We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant is a hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toyabali Beach Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Toyabali Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Toyabali Beach Bungalows
Jalan Kubu Abang, Tulamben, Bali 80853, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Tulamben B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“The restaurant is a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Few people would stumble across this wonderful little restaurant of only three tables right on the waterfront, but it is well worth the trouble to find. Try an approach from the shoreline - it is right next to the Ocean View Resort. The restaurant is, of course, attached to the highly rated Toyabali Beach Bungalows, but deserves special mention in its own right.

The incomparable Made runs a wonderfully diverse kitchen, and she and her team produce some of the very best tastes in traditional Balinese dishes. She will also cook anything you fancy, provided she has enough notice to get the ingredients.

Arrive in time to watch the sun set from the comfy sofas with an icy beer, but bring your own bottle if you are a wine drinker. Thanks, Made, I look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holbaek, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The subject line says it all.
If you are going to Tulamben, this is the place to stay.
Don't expect a party place or a place with lots of things to do.
This is a place for people that wants to relax in nice surroundings with nice rooms and good service.
Just the outdoor bathroom with the big whirlpool in every villa is worth the trip to get here.
Shops are 10 minutes walk away if you want to shop snacks and drinks, but food you have to eat at the villas restaurant.
The food are indonesian cuisine, yummy and very reasonable priced, and they are very good chefs.
We will definately come back to this place next time we will be in Bali for relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Toyabali is a very nice and cosy resort with only 3 cottages which are situated in a lovely garden. We've stayed here for a week and spent our time with snorkelling and relaxing by the pool. The restaurant is situated next to the pool and offers a magnificent view of the sea and the beach. It is also a good spot to watch the divers going in and coming out of the water during the day and the evening. The food in the restaurant is freshly prepared and very good. However dishes are sometimes not available when the neccessary ingredients were not available at the market.

+ the cottages are nicely decorated and have all the luxuries you'll need
+ very nice (and large!) open air bathroom
+ wifi is free and even in the rooms available as the antenna was upgraded when we were staying there
+ very friendly staff
+ beautifull infinity pool with scenic ocean view
+ nice snorkelling and excellent diving at the shipwreck (USS Liberty) which is only about 50 meters to the right of the resort

- resort is quite far from the village  (too far for walking). However there is a restaurant (Lesehan Segara Tegeh) which will pick you up and bring you back by scooter. 
- an information map in the room would be nice (emergeny tel. numbers, things to do in Tulamben, etc)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at ToyaBali for 7 nights and we had a great experience. All staff were accommodating and friendly. All the amenities were there for us but the most outstanding feature of this place is the view. We were kind of sad to leave this place.
If we ever come back to Tulamben, We wouldn't doubt to stay at Toyabali again.
I would recommend this place to couples or single people that just want to relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I would endorse everything that clancy said in the previous review. The staff was so nice to us it was worht every penny. The owner was very responsive to emails and helpful even with small details.

The villas are set up above the shoreline about 10m, so the view of the bay is fine, sunrise is especially beautiful. I did scuba on the Liberty Wreck and the Tulamben Wall, both excellent dives, several large bumphead parrots and lots of reef fish. The wreck gets pretty crowded in the afternoon, with day-trippers, even in the low season.

Snorkeling over the wreck is good, just be mindful of the wind and currents. There is good coral and reef fish about 20m from shore and the entire wreck is only about 80m off shore and you can see it snorkeling.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Our first stop in Bali and the rest of the trip spent wishing we were still there!

I. Made picked us up from the airport with flowers after our 25 hour journey and took us to the Tulamben villas where we were greeted by Guenter and the lovely Monika who were visiting during our stay. As it was dark when we arrived we could not see how close the water was, just hear breaking waves. In the morning we awoke to the most breathtaking views of the sea, and the reef at Tulamben is the most amazing I've ever seen, whether snorkeling or diving.

Every morning we had fresh fruit, a choice of fresh juices and breakfast freshly prepared and served by Wayan and Ketut. The gardens were beautifully tended to, as was our every need and desire. Meals were simple, delicious and very reasonably priced so we rarely ate anywhere else during our stay.

During our visit, there was a full moon ceremony at the local temple and Ketut was kind enough to take us there when she made her offering. It was a very special day and we were honoured that she would allow us to accompany her.

We cannot thank the team at the Toya enough for all of their hospitality, and would recommend that anyone stay here.

Una and Keith :)

Room Tip: Ask Guenther !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toyabali Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyabali Beach Bungalows

Address: Jalan Kubu Abang, Tulamben, Bali 80853, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tulamben
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Tulamben
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best days of the year in a luxury bungalow (built 2008,2012) with mini-bar, safety box, air-conditioned bedroom, partially roofed bathroom with Jacuzzi, shower and toilet. Open, covered living room with relaxing couches and dining table. Listen to the romantic morning or evening mood, with a view from your bed,terrace or restaurant, over the deserted beach towards the open, calm sea (without jet ski)admire, when diving or snorkelling, the unique underwater world at the house reef or the 60m distant wreck (U.S.S. Liberty) or the drop-off. A local diving centre will fulfil all of your wishes, no matter if you are a beginner or a professional diver. Similarly, the resort staff will take care of you in a very personal manner. Ranging from the personal pick up at the airport, to your choice of breakfast and other meals as well as the accompaniment to cultural and other attractions. We want you to have memorable and wonderful holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Toyabali Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyabali Beach Bungalows Tulamben, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toyabali Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.