We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arizona comes up trumps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona International Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Olongapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arizona International Resort
Save
You added Arizona International Resort to your Saves list
47 National Highway | Barrio Barretto, Subic Bay, Olongapo, Luzon 2200, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Olongapo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Arizona comes up trumps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed at this resort for the 1st time in march 2012 for five days. Gercheann handled my booking and I have only praise for her as I have have had dealings with her from the bluerock resort days.
The resort is what it says on the tin.....good food and well organised, rooms clean..... no complaints .
The highlight of the resort was good atmosphere floating bar and the up and coming diving operation.....boath boading well for the future.
On the whole,good value for money and great location...only criticism...san miguel beer...but that's a universal criticism !
Will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    55
    11
    11
    5
See reviews for
17
37
62
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This was my first trip to the Philippines but I'm already planning a return visit for later this year. As this was my first time to the country I did as much on-line research as I could to find a good place to do a bit of recreational scuba diving and just plain relaxing. Subic Bay was offered as a good place for diving and Arizona International resort was recommended as a great place to stay.
From my pick-up at the airport in Manila to the warm farewell I received at the end of my stay, everything about my experience at the Arizona was fantastic.
I arrived late on Sunday night but my room was ready and the restaurant open and ready to serve a tired traveller. My room was clean and cool, and the restaurant menu wonderfully diverse.
Arizona is right on the beach and in the morning I was able to get my first look and take a short swim. This was the holiday destination I had been hoping for.
Within a few days I was welcomed by hotel and restaurant staff by name and all were very well informed and ready to answer questions about local activities, transportation options and the like.
I dined in a number of restaurants throughout the area during my two week stay, but for quality and value, the Arizona was one of the best.
I had initially booked just one week of my two week holiday at the Arizona, but at the end of my first week I extended my stay until the end of my holiday as I could see no reason whatsoever for leaving.
I plan to be back to the Arizona later this year, and to stay even longer this time. I highly recommend the Arizona and look forward my next visit.

Room Tip: Deluxe room 16 was great. Nice and roomy and a good layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I decided to stay there one night as a get away from Angeles City. It's a perfect beautiful little place to unwind and relax. Located on the beachfront in Olongapo there is very little reason to leave the resort, unless you count taking a walk along the beach.
We had the family room, even though we were a couple, and it was beautiful. Located on the second floor with it's own balcony and incredible views the room was more than what we expected. The bathroom was clean and modern. A nice flat screeen TV with a couch and even a sit down dinner table and chairs.
The restaurant was nice with a good atmosphere and food and decent prices. Then of course there is the floating bar. Yes it's a bit gimmicky but you have to try it at least once cause it really can be fun out there.
The beach is perfect for swimming and teh water was nice and warm. They even have Jet Ski rentals available for those interested.
For 3500 pesos for one night all in all it was well worth the visit. Would hihly recommend it and will stay there again in the near future.

Room Tip: Room 24 is just like everyone says....perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

service as pretty good, and I think the reviews here are mostly correct. of course, this area seems to cater to mostly the bars outside and the century old fat expat crowd. but the service in this resort was good. there were a few families from manila and a few groups of filipino youngsters. rooms were large and clean. the washroom was clean, though not so big. the view of the sea was good, and though the seas were rough when i was here, it made interesting watching

Room Tip: take a room in the center - those near the road are noisy, and the ones near the bar are noisy too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This hotel's core market appears to be sex tourism for western guys over 50 who are there to avail of the recently resurgent Go-Go bars of Barrio Barretto. So if you are militant feminist or a moralising prude this is not a place for you to visit - unless you're planning to picket it.

We are a family group (with a 4 year old in tow) and it was our third choice hotel as our first two options (Wild Orchid, Subic Grand Seas) were full. But we found Arizona to be a perfectly good place that was very well run and super value for money.

At only P3,600 per night our "family" room was even replete with a mirror on the ceiling. I couldn't work out why it was offset from the bed's position and provided us only a voyeuristic view of our feet. But that probably reflects more on my ignorance or lack of imagination The room was big enough, the simple bathroom had good water pressure and was clean and serviceable. Niggles were quickly cleared by responsive staff.

The much ballyhood floating bar is in effect an open-air daytime girly bar. It is stocked with ladies to entertain the guests. I suspect a few are rather past their best before dates but maybe the same labour laws are at work here that leave western airlines with harridan stewardesses. The views from the bar are nice and the breeze out there is very refreshing on hot days. Beers are nice and cold and the service is good.

Back on land in the main restaurant the food was good, the portions generous and prices very cheap. The configuration of the roof and wind shielding combine to create a greenhouse effect which super heats the restaurant area beyond the ambient background temperate. I'm sure any decent architect/engineer could fix this but it was the only serious downer for me about the hotel. On a hot day it makes you dread having to sit our there. There's always the floating bar to retreat too but it would be much better to just fix it.

Overall great value for money and we will probably use this hotel again for a cheap break in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

My wife, two children and I stayed at the Arizona Hotel for 5 nights. We spent much of our time on wreck dives (scuba) in Subic Bay and attending the Philippine Bash Hash. We had a great room a suite with 3 beds and 2 balconies overlooking the bay. The service was very good and the staff could not be more friendly. There are not a lot of choices in Barrio Barretto for restaurants but the Arizona was reasonably good and we ate most our meals there.

Let's face it Barrio Barretto is mostly bars and partying. Spending most the day underwater digging through WWII wrecks and the Arizona fit the bill. If you are hitting the bar scene it would probably not be a bad choice either.

Room Tip: Room 24 sleeps 4 and has an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We last stayed at the Arizona Hotel 2 weeks ago, and it's a place my wife and I visit every single year while staying in the Philippines. Our room cost about 1600 pesos, if memory serves, with a small discount for cash versus credit card payments. The beach is shared with neighboring institutions, though for some reason, you hardly ever see anyone besides vendors enjoying it. This usually leaves us more room for swimming in the sea, which we adore. Granted, the water is not as clean here as it is 30 minutes further in Botolan in Zambales, but the great thing here is that there is a lot of company, without you feeling cramped out by the presence of too many tourists.

Beer is very affordable, even what comes in the in-room fridge. I usually eat the curry here, though they have a nice weekend buffet, which my wife prefers. The restaurant service is generally very good, with smiling waitresses being always friendly.

We will definitely be going back there soon, as it's less than an hour away from (land-locked) Angeles where we live, and the drive along the SCTEX is quite easy and pleasant. They have a "floating bar" a few feet into the water, and we will try to visit it next time.

Room Tip: A reservation is not a bad idea at all, especially if visiting during the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arizona International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona International Resort

Address: 47 National Highway | Barrio Barretto, Subic Bay, Olongapo, Luzon 2200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Zambales Province > Olongapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Olongapo
#1 Best Value Hotel in Olongapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the National Highway and fronting Subic Bay, the Arizona Resort is one of the best-kept secrets of the Subic Bay area. The beach front resort has 31 well-appointed rooms, which vary in price to suit the budget traveler to those where money in no object. All rooms have queen size beds, air conditioning, color televisions with CIGNAL Digital TV, DVD players and in-room safes. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the resort. The resort also boasts South Seas Bar & Grill, the best 24 hour restaurant in the area. For the sports fans there's Score Sports Bar, the area's only fully air-conditioned Sports Bar. On the water Arizona Floating Bar has all the hospitality of the resort but the fun of a bar. And Arizona Dive Shop, a PADI registered dive shop, is considered the best dive shop on Subic Bay. All in all, The Arizona Resort is your one-stop-shop for a great value holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arizona International Hotel Olongapo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona International Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.