We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cicada Luxury Townhouses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seminyak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Save
You added Cicada Luxury Townhouses to your Saves list
Jalan Pura Telaga Waja, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 306 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
perth, western australa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We have stayed at the Cicada main complex previously and loved it. This time we stayed at the Grand Residence Villa which is seperate to the main resort.

The Villa was spacious and accommodate three couples very easily. The pool is a hilight and the sofa is fantastic.

Location is great just at the back of Seminyak Square but it can be a bit difficult to find, especially at night and after a few Mojitos.

Only downside was the wifi was hit and miss and room service can take up to an hour.

Will be back again.

Room Tip: Get the front room overlooking the pool, has a spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CicadaManagement, General Manager at Cicada Luxury Townhouses, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review

We wish to extend our gratitude for your support of our work and we are delighted that you enjoyed your previous stays with us

Your review is noted and will be passed down to the staff for their acknowledgement of your kind words and appreciation of their services

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cicada

With thanks

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    49
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
74
143
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed in the Junior suite, for three wonderful weeks and it was fantastic. (We actually stayed there on Feb 2011, but it took me this long to write a review) It was double-storey, with a lounge/kitchen/dining area downstairs and a bedroom upstairs. For lazy people like myself, there was also toilet downstairs. Outside there was huge private pool with a mini fountain and lounge chairs. Delicious breakfast was brought to our room by very attentive staff, so all we had to do was walk downstairs and breakfast was served. It was only a short walk to the beach, milk bar, a taxi rank which just around the corner and some lovely restaurants. For my husband's birthday, we were given a complimentary scrumptious chocolate cake and a massage for two in our suite. Overall terrific! Definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CicadaManagement, General Manager at Cicada Luxury Townhouses, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you Thank you Thank you

We felt we had come under tyranny and were at a loss....

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and will return.

We are grateful for your review and more importantly that you enjoyed what we offer from the heart of the Balinese Hospitality.

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

this was our 3rd stay here after 2 exceptional previous stays , we were put in the new garden villa which while new was small and really not part of the complex, lots of mix ups , cold breakfasts, poor internet connection and little care, all a bit of as disappointment from a place held high by myself an partner , maybe when a place gets much to high ratings they forgot their core business, we wont be going back , lift your game again Cicada

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

As a regular customer and champion of Cicada, have always been a strong advocate for them. Well, not so much this time.

Stayed in the Garden studio on this occasion, which is much smaller than other rooms - with access outside the complex, and being on the street, is noisier and somewhat more isolated. Maybe this was the issue - as the stay was less than optimal.

Needed wifi because unfortunately had to do work (which of course is my fault), and it was worse than it ever was (not that my expectations were high) - flagged it several times with staff, and was mostly shrugged off - taken seriously once out of 4 times...

Ordered the in-room massage service which turned out to be a debacle due to lack of massage tables - the masseuses weren't happy, we weren't happy, and it was all a bit difficult.

Also - use of electric powered deodorisers near the beds... wondered what the smell was for 2 nights until I found them... headache making material.

Unfortunately for Cicada we had been at a wonderful resort in Lombok just beforehand, and maybe this tainted our view...

All in all, Cicada is a great spot and still rates highly for us... but the 'little things' have changed (or so it seems) and unfortunately probably won't return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CicadaManagement, General Manager at Cicada Luxury Townhouses, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent review and high rating of our Resort.
We also wish to thank you for your return custom.

With regards to the Garden Studio, it is a different product from the rest of the Resort although has full access to the Resort and is geared price wise. An upgrade to the townhouse you have referred to in the past would require paying that tariff. Having said that the facilities are the same. One is bigger than the other, is located within the main resort and is more expensive.

