We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful place in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cicada Luxury Townhouses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seminyak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Save
You added Cicada Luxury Townhouses to your Saves list
Jalan Pura Telaga Waja, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 305 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Hampshire, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Apart from being in such a beautiful place, these townhouses really do offer a luxury that I have never experienced before. Staff cannot do enough for you, the place is always immaculate and I've decided I would like to live here (in my dreams). Not cheap no, but worth every penny and more. Such a calm, tranquil place...just perfect!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CicadaManagement, General Manager at Cicada Luxury Townhouses, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review

We wish to extend our gratitude for your support of our work and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

Your review is noted and will be passed down to the staff for their acknowledgement of your kind words and appreciation of their services

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cicada

With thanks

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    49
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
74
143
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Second stay here, stayed in one bedroom next to the main pool, had outdoor bath and own plunge pool, love this place it is quiet convenient to walk to potatohead, la luciola, w bar, kudeta and others, room was clean and tidy, staff very friendly and always help to help out.
Free transfer was great, and so was the daily breakfast - always on time and tasted good.
A few to mosquito's, however they did spray daily which helped.
would defiantly stay again

Room Tip: Try to get a villa away from the main pool it might be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CicadaManagement, General Manager at Cicada Luxury Townhouses, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review

We wish to extend our gratitude for your support of our work and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

Your review is noted and will be passed down to the staff for their acknowledgement of your kind words and appreciation of their services

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cicada

With thanks

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnybrook, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have just spent 5 wonderful nights at in the Grand Residence from 20-25 Spetember. It was everything we imagined it would be and more. We were referred by a friend and booked over the internet with no problems at all.

I am not normally one to review the places I have stayed, but I feel compelled to share the love of this place. This was our first trip to Bali and we weren't disappointed.

I travelled with my husband, my 10 month old daughter, another couple, my mother and two of her friends (who were my babysitters while we attended a wedding)....7 adults and one baby in total.

The accommodation was just perfect. The pictures on the Cicada website - what you see is what you get. The rooms were always neat and tidy (they would come back later to service our room when the baby was sleeping). Breakfast provisions were provided, if we felt like eating in, we did, otherwise it was a short stroll to a restaurant. The Residence is in a very secluded area, away from the hustle and busy of the main drag.

The bedrooms were literally sound proof and as dark as you like, even with curtains drawn during the day....perfect for nap time for the little one. This would make a great place to stay for a family with toddlers too, with open plan living and the ability to safely shut off the pool area.

The service was excellent, nothing was too hard for Febri, Ria or any of the staff. We often used Cicadas transport service, complete with baby seat, for short and long trips and were not disappointed. Their prices were reasonable, the drivers were great blokes and spoke excellent english....Adi and Agung to name a few. We even learnt a little Balinese.

Staying at Cicada definitely made a great trip to Bali even better than it could have been.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CicadaManagement, General Manager at Cicada Luxury Townhouses, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review

We wish to extend our gratitude for your support of our work and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

Your review is noted and will be passed down to the staff for their acknowledgement of your kind words and appreciation of their services

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cicada

With thanks

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Without exaggeration, Cicada Luxury Townhouses headed by Febri (Customer Relations Manager) and his wonderful colleagues provide an understated, faultless and highly pleasurable experience.
The boutique style Cicada Villas are incredibly spacious with more living area and bedroom space than most Australian homes.
It is private and secluded whilst being walking distance to some of the best restaurants and shopping in Seminyak not to mention the spectacular Petitenget Beach.
Relaxing around the sublime main pool or private lap/plunge pools are one of its greatest assets.
My wife and I have found our home away from home and we will be returning again and again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CicadaManagement, General Manager at Cicada Luxury Townhouses, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review

We wish to extend our gratitude for your support of our work and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

Your review is noted and will be passed down to the staff for their acknowledgement of your kind words and appreciation of their services

