy to deal with.
The sort of place you go back to and ill be brining some dive buddies with me next time.

Room Tip: Beach units get the most sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arizona International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona International Resort

Address: 47 National Highway | Barrio Barretto, Subic Bay, Olongapo, Luzon 2200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Zambales Province > Olongapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Olongapo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Olongapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the National Highway and fronting Subic Bay, the Arizona Resort is one of the best-kept secrets of the Subic Bay area. The beach front resort has 31 well-appointed rooms, which vary in price to suit the budget traveler to those where money in no object. All rooms have queen size beds, air conditioning, color televisions with CIGNAL Digital TV, DVD players and in-room safes. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the resort. The resort also boasts South Seas Bar & Grill, the best 24 hour restaurant in the area. For the sports fans there's Score Sports Bar, the area's only fully air-conditioned Sports Bar. On the water Arizona Floating Bar has all the hospitality of the resort but the fun of a bar. And Arizona Dive Shop, a PADI registered dive shop, is considered the best dive shop on Subic Bay. All in all, The Arizona Resort is your one-stop-shop for a great value holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arizona International Hotel Olongapo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona International Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.