We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA to your Saves list
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kubu-Abang, Tulamben, Bali 80853, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Tulamben
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My family booked two rooms at this hotel during the Lebaran vacation 2013. We stayed for 2 nights. Although if you read the details below, you might wonder why I gave this place 4 stars. It is for the great value. We booked standard room so the room was not that impressive. The bed has mosquito quilts so it was mosquite safe.

Pro:
1) the room price was very reasonable and it includes breakfast
2) the sea is just in front of the restaurant so it was very nice to eat and hear the waves crashing to shore. Although it can get windy though.
3) diving is just in front of the hotel with Liberty wreck a few meters to the left of the hotel.
4) prices at the restaurant was a bit cheaper compared to the other hotels/restaurant.

Cons:
1) the standard room has no view at all. We did not realize this when we booked the room. Next time, we are getting the bungalow.

I will return back to Matahari next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    116
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
33
114
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Flores, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Today we finished our 7 days stay in Matahari Resort, it has been the third time that we have been there...and already planning the next one!...and why do we keep going there?

1. Best location in whole Tulamben area. Is just by the water, with an amazing coral garden (+ very balinese artificial reef) just in the front (between 5 and 8 seconds walking from the restaurant/diveshop/swimming pool...depending on the tide :-); 5-10 min walking to the famous Liberty Wreck (the porters are going to bring your tanks+bc+regs for you, no worries); 3-5 min walking to a really good muck dive site with a really rich and deep drop off (again, the porters carry the heavy stuff for you).

2. Diving: as said, perfect location for all that divesites just at the hotel's doorstep; also in the beach besides the hotel, there are a lot of small boats that can take you to other awesome divesites (5-15 minutes boat ride)...the resort can arrange it for you. Perfect If you want to dive by your own (with a buddy obviously), when you want without depending on boats' schedules, other people,...The corals are amazing and you have big stuff like school of massive bumphead parrotfishes, barracudas, turtles, sharks...but we love the place for the macro: lots of ribbon eels, ghostpipe fishes here and there, lots and lots of weird nudibranches, frogfishes, razorfish, spanish dancers....bring your camera!! (oh, and as diving instructor I would love to teach Open Water courses: classroom, diveshop, swimming pool and 4 divesites all in a radio of 5-10 min walking!)

3. The rooms are perfect for the price that you pay: balcony, AC, hot water, WIFI, cleaning and changing towels and sheets every day,...and really quiet.

4. The staff is really nice and helpful. You get real smiles all the day long, and you don't need to wait for anything, there is going to be always some employee or intern ready to help!

5. Dive shop and dive staff: as we were carrying all our equipment and we were not using guides, we can't talk much about them underwater, but seeing them around, explaining us what they found, where to find the nice things, helping....sure they are really good. All of them are really friendly and professional, specially Didi, always checking that everything is OK, talking with everybody, giving tips, and really concerned about the environtment and the way that lots of people (and lots of diveguides -in Indonesia is a big problem-) dive, touch things,... We didn't use the equipment, but we could see that lots of the BDCs, wetsuits,...were (or at least, looked) brand new.

6. Food: really good (from the indonesian to the western), not expensive and, again, probably the best (or one of the best locations in the place) right by the water! The breakfast (included) is awesome and with a lot of food (you choose from a menu between different options).

7. Spa: had a balinese massage and was great for the cozy atmosphere and the girls doing the massages; really relaxing and professional!!

8. and what more?...well, Suci, the owner, always answer the emails straight away, take care of the bookings personally,...really good service also for it.

Can wait to go back there for a few more days of shore diving and relaxing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

First time to Tulamben, we stayed for 2 nights at Matahari Tulamben for diving and snorkling,
It was a great experience. The owner Mrs. Suci and all stuff was very nice and helpfull,
The hotel and food are good with affordable price,
Dive sites are great and the divemaster who guided me, Mr. Agus is experience and excellent.
We would recommen this place for all divers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Spent 4 days in Matahari and loved every single day!

