We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location on Fields” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Royal Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Amsterdam
684 Fields Avenue | Balibago, Angeles City, Luzon 2009, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Angeles City
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Location on Fields”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Hotel is right in middle of Fields and night action is steps away. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Recommend their car pickup/return if you are coming from CRK for 350 pesos each way. JJ supermarket is short walk on MacArthur past McDonalds so you can get anything you need. Rooms were very large and comfortable. The only issue is there are no elevators, so staying on 4th floor is a little trek up the stairs.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you don't like walking up 4 flights, request lower floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    127
    28
    5
    5
See reviews for
3
49
183
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great location and services. Jacuzzi could have had hotter water. Staff were helpful and very useful. I would definitely recommend a stay here. The location cant be beat, fields ave is where the action is.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

its my second stay in this hotel after 2 years. the Manila airport pickup was well arranged. The Check-in was very fast . The rooms has Good amenities. The Wifi is very good . The location is the best for nightlife. Pros: No elevator. the bathrooms need renovation.
i think with paid costs for rooms, still it can be a best choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Honestly I usually stay at the Pacific Breeze hotel when I visit Angeles...due to Pacific Breeze being booked I decided to stay at Hotel Royal Amsterdam. I stayed in the Superior Deluxe room which was available at the time. I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. The room was clean and spacious. The staff was great. I ate a few times at the restaurant and the food was very good. The only thing it was across the street from a Korean restaurant and I love Korean food, but it is not their fault. The hotel itself was in a great location....the patio out front was clean and you could see people walking by which made for good entertainment. There is no elevator and I stayed on the 4th floor. It really isn't a big deal, but an elevator would be nice. The overall cleanliness of the hotel was very good, though the lighting is a little dark it still has a nice feel. Overall I would stay there again and I would recommend it also. I might even say that it would be my first choice the next time I visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel is in a very good location if you want to be in the heart of the action. The rooms are well furnished and water pressure is good. Excellent staff who are very service oriented. Their restaurant is now open again and although I didn't try it, it did look nice and was somewhat busy in the evenings. The prices on the room service menu in the room seemed a little high however.

The negatives are that there is no swimming pool and the hotel suffers from noise pollution both externally and internally. Rooms facing the front hear the noise from Fields Avenue and rooms facing the rear hear the noise from the Filipino karaoke bars. Internally, the internal rooms hear people coming and going at all hours of the night who talk loudly and slam doors. Not sure what the hotel can do about this other than put carpeting down on the stairs and hallways. Some drunk people will always talk loudly and slam doors. Not trying to be picky here, but after a few nights, getting woken up at 4 a.m. gets old.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We booked 1 economy room and 4 economy deluxe rooms for this trip. The size difference between the 2 was substantial but I believe the economy room was also big enough for the entertainment provided. Location wise is excellent as its in the middle of Fields Avenue. Not a family-friendly hotel due to entertainment around the area. 2 of the guys in our grp complained about a certain smell from the carpet in their rooms but both also don't smoke so for the remaining 3 who did, we couldn't smell anything, so we believe our cigarette smoking masked whatever smell existed. The bed was large and comparable in size to the one at Galaxy Hotel which charges alot more. Rooms were also all on ground floor level which is very convenient. The front desk staff were very helpful also when we made requests and room service was very very fast. None of us got the same problems as some of the other reviewers here about water pressure as we felt it was strong and good enough. Plenty of TV channels to watch and the air con was nice n cold. There was a safe in the room which was helpful for keeping my passport and money. The Wi-Fi signal was jumpy but good enough as my Globe reception was non-existent inside the rooms.

There are only 2 things I would complain about. Firstly, the owner of the restaurant (separate from the hotel) was very rude to us and did not treat us as nicely as he did to the other expats. Perhaps it was because we used one of his tables to wait for a friend in the afternoon without making any orders and he approached us quite rudely and said he needed to run a business. That did not take into account the fact there were plenty of other vacant tables should there be any customers or that he could have asked us nicely to order or vacate his table.

My other complaint would relate to the power supply in the room. The keys to the door need to be plugged-in in order to generate power supply and once you leave the room, you cannot leave your gadgets in the room to charge. I have a tablet, 2 phones and a battery pack and throughout the entire trip my gadgets were never fully charged because I could only charge them when I was at home in the room at night which didn't give me enough time to juice them up.

Room Tip: Rooms 107 and 108 (Economy Deluxe) were the largest amongst the 4 rooms we took in this size and cam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

great location right in the thick of it. comfortable bed and nice flat screen TV within room. aircon filters could do with a little cleaning but apart from that an enjoyable stay overall.

the restaurant is great. the food is delicious and the value for money is ok. i will note that this restaurant is completely separate to the hotel itself and is run by a German guy who trains his staff well and the chef cooks the food well.

The only negative point i had was the front desk kept annoying me asking me to pay cash in advance even though i gave my CC as security before i arrived. this really annoyed me.

dont hesitate to use this hotel, they offer 10% discount for cash payments.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Amsterdam

Address: 684 Fields Avenue | Balibago, Angeles City, Luzon 2009, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Pampanga Province > Angeles City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Angeles City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Angeles City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The affordable Deluxe Hotel on Fields Avenue, Angeles City.Right in the middle of the entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Royal Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Amsterdam Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.