We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Amadelphous” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Bugis

Save Saved
You added Villa Bugis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Bugis
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   Jalan Drupadi | Gang Cempaka #14, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off last minute here!
Ranked #64 of 293 Specialty lodging in Seminyak
Darwin
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Villa Amadelphous”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Firsty, let me start by saying that the Villa Bugis staff are a very friendly, proactive and helpful bunch of people. I have absolutely no complaints as far as Villa Bugis employees are concerned, they were all wonderful!
However, Villa Amadelphous itself was a different matter and I cannot recommend that anyone stays at this villa until some major renovations are carried out. We had initially booked to stay at Villa Amadelphous for 10 nights, but only stayed for the first. (We were moved to another Villa Bugis property late on the second night where we stayed happily for the remainder of our holiday). Amadelphous is old, tired, run-down & in desperate need of a makeover. The furnishings, though adequate, are a weirdly mismatched collection of furniture & decorative items. For example - old bits of computers & stereos in the lounge that appear to have been dumped there, a huge print of a slavering, snarling T-Rex in one bedroom, 3 mismatched couches festooned with even more mismatched, shabby cushions stuffed into the living area, a huge egg shaped lamp on the coffee table that doesn't reach a powerpoint and...the piece de resistance.... a fridge disguised as a replica Golden Fleece petrol pump in the lounge room that is no longer working! The bathrooms were obviously suffering from repeated leaks as the paint on the walls by the basin was blistered and some of the cupboard doors were rotting. There was wifi connection, but it was too slow to be of any use and there was no telephone.
On the plus side, the pool was clean, the garden was lovely, the beds were spacious and comfy, the kitchen had everything you need (but again, a bit of a mishmash of cast-offs), the lounge/dining area was spacious and the breakfast on our first morning, prepared in our villa by friendly staff, was delicious.
Because of the pluses, we would have been prepared to put up with the negatives had we not had on-going problems with the electricity supply. I know, this is Bali and the electricity supply can be somewhat unreliable but ours was the only villa in the area that was without power both evenings. On the second night, the power was flickering on and off for hours, with the lights glowing a dim red. No power means of course no lights, aircon or TV (an inconvenience you might say for a short time) but it also means no running water to shower or even flush toilets as the water is pumped from the ground by electricity! When we managed to contact Villa Bugis staff (not an easy feat when there is no phone in the villa & they had forgotten to inform us that they have a security station not far away) they appeared promptly and spend quite some time trying to work out what the problem was but it could not be fixed. It was about 10pm when I suggested that they needed to find us somewhere to sleep as we were not going to spend the night hot, dirty and busting for the toilet! Once again, the staff were quick to respond to our request and within 15 mins a car was out the front waiting to take us to another villa. They even assisted with the last of the packing. At this stage, we were completely at the mercy of Villa Bugis staff - we had no idea where we were going, what our new villa would be like or even how long we would be able to stay there. I must say, where we ended up was a far superior and much bigger villa than Villa Amadelphous, in a very handy location on Jl Laksmana (Eat St) in Seminyak and we were able to remain there for the rest of our holiday at no extra cost.
I would happily book with Villa Bugis again, however, I would be asking a whole load of questions next time instead of relying on photos & write-ups.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    49
    13
    10
    5
See reviews for
100
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Villa Rama is part of the Villa Bugis group. We were very pleased with the 3-bedroom pool villa. Each bedroom had its own ensuite with outdoor shower. Air conditioning in each bedroom, although one bedroom's air conditioning wasn't as effective as the other two. Breakfast was cooked and served to us each morning in the villa at a time convenient to us. The pool itself was sensational and 4 sun lounges that folded down flat and a market umbrella were ideal. (not all villas I looked at had sun lounges that would go flat to sunbake).

The security guard would call us a taxi whenever we wanted one and the villa driver, Kutut drove us to Ubud for the day, stopping at a silver shop and a village of many dalongs along the way. He also drove us to a village where the rice terraces were clearly viewed, and to the Monkey Forest as well.

The only things that could be improved upon considering Villa Rama is 4.5 star is the lounge cushions could be renewed and the roof of the mosquito nets on all beds were covered in dead insects. The villa is down a very narrow laneway which has a lot of pot holes, so most taxi drivers expected double the amount than what was on their meter due to the inconvenience. This didn't bother us too much, but Villa Rama would be perfect if it was better located.

Room Tip: Villa Bugis has many villas, so it is worthwhile checking the other villa locations first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at villa krisna throughout Christmas and new year. The accomodation is fabulous and the staff cannot do enough for you. It is well worth getting the staff to arrange a driver for the day. He will take you throughout Bali to various interesting locations for around £30 for the whole day.
One day our filter on the pool stopped working .....the supervisor came around to apologise personally and offered to prepare an evening meal for us to make up. One thing worthy of note is that the pool depth starts at 4ft 6in not ideal if you have small children
Worth visiting is water bom park in kuta if you have children or are a child at heart. Worth booking for dinner is ultimo
There is a trip in the Villa briefing which is an ATV tour - these bikes are not the best and the tour is extreme in fact scary in parts.....there are more tame ATV tours for sale in the street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The accommodation was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. Great location. Morning breakfast was done at a time to suit us and we were also asked the previous day what we would like for breakfast the next day. The Villa was spacious and well equipped. Air con and power cut out periodically but staff soon sorted it for us. Pool was a nice size and great for cooling off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent two weeks at Villa Kebun in September with our 2 young children (3 years and 1 year) and loved every minute of it. From the moment we walked through the doors into the courtyard, the service and facilities were exceptional - the cool drinks/towels, flowers, fruit, breakfast the first morning - they really had thought of everything!