With regards to the Internet, the Staff are accustomed to the complaints of the Internet wavering and strength and always report it to the equivalent of our 'Bigpond' or whatever provider you use in Australia. Nonetheless, we are not in Australia, we don't have the bandwidth or strength available yet in Indonesia which is leased from Java by local providers. In short, there is too much demand for too little availability of bandwidth and signal and with all due respect, the staff are powerless to assist with that. They are not oblivious to it and feel upset for you, as they are powerless to change that for you.

The Resort pays for the highest bandwidth available with 2 satellite dishes. Our monthly fee to service Administration and our guests is in the Vicinity of 1500 AUD per month.
If there were one more efficient, we would pay for that too.

Once again, thank you for your review and return patronage to Cicada

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the two bedroomed townhouse, which was a delight, the rooms were clean, the decor modern and tastefull, all all appliances new and in working order, service was
Brilliant and breakfast was always on time and a perfect start to the day. The location is great and there are an abundance of restaurants near by. This villa comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

Unexpected trip with my parents to Bali recently, there were 5 of us in the group.
Cicada managed to accommodate us in a villa that encumbered all our needs. We had the pleasure of staying in the 3 bedroom townhouse which exceeded all of our expectations. It had a very large private pool and large family dining area which we made good use of being a large family.
Apart from the facilities and the villa itself, we made good use of the hotels 25m lap pool and outdoor spa.
We found the location to be really central to all neighboring restaurants, shopping and beach (Just around the corner from la lucciola).
The staff were exceptional in meeting all our needs and weren't too bad on the eye either :)
Can't wait to return again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole S, General Manager at Cicada Luxury Townhouses, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write the review and your recent stay with us.

Firstly i wish to thank you for your kind words and praise for our facilities and for the staff services.
These compliments will be passed on to them for their acknowledgement and gratitude.

We wish to take this opportunity for the over sight regarding the floor not being moped to our usual standard.
The staff have a rigorous routine to follow in each villa they service which is usually backed by a supervisor inspecting it. Perhaps on that day there were more check ins and outs than usual.
I understand that you brought it to their attention and i trust that they rectified the situation immediately for you.

Again, please accept our apologies in this matter.

As for the mattresses, we are at a little bit of a loss to understand as to where this did not suit, as the entire Resort was refurbished with new beds and down toppers; for the comfort of our guests less than 8 months ago.
We apologise that it was not to your liking and that it caused discomfort during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back and better accommodating your needs next time.

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Firstly we stayed in the Grand Residence which is not part of the main Cicada complex.
It is about 1km away, but closer to Seminyak proper.

We stayed with two other couples (Six people) in total and all three bedrooms were luxurious.
One has a huge bathroom and Spa.
One has two bed a Queen and a Single and a huge bathroom (Semi outdoor) with bath and shower.
The third has just an ensuite type but is still beautiful.

The pool is the highlight of the villa and is framed by a gorgeous garden and semi infinity pool.

Housekeeping comes every day for a couple of hours and they are very thorough (Dishes and all)

Main room has Plasma, Stereo and all bedrooms have own LCD TV

Great couch to lounge around on.

Closest restaurant is Grocer and Grind

You can order room service but it takes about an hour.

Would stay here again.

The downsides:
Hard to find. You will have to direct taxi drivers back to your villa or walk.
Breakfast is cook yourself (They provide eggs, bacon, bread, toast, croissants, jam) Orange juice is extra or you can order normal breakfast at a price (This takes about an hour)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cicada Luxury Townhouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cicada Luxury Townhouses

Address: Jalan Pura Telaga Waja, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 306 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discerning luxury, located minutes walk to Petitenget beach, neighboring iconic restaurants in Seminyak, just 25 minutes from Ngurah Rai International airport. Cicada features 10 large townhouses in a unique serene complex. All townhouses are configured differently and have individual attention to detail. Each townhouse features the cutting edge in designer interiors and modern finishes. All have private pools but one. The complex has a 25 metre lap pool with outdoor jacuzzi as a centrepiece of the Resort ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cicada Luxury Townhouses Hotel Seminyak
Cicada Luxury Townhouses Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cicada Luxury Townhouses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.