We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Accomodation, Fantastic Dive Sites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA to your Saves list
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kubu-Abang, Tulamben, Bali 80853, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Tulamben
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Value Accomodation, Fantastic Dive Sites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Firstly, Tulamben has "grown" in leaps and bounds since we were last there in 2006. From a simple road with 2-3 resorts till close to 10 today. It is still mainly a scuba diving town, as it's only attraction.

This resort's rooms were pretty homely, with it's Balinese designs. I would give the room about a 3.5 stars for cleanliness. The only item which needs refreshing would be the mosquito nettings. The rest are all great. Toilets are clean, the rooms are cleaned & all towels refreshed every day when we are out diving. The rest of the resort is great with no cleanliness issues.

At the resort's restaurant, food is served pretty quick, and are the usual tasty Indonesian fair, as we booked with their all-inclusive package. There are no complaints and they accommodated with pretty much all our requests ;) Do note I traveled with a group of 9, so we were quite a handful.

The dive staff were very helpful during the dives. As we have a novice diver, they did a fantastic job on "babysitting" her ;) They did a pretty good job on spotting all the macro items too. Especially on our Puri Jati trip. I think the group enjoyed that the most. Do note that most dive sties in Tulamben are shore entries. Do remember to bring a pair of booties. I would avoid full foot fins for this trip. they do have the awesome porters. All you need to do is carry your own mask, fins and camera if you have one.

If you would like to head over to Tulamben for some fantastic dives, do check them out as a great value for money option. .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    129
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
37
129
51
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

This is my first diving trip to Bali Tulamben, i had chose the Matahari Tulamben Resort, total of 5 divers in my group to stay in Matahari Tulamben Resort.
Before i chose this resort i had read the review in Trip Advisor some of guest are give good review some are poor ....... i was worry i chose wrong resort for my group of divers.
Finally i knew i chose right resort ...... Good service , nice resort, great clearness.......and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Been to most of the resorts in Tulamben and none of resorts come close to Matarhari Tulamben. It is valued for money, it has clean bed, good service, friendly staffs and most of all easy access to all the dive sites.

If you have not stayed in Matarhari Tulamben Resort then you have not dive in Tulamben. Where the history begins...........

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

This was our second stay at Matahari, but there will definitely not be a third. We had spent two weeks at this resort in 2009. The staff was very friendly and it is a moderately-priced base for diving Tulamben. However, there were some major problems with dirty bathrooms and poor maintenance at the time. I wasn’t prepared to submit a poor review then, because I felt that they were trying to improve things. How wrong I was!

Having had some problems at another resort in Tulamben, we decided to move back to Matahari for our final five days’ diving. We chose a hot-water/air-conditioned room and were allocated one of the new bungalows, on the right side of the path, as you face the sea. Well, the hot water never functioned at all during our entire stay, despite the maintenance man proclaiming it “fixed” on several occasions. Frequently, we had no water at all, usually late at night when there were no staff around. Twice, I came back from diving to find no water and was forced to have a shower and shampoo in front of everyone in the courtyard of the dive centre. It turns out that all five rooms on this side of the resort are supplied from one small header tank. This is supplied from a shallow well at the back of the staff quarters and only functions if some-one remembers to turn on the pump to fill it. This has to be turned off again, otherwise the tank overflows. As you can imagine, the tank doesn’t last very long, if several people in these rooms have a shower. This is obviously a very long-standing problem on this side of the resort, but nobody seems to be allocated to check the tank and turn on the pump.

There also seems to be a problem with room cleaning – or rather, lack of it. For three days, our room wasn’t cleaned at all, despite our complaints. A couple in one of the Balinese-style bungalows opposite was also complaining about poor cleaning. Apparently, a gecko dropping had been left on their sink surround and they decided to leave it to see how long it would be before the room-boy did something about it. Apparently, it was still there three days later.....

Diving at Tulamben is excellent and experienced buddy-pairs will not need a guide. What is needed is a good sense of balance and thick-soled dive boots to negotiate the sometimes hazardous entry and exit over the large volcanic cobbles. With the exception of Komang, who seemed to work quite hard to look after his clients, the dive staff at Matahari is, quite frankly, lazy. They would rather spend their time snoozing on the sun-loungers or sending texts on their mobile phones. It was amazing how attentive they suddenly became when the Dive Manager or Resort Owner appeared. Dedicated macro-photographers will need to be able to find their own subjects – our photo subjects were greeted with amazement rather than recognition by the dive staff.

Be aware that power cuts are frequent in Bali, often lasting for several hours. The adjacent resorts of Mimpi and Paradise have generators, but Matahari does not. Take a torch (flashlight) and be prepared for sitting in the dark for long periods.

