We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money hotel in Mawlamyine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cinderella Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cinderella Hotel to your Saves list
Cinderella Hotel
No.21, Baho Road, Sitkei Gone Quarter, Mawlamyine, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Mawlamyine B&B and Inns
Nonthaburi, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best value for money hotel in Mawlamyine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Although the hotel's architecture is very kitschy, the interior is far better and the rooms are really clean, with fast WiFi connection for burmese standard.
The staff is plethoric and extremely friendly and helpful.
Considering the crazy price inflation in this bubbling country, this hotel is a great deal, best value for money actually.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    43
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
70
28
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Cinderella Hotel two nights in September 2012 on a business trip. Given that this hotel is really off the beaten track, the client focus is amazing. They keep an eye on Trip Advisor and had printed some of the reviews, clearly taking the tourism market seriously.

The hotel itself is a huge concrete monstrosity but it's the service that makes it stand out. The staff were quite helpful and assisted us with a range of requests. The hotel has great wi-fi, which helps the business traveller, as well as desks in the rooms for working. The rooms also include a small fridge and hot water, although the bathrooms are basic. I will definitely stay here next time I am in town.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton in Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews and Lonely Planet write up. To be honest, we couldn't see what all the fuss was about. We stayed in far better hotels in other parts of Myanmar, although this was one of the cheapest. We booked via our agent and for some reason were given a family room, which was large and looked promising. Well-stocked and well-priced mini-bar was a real plus, but the little balcony was unusable, being on the ground floor and about 3 feet from the cars parked in front of the hotel. The bathroom was seriously disappointing, very tired, scruffy and in need of a complete makeover. Breakfast was reasonable, not outstanding. In fact that description just about summed up the Cinderella for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I spent three weeks in Myanmar and this was without a doubt the best place I stayed. For the price (we paid $30 for a double) the facilities were superb and the service excellent. The rooms were charming, breakfast great and all round a very pleasant experience

Room Tip: Rooms are the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you can get over the overwhelming moth ball smell once you enter your room,it is a fine little hotel. The Hello Kitty motif was cute. Staff was wonderful with their little white gloves. This place met all our needs. It was clean, very inexpensive, had a well stocked mini refrig, and complimentary toiletries such as a shower cap, comb, toothbrushes etc. Hotel kitchen for breakfast was fine. Internet connection was one of the better ones we found in Myanmar and it was free. The bathooms could do with some modernizing as they are very old and antiquated. But, again, served the purpose for the price. If you walk down to the water, you can find some great calamari/chicken ( street vendor food)while you sit at a table and watch the sunset. As our back door opened up to the front court yard ( ground level) we asked for a padlock. Not, that we felt in any danger but since there was no safe in the room, we thought it would be wise. To secure your valuables, go to the front desk, and they will wrap it with a whole roll of tape every time you need to secure your valuables, and put it away for you. Do stay here, it certainly was a good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nice hotel with good cost performance ratio. They probably have the best breakfast in Mawlamyine. Staff very attentive, but seem to be under quite some pressure, not relaxed. Internet also worked very well for Myanmar standards. Main Issue: I could feel the springs of the mattress, which needs to be changed urgently. Rooms are also not too well aired, the bath room had no window.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

It's a great place. Service perfect. Clean, big, airy, comfortable rooms and a good location. The complimentary fruit every day and a lot of other things is just to good to be true (fruit already peeled and put in the fridge, a laptop, many different beers, even Heineken...really!).
So all the positive things written before this review are 1000% true. Two tiny little things I would like to say to the management: try to serve the breakfast with a bit more variation. After a month in Myanmar the Western tourist might like something different then tasteless white bread with eggs and a slice of papaya. I would suggest you are the perfect hotel to serve for example dark brown bread with cheese. Just for a change.
The second thing: on our second night at 11pm (we were already fast asleep) they started to do some serious work on the sewage which caused a lot of noise for almost for 1,5 hour. That was maybe inevitable but not really handy in the middle of the night.

But overall we were very happy here and we loved Moulmein: a great place to hang out for a while.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinderella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinderella Hotel

Address: No.21, Baho Road, Sitkei Gone Quarter, Mawlamyine, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mon State > Mawlamyine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mawlamyine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Cinderella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinderella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.