Food was good, although not the best. Staffs are really friendly and smile a lot (that is a plus!)

Great dives just off the rocky shore. Dive masters are helpful and very knowledgeable.

It could be slightly better if the wi-fi signal was stronger, and the water pressure in the room and dive centers are stronger!

Overall, we had a great time and will definitely return to Matahari!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Matahari for one night, for the sole purpose of diving. The owner, Suci, helped us to arrange transfers from our previous hotel to the Matahari and from the Matahari to our next location for reasonable prices (400,000 each to/from Ubud and Nusa Dua). The diving was fantastic; offshore with porters that carried the tanks and BCDs! The liberty wreck was a short walk from the resort. We were lucky enough to have a very "private" dive, for no extra charge - only 2 of us with the divemaster (Didi)! I decided not to dive again and my fiance did the second dive alone with the divemaster. Food at the resort was very reasonably priced and delicious! The pool looked questionable in terms of cleanliness, however, I really enjoyed the many sun loungers available for my use. The room was basic, but great for the low price (approx $15 USD). We stayed in a twin bed room with fan, and that was more than enough; no need for airconditioning at all! The little front porch was also nice to relax in later on. The gear for the dives seemed really good (Mares full body wet suits, booties), but as we're relatively new divers, we don't know much about the equipment. Spa prices looked reasonable; albeit a little more than other places in Bali, but we didn't get a chance to use the spa. We definitely recommend staying here for diving!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our group stayed there from 11/8 to 14/8 for dive. Room, food, dive and service there were superb. Resort is walking distance for dive to the Liberty Wreck, shore dive right infront of the resort and on top of it the traditional boat dive experience was amazed as well. Underwater macro as good as Lembeh. Definitely will come back here again. Well done Matahari Resort team!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surakarta, Jawa Tengah, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the resort to obtain my SSI diving certification. It was a great experience. Everything from the airport pick-up to the final drop off was hassle free. Which if you know Indonesia is a fairly rare experience.

The facilities were clean and well maintained. The equipment was new or in like new condition. The room was comfortable and quaint. The food was good, and offered a good selection of options.

What really stood out was the staff. They were so friendly and accommodating to any needs or requests. You could tell that this was a family owned and operated buisness as the whole place had a wonderful family energy. You didn't feel like you were supporting some faceless corporation. The dive instructor was attentive and fully engaged in our learning and took a genuine interest in our progress. The front desk, restaurant staff were flexible and kind.
The owner Succi was professional and courteous from my first email to my final thank you email.

All and all I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who is learning to dive, or even just looking to dive in Bali. There is plenty to do an see in the water and offered a good variety.

My memories and piece of my heart will always be in Tulamben, and with the Matahari Dive Resort. Thanks again. Please keep up the excellent work.

Room Tip: Take the bungalow for a private patio, and an indoor seating area. And bring a book for downtime be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA

Address: Jl. Kubu-Abang, Tulamben, Bali 80853, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tulamben
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tulamben
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tulamben
#3 Family Hotel in Tulamben
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulamben
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With direct access to the beach, Matahari Tulamben Dive Resort & SPA offers an outdoor pool and a restaurant with stunning ocean views. Free Wifi Hotspot. The Dive Center provides convenient access to the Coral Garden and only 5 minutes walk to the USAT Liberty Wreck. Enjoy relaxing massages and beauty treatments in the lovely SPA.The homely Balinese-style rooms are all with private bathroom and equipped with either air conditioning or a fan. The low cost standard rooms have only cold water.The resort offers free parking, motorbike rental and laundry service as well as a tour desk for trip planning (included climbing).Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at beach restaurant, which serves appetising Seafood, Balinese Specialities, Indonesian and International cuisine.Transfer time from Ngurah Rai International Airport to Tulamben is 2,5 hrs and is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Tulamben Hotel Tulamben
Matahari Hotel Tulamben
Matahari Tulamben Hotel Bali
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.