There are three large self contained bedrooms complete with private bathrooms, TV's, good storage, safe and mosquito nets. We were here just as a family but you could easily have had two or three independent groups staying (with children) and not feel cramped. In the shared living space the kitchen/lounge/dining were very well set up for entertaining and were well equipped with all the essentials you need (including a great range of books, dvd's and kitchen supplied). There's a microwave for sterilising and heating for kids meals too. We thought the filtered water AND bottled water in the bathrooms was a great touch - in the end we were fortunate to not be affected by the water so weren't using the bottles for brushing our teeth but understand that other travellers haven't been so lucky so always good to be careful.

Our favourite part of the place was the pool and cabana....our idea of heaven! We spent many a day, lounging aruond and keeping ourselves cool and it kept our children well entertained. There is no fence around the pool but for parents with young children, there is the option to have a temporary fence installed (at a fee) which is good to have.

The staff were amazing. They service the villa everyday and were so wonderful to our children and friendly. We used them for babysitting a number of times of an evening and our kids loved them. They were also fantastic for providing recommendations on where to go for food, shopping and general directions.

The villa is located in the heart of Seminyak's shopping district but far enough away from the nightlife to be very quiet and peaceful. It's a short stroll to the beach and other amenities such as spas, grocery shopping, good restaurants etc. To be honost, it's difficult to find fault with the place!

Overall, we had an absolutely amazing family holiday and would strongly recommend it as a paradise destination for anyone looking to unwind. There's plenty to do for those who are active and alternatively, if you want to laze around and relax, you always have the option to stay in the villa 24/7.

Thank you for providing such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The 4 bedroom villa was very private that was beyond our expectations. The Villa Sayang we booked is all on its all. There was not reception to welcome you, but the villa itself.
The small pool, not very child friendly, was enough to lounge and laze around all day.
The very spacious master suite was great with outdoor shower. So were the other rooms. The one bedroom was separate from the main building.
Breakfast time was arranged so they arrived at the specified time and cooked in the kitchnette. The full service kitchen was easy to use and well stocked.

Staff was very friendly, like most of Bali.

The living room and dining area - an open concept - was a tad warm. There could be a better ventilation. So it made us all stay outdoors, rather than watching TV all day.

Location - very near to Seminyak city center. Walkable to restaurants and shopping (if you like that sort of thing). Also a very short 10 minutes walk to the beach.
Will be coming back again. Soon. Very soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highett, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our group consisted of 9 girls, 7 of the girls had previously stayed at villas before and 2 hadnt.
The 7 girls had something to compare it too but I was one of the 2 that hadnt. The Villa we stayed at was "Gembira". The best part of this villa was the size of the pool and pool area. This is a 4 bedroom villa which sleeps 8 comfortably, but we had an extra person, so one room had 3 singles, we were assured there would be plenty of room, but that room was very squashy and the 3rd bed which was on the floor but very comfortable had no mosquito net so that girl was annoyed by mozzies all night, there were so many mozzies around this villa of a night time, we were supplied with mozzie coils but they did nothing. Even though I had a net around my bed and would spray the room before I still woke up every morning with bites, there were holes in the nets. This villa was quite spacious and nice but a little run down (it would have been very nice in its day) but now could use a freshen up. It appeared to be a little dirty. There were only 4 sunlounges supplied (which one was broken) and the cushions were dirty. The showers in each of the 4 bathrooms were terrible, pressure was terrible (i couldnt even wash shampoo out of my hair) and the shower heads need changing, the water sprayed all over the bathroom, this was the most annoying out of everything. All bedrooms were airconditioned but didnt work very well, they were set on 17 degrees but at night still couldnt sleep with anything on me. The position of the villas wasnt ideal, a bit of a walk to Bintang supermarket but I must the say by the end of it we got used to that. The security guards were fantastic, they would dink us down to the road if it was too hot too walk. I suggest taking a torch for night time lane walking and mayb e even a stick to fight off the pack of dogs that bark fiercly at you as walking past them, the security guards saved us from them. All in all would we stay there again, probably not unless a few of the issues were fixed up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Bugis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bugis

Address: Jalan Drupadi | Gang Cempaka #14, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 293 Specialty lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Bugis 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Bugis is an Integrated Property Management and Marketing services company that represents a selection of villa owner that we consider unique due to attributes such as location, service and facilities. Our executive team comprises of managerial level hotel professional with years experience in the field. This has enabled us to establish and maintain property quality as well as train our staff to provide committed and unobtrusive serviceVilla accommodation symbolizes an exciting new era in Bali’s tourism industry. Apart from obvious cost efficiencies, ample space and home like qualities; a villa holiday provides an opportunity to experience the delights of tropical living where guests are not isolated from the island and its people by the constraints of a hotel environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villa Bugis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bugis Hotel Seminyak
Villa Bugis Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Bugis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.