We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“look out for the staff and your change” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Orchid Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wild Orchid Resort to your Saves list
Wild Orchid Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner A Santos St & Johnny St. | Balibago, Angeles City, Luzon 2009, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Angeles City
Pattaya, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“look out for the staff and your change”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

hotel has nice pool area but had balcony room with light on balcony that never shuts off. towels were tattered too.

i paid cash to get a 5% discount. when at counter girl did not give me cash after i told her i was paying cash and put in from of her. i only got discount after i said something. that is dishonest and i assume managment tells them to do that.

i then got it corrected and had approximately 300 pesos due to me. the girl said that they had no change and i should give it to them as a tip. i give tips all day and like to tip. i do not like being forced to tip. i waited and it was apparant they wanted the money so i left and i never got it. i think the managment allows this. maybe if they paid them a reasonable salary, they would not harrass the guests for money.

as i paid my bill to leave for the room service i had, i had 65 pesos due. the girl again said she had no change. how can it be that they never had change unless management does this or allows the staff to harrass the guests for money. i took my maid to front desk and told them to give it to her. she did a good job.

Room Tip: avoid balcony since light never goes out
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
6
15
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Wild Orchid is located about a minute or two from Fields Ave, but it still maintains a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, with a nice bar with plenty of selection, and good food even tho fairly expensive, there can be better variety and value next door at the pub on the corner. The staff I found can be diffucult to rate, I found the recption staff at times to be helpful, but other times not so much, staff at the bar seem to take there time and don't mind letting you just stand there for a while, but the door boys on the other hand are consistantly brilliant, they organised for me to go to a cock fight, the informed me about bus services they offered to go down to Subic, and one ocasion I got so rip roaring drunk that they found me past out in a toilet cubicle without anything covering me from the waist down and my legs were sticking out underneath the door, the didn't hestate at all to help, one broke in to the cubicle I was located in and unlocked it, and two more came to my aid by holding me up while one pulled my jeans and boxers up to there respected place, not to many places that would do that for you. The rooms are really quite nice, but small. I think that's how a lot of things work for The Wild Orchid, Nice rooms.....But Small, Small.....But expensive considering what you can get else where and so on and so on. I honestly think that this place stayed at probably the second best motel/resort (Second to ABC this is well before Fields plaza was erected) for so long that it didn't really think that it would need to move with the times and it does show a bit. I do still go there to enjoy a drink in the grass area out the back, but I don't stay there. However, I would still recommend this place to anyone with kids because of the garden/pool/BBQ area.

Room Tip: They do have little villa style places out the back of the resort, I have never seen inside one, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice and convenient hotel close to fields ave strip, if you go there reserve room on the ground floor by the pool, you can get out of your room and right into the water and a 5 meter swim to the pool bar.

Room Tip: By the pool, first floor of the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nice hotel well maintained with a nice outdoor pool area.
This hotel needs free wifi in all rooms not just pool area, struggled to get phone reception in room.
Breakfast should be included at these prices, and meal prices are top of the range.
Service at this hotel can take a while, staff training maybe required.

All in all nic hotel but overpriced, maybe management should go to Thailand to see competition.

Room Tip: Rooms are ok but quite expensive for what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Grove, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had a Garden Jacuzzi Suite last week in august 2012 saw a mouse run across the top of the curtian one day. not a big deal just thought it was funny. the biggest problem i had with this room was that at about 3:30 in the morning there were a couple of idiots that had to start there motorbikes and reave them up on the street just on the other side of the wall and it happened every day. i will stay at this hotel again because people actually use the pool. but will get a pool room instead.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights on business in the Lagoon "Suites" (about $100/night). Check-in and check-out process tediously long, especially the check out (front desk staff took about 15-20 minutes to add up various room service charges with Slow Lori-like movements).

Room quality was equivalent to a $50 room in Phuket (much reminiscent of the CN Hotel Patong, - shoddy workmanship especially for a newer wing, loud a/c, dark dungeon-like moldy bathroom with water pressure comparable to the blood pressure of a crocodile, an ant colony that kept me company thorught my 3 days and basic lack of functioning amenities.

Food - mediocre at best. Expect a wait of about an hour for your order to arrive at the room (30 minutes slightly faster if sitting in the restaurant, steaks are low quality and done-ness instructions ignored. Salads are ok, as are the pastas.

Staff attitude - overall nice and helpful with no unecessary tip-sucking actions/services

The pool was probably the only real outstanding feature of this hotel, clean and quite large with a good design. The blue night time lighting of the compound is also very serene.

Overall, an ok hotel for the usual sex tourist type that frequents this town and has some more money to spend on accomodations that will seperate him from the rest of the budget punters but not a good hotel for family or "respectable" business persons.

In my opinion they should really do a better job of transparency - it is obvious they only want sex tourists to stay there so they should not try to disguise themselves as a "resort"

Room Tip: Garden rooms are filthy and old, avoid. I asked to be moved after an hour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Been staying here on a few occasions. They have recently built a new wing, where the rooms are of higher standard than the old rooms in the main building. The old rooms are 3900 pesos, which is extremely overpriced compared to other places.

The better rooms in the main building are much better, but heavily overpriced. You can get better or equivalent standard rooms for a much lower price. And for Philippines what you get doesn't justify the high price. Hopefully management will take a notice of this review.

Otherwise the pool area and pool itself is a perfect place. And the food is reasonable. Can recommend the Sotanghon Soup.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Orchid Resort

Address: Corner A Santos St & Johnny St. | Balibago, Angeles City, Luzon 2009, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Pampanga Province > Angeles City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Angeles City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Orchid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Wild Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Orchid Hotel Angeles City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Orchid Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.