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cicada

With thanks

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My family and I (all 14 of us) just returned from a lovely 5 days in Seminyak a couple of weeks ago where we stayed at the Cicada Townhouses' Grand Residence and Executive Residence villas. And we had the best time ever! From the moment we arrived it was first class service all the way. We were checked in speedily by the most helpful Febri (who had also been a source of excellent communication and reassurance during the course of booking the holiday over email). We were then whisked away to the 2 villas. These 2 villas are located about 0.5km from the main townhouses but it was just behind Seminyak Square which was so convinient to walk about and be in the middle of it all. The house were directly opposite each other so it was perfect for the big group of 14 of us to 'stay together'.
The houses are nothing short of amazing! Large living areas, huge modern kitchens decked out with everything you need. The Grand Residence had massive rooms with equally massive bathrooms. Each with their own pool and dining area. Pool towels are refreshed everyday and breakfast provisions for you to cook (eggs, bacon, croissant and sausages and full coffee machine). You can also order room service if you wish. I was constantly amazed at all the modern amenities and the abundance of space in each villa. Even with 7 people occupying each villa, we never felt 'on top of each other'. Every room has it's own TV and also a large flatcreen in the lounge room. Every room is fully air con or ceiling fan. It was heaven. The villas are fully serviced like you were part of the main hotel, and the service was spectacular. It's 5 star all the way and super clean. Unlike many other places in Bali, the villas didn't seem worn or too dated and I attribute that to the upkeep of the staff. A special thank you to Suar and Yoaman who looked after us over the 5 days. Nothing was ever to hard, and they were so helpful with general info everyday. Their patience and constant smiles made our holidays so pleasurable.... and let me tell you we were are a hard bunch to please. Free wifi all day. Amazing showers and some indoor/outdoor bathrooms. Mozzies were never an issue.

There were only a couple of minor cons, and for this reason I have still given both places a 5 star rating.
Cons:
- it can be hard for cabs to find the villas at night as they are tucked away in a small alley way. But after a day or two you are navigating around with no drama so it becomes easy. In the daytime we walked out to the main street with no hassle. Very safe and quiet. If you want to book a car through Cicada it's pretty cheap and their drivers are excellent.
- There is not a lot of 'lounging' space around the pools. Executive had only 2 deck chairs and Grand had none. It's fine if you are just in the pool, but I like to sunbake. Once again, a minor flaw.
- Executive Residence is a little bit older, and a few things are starting to show some age like wonky doors. Easily fixed

Without a doubt if you are a large family, or traveling in a group, these 2 residence are the way to go for complete luxury and no fuss holiday. And I feel for the service and large clean space that we got, the price is awesome!
Highly recommended.
Bali needs more villas like this!
I can't speak more highly!

Thanks again to Febri, Ria, Yoaman and Suar for making our stay so fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CicadaManagement, General Manager at Cicada Luxury Townhouses, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review

We wish to extend our gratitude for your support of our work and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

Your review is noted and will be passed down to the staff for their acknowledgement of your kind words and appreciation of their services

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cicada

With thanks

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spent 10 nights in a 1-bedroom villa with my partner and our 2 year-old and loved every minute of it. Cicada (pronounced "chi-char-da" for the taxi drivers) is located on a quiet lane just off the road between Seminyak and Kerobokan, in the Petitenget area and no more than a 5 minute walk to the beach. The villa comprised an outside deck with plunge pool, large living area with kitchen facilities and huge bedroom with TV/DVD and 2 washbasins. The shower and bath were outside (toilet was half-in half-out) but private enough not to feel uncomfortable. Most villas have the lap pool and sun loungers on their doorstep - and even though all the villas were occupied, the pool area never felt crowded.

Breakfast is beautifully served daily in your room and the choice is extensive - banana pancakes and tomato & avocado on sourdough were the stand-outs but everything was good. They also offer room service - order in advance if it's busy - and snacks and drinks are available via the minibar. Or there's a kwik-e-mart opposite the end of the lane on the main street (next to Petitenget restaurant).

The service was exceptional; all the staff were super friendly, very polite and great with kids. Nothing was too much trouble for them and the service felt personal - they called you by your names rather than Sir or Madam. The rooms and plunge pool are cleaned during the day and and turned down at night; bottled water is provided daily at the washbasins and the bedside (hot/cold filtered water is provided in the living area).

The free wifi was a bit hit-and-miss but was still sufficient for checking emails and restaurant reviews; Cicada is well placed for the area's best restaurants but if you prefer informal dining then I recommend Mano Beachside Cafe for sunset (next to Pura Petitenget temple) or Manta/Mantra up the road in Kerobokan.

If you're heading to Seminyak then I would highly recommend a stay at Cicada - it was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CicadaManagement, General Manager at Cicada Luxury Townhouses, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review

We wish to extend our gratitude for your support of our work and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

Your review is noted and will be passed down to the staff for their acknowledgement of your kind words and appreciation of their services

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cicada

With thanks

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Cicada is a setup of approx 10 townhouses which surround a large shared pool. In addition each townhouse has it's own pool, sometimes small enough to just be a plunge pool. We had walked past this venue on various other trips to Seminyak and decided it worth a try.