In conclusion, the management of Matahari needs to undertake a serious review of the maintenance, cleaning and logistics of their resort. There are plenty of other places to stay in Tulamben – some of us will be voting with our feet.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divetulamben, Inhaber at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
Dear J+B (scubadiver59),

we are very sorry that you could not enjoy your holiday in Tulamben this year. We saw already the two very, very bad reports you made about other resorts. So we are lucky you didn't complain to much about us.

For our dive staff we apologize and you are right. They should not play with their Handphones. But you only rent tanks for a reasonable price. When our dive staff have guests for diving they really take care of them and try to show them all the nice things under water. But we will talk with them to take care more of this guests which only rent tanks. Normally if the guests only rent tanks they know already the divesites. If they are interested in a briefing or dive trips so they will get it. But for dive guide we charge extra.

About our electric. Sorry, until february 2010 the goverment stopped always in monday and thursday between 18 and 22 hrs. But we have already generator since december 2009. That means the restaurant has electric and our water pumps are running. Nearly all resorts in Tulamben dont have generator for the rooms.

For the room service we can not believe that there is 3 days no service. Because every day we change towels and every 2 or 3 days we change the bed sheets. We apologize when our staff can not satisfy you and we will try to train them better.

About the water you are right. There was a problem and our plumber tried to fix the problem not in the right way. Now we have new pumps and the problem is fixed. We really apologize to you about that problem.

We hope next time, if you come again to Tulamben you will find a five star resort without problems. So you don't need to complain about three Resorts with Balinese owner. But please dont forget you made holiday in Asia and not in Europe.

If something is wrong in my resort, my ear is always open for my guests. And I like guests very much, when they let me know that something is not ok, so I can try to do it better.

Mrs. Komang Suci (Owner of Matahari Tulamben Resort, HP +62-81-338-636670)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

This place is more of a family-run chalet so don't go looking for the equivalent of a resort and you won't be disappointed. The good thing about such a place is you get decent rates for food, lodging and diving. The downside is you don't get the kind of quality service that we previously received when we stayed at Tauch Terminal and Mimpi resorts, which are just next door. The room was decent though the bathroom was really basic and old. As we dived at Tulamben before, it was somewhat of a godsend that there were no dive briefings or dedicated guides as this translated into long bottom times and we could pretty much look for our own amusement underwater. But if you're a new diver or unfamiliar with diving in this area, you'll might be better off at a PADI-approved dive centre where things are more systematic. Here, you get by with chatting to the locals in basic Malay and having drinks with other likeminded divers. We had a relaxing time though, given that there were no distractions like TV, internet or spa.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

The location is great. The staff very good, helpful and friendly. We stayed 2 weeks and dove 10 days. The food is ok but gets boring after awhile. We went next door to Paradise for pizza. The room was clean but sometimes did not have clean towels or toilet paper replaced. The towels are old and in need of a good bleaching. Many times clean towels smelled musty or dirty. The place is keep clean for the most part except near the front where the parking is is quite dirty and trashy.
The dive guide Ketut was wonderful. The problem is all the day trippers that come into the resort during the day. They take over the place with all their gear and baggage. Many times there was no one about but there was no where to sit for lunch because the tables and seats were all claimed by the day trip divers stuff all left on tables and chairs.
The price was very good for all we got. The Paradise hotel which is next door and we stayed at about 6 years ago has changed nicely. It cost a little more but if you can afford the upgrade it seems to be a bit nicer then Matahari.
Oh and the massage that their gal gives, Rusty, is wonderful. She's great.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

We stoud 6 nights in Matahari Tulamben Resort. We liked our bungalow with the cozy mosquito net, the friendly staff, the amazing dives and the good food. We have been there for a one day one night trip two years ago and it was a surprise for us to see how many things changed. Really nice and cozy. Its a great place for divers with many different places for relaxing between the dives. Thanks to Mrs. Suci and her staff. We see us again.....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA

Address: Jl. Kubu-Abang, Tulamben, Bali 80853, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tulamben
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tulamben
#4 Family Hotel in Tulamben
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulamben
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With direct access to the beach, Matahari Tulamben Dive Resort & SPA offers an outdoor pool and a restaurant with stunning ocean views. Free Wifi Hotspot. The Dive Center provides convenient access to the Coral Garden and only 5 minutes walk to the USAT Liberty Wreck. Enjoy relaxing massages and beauty treatments in the lovely SPA.The homely Balinese-style rooms are all with private bathroom and equipped with either air conditioning or a fan. The low cost standard rooms have only cold water.The resort offers free parking, motorbike rental and laundry service as well as a tour desk for trip planning (included climbing).Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at beach restaurant, which serves appetising Seafood, Balinese Specialities, Indonesian and International cuisine.Transfer time from Ngurah Rai International Airport to Tulamben is 2,5 hrs and is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Tulamben Hotel Tulamben
Matahari Hotel Tulamben
Matahari Tulamben Hotel Bali
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.