Cicada is very handy to a lot of the best restaurants and beach clubs Seminyak has to offer. KuDeTa, La Lucciola, Hu'u Bar, The Dining Room, W Hotel, Potato Head and many others are all within easy walking distance, so this is a very well located accommodation venue.

We were picked up at the airport by their courtesy van which is always a preferred option, however on this occasion we were collected in a unmarked fairly below-average minibus. This was not the welcoming "first experience" we were expecting having had seen their more suitable house transport vans on previous occasions. What made it even more curious was that two of the nicer buses were parked at the venue when we arrived.

Anyway, welcoming staff were very friendly, and throughout the stay all staff were exceptionally nice and helpful to deal with. They had kindly booked tables at our fav restaurants for us when I emailed them in advance, which is always so handy.

We were in townhouse #3, which was very spacious (probably 100m2) consisting of an entrance area after our gate in which the plunge pool was (approx 3 m x 3m) which led into a large living room with sofas', TV, stereo, dining table and kitchen. The high ceilings made this room quite impressive and pleasant to be in. That room led through to a very large bedroom suite, with outdoor shower and bath and toilet leading off that. The bathroom area was two separate wet areas with a sliding door opening out to a small garden where the bath was located. All amenities worked well, staff came and did the usual Bali evening turn down and mossie spray. Air con worked effectively but was noisy.

The bed was a super king and fairly comfortable,and nicely dressed. Artwork on the walls in both bedroom and living room was authentic Indonesian and well chosen. Overall the rooms were in good condition, although maybe showing just a little wear and tear in places.

At US$300 a night (incl taxes) it was a little overpriced. Have stayed in other villas (see my Aria review) for almost half that rate and had bigger private pools and just as nice finish. I guess were were paying more for the advantage of having a full kitchen and dining/lounge setting which we didn't really use. Cooked breakfast was included, and was a good one especially delivered to you room.

We used the inhouse massage/spa treatment service - won't do again as it was very expensive and no where near as good at BodyWorks around the corner. Noise from the main pool and other townhouses and the roadway was hard to ignore - don't expect a quiet relaxing experience here unless you happen to end up with like-minded guests next door. This place would be better for families rather than couples.

Would we stay again? No. Would we recommend it? Yes, if you were a family or planning on hosting a dinner and needed the full facilities these places offer.

Room Tip: I think it's worth paying a little more for the townhouse that's on the roof, better sun. we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CicadaManagement, General Manager at Cicada Luxury Townhouses, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your recent review
We are grateful for the time taken to do so.

With regards to your comments we do apologise for not living up to your expectation,: high season is certainly in a higher bracket price wise throughout Bali, if not the most of the Northern Hemisphere in my experience (August European Summer and School holidays).

This rate reflecting high season and peak in most establishments if not all is from 30 June - 15 September.
Our high season starts on the 1 Aug - 30 Aug and Christmas only to offer our guests competitive rates throughout the years. We are apologise that your dates did not allow for you to coming outside of these dates when Seminyak is at it's busiest and most expensive.

The room you stayed in is 179 ++ per night throughout the year. We carry out consistent research to keep our product and services competitive if not offering more and the information provided suggests for what we offer, we are certainly one of the cheapest in our category.
We do not know of any other Villa Complex with a 25 metre Lap Pool and every Townhouse having a private plunge or Lap Pool in the central Oberoi area located close to the destinations everyone wants to go to as you have kindly pointed out.

With regards to the mini van you have suggested, the Resort owns two Suzuki SUV's;
One is a service vehicle and the other is a Brand New Airport transfer vehicle.
In busy periods when we are perhaps picking up to 8 - 9 Townhouse Check in's at the same time, we must outsource this service to our Transport supplier.

We will have a word with them based on the information provided. I have never been personally disappointed nor have any of our guests complained to date regarding its lack of appearance hence we are somewhat surprised to hear this, however we are grateful for this information and will make amends as required to please.

We aim to please, thank you for your ongoing recommendation of our services and resort.
We are grateful.

With thanks
Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cicada Luxury Townhouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cicada Luxury Townhouses

Address: Jalan Pura Telaga Waja, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 305 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discerning luxury, located minutes walk to Petitenget beach, neighboring iconic restaurants in Seminyak, just 25 minutes from Ngurah Rai International airport. Cicada features 10 large townhouses in a unique serene complex. All townhouses are configured differently and have individual attention to detail. Each townhouse features the cutting edge in designer interiors and modern finishes. All have private pools but one. The complex has a 25 metre lap pool with outdoor jacuzzi as a centrepiece of the Resort ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cicada Luxury Townhouses Hotel Seminyak
Cicada Luxury Townhouses Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cicada Luxury Townhouses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.