We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pool Area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Bugis

Save Saved
You added Villa Bugis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Bugis
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   Jalan Drupadi | Gang Cempaka #14, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 293 Specialty lodging in Seminyak
Highett, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Pool Area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our group consisted of 9 girls, 7 of the girls had previously stayed at villas before and 2 hadnt.
The 7 girls had something to compare it too but I was one of the 2 that hadnt. The Villa we stayed at was "Gembira". The best part of this villa was the size of the pool and pool area. This is a 4 bedroom villa which sleeps 8 comfortably, but we had an extra person, so one room had 3 singles, we were assured there would be plenty of room, but that room was very squashy and the 3rd bed which was on the floor but very comfortable had no mosquito net so that girl was annoyed by mozzies all night, there were so many mozzies around this villa of a night time, we were supplied with mozzie coils but they did nothing. Even though I had a net around my bed and would spray the room before I still woke up every morning with bites, there were holes in the nets. This villa was quite spacious and nice but a little run down (it would have been very nice in its day) but now could use a freshen up. It appeared to be a little dirty. There were only 4 sunlounges supplied (which one was broken) and the cushions were dirty. The showers in each of the 4 bathrooms were terrible, pressure was terrible (i couldnt even wash shampoo out of my hair) and the shower heads need changing, the water sprayed all over the bathroom, this was the most annoying out of everything. All bedrooms were airconditioned but didnt work very well, they were set on 17 degrees but at night still couldnt sleep with anything on me. The position of the villas wasnt ideal, a bit of a walk to Bintang supermarket but I must the say by the end of it we got used to that. The security guards were fantastic, they would dink us down to the road if it was too hot too walk. I suggest taking a torch for night time lane walking and mayb e even a stick to fight off the pack of dogs that bark fiercly at you as walking past them, the security guards saved us from them. All in all would we stay there again, probably not unless a few of the issues were fixed up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    50
    13
    10
    5
See reviews for
102
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We a family of 5 stayed here with another family of 5 and there was plenty of space! Pool was great too. Read a previous review and took our docking station for music. Breakfasts average, ok if you like eggs and more eggs. I have stayed at other villas before and as a general rule the maid service is generally more obvious. I really hate to say this but not a lot of disinfectant appeared to be used around the place. We stayed 8 nights and I don't think the bed linen was changed. The actual position of the villa wasn't ideal either, quite a trek to walk out to the main drag and taxi's really struggled getting down the lanes to get you home at night. Having said this the villa is very nice and good value for money!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just returned from 10 days staying at Villa Sayang part of the Villa Bugis group in Seminyak and cant stop talking about how great it was.
We have 2 children, 2&1/2 & 5&1/2 years old, and would never stay in a resort again! Having your own private pool in a beautiful secure area that is private is great with kids and as a mum not having to cook,clean or make a bed the entire time was bliss!
Staff were excellant and nothing was ever too hard for them to do even if language was a problem.
Would highly recommend it and am planning on returning to Bali in 2 years with more family and friends and would definately stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our 2nd stay in 2yrs with villa bugis, this time we had villa intan for 7 nights during September. Once again, we could not fault villa bugis staff, they are fantastic, cooking breakfast and dinner, cleaning was done in an unobtrusive manner, transport with no dramas, villa was fantastic with 3 large bedrooms, 1smaller bedroom and bathroom, and tv room... Only negatives was tv in only one bedroom, with tv/lounge room upstairs which also slept 2, no tv downstairs in lounge. Tv in smaller room downstairs but no DVD or indo sat connected, we just hooked up a DVD player for those in that room and tv in pool bungalow with indo sat, would have Ben better with TVA and indosat in all rooms, very minor negatives. Villa is also right down the end of a long gang, and approx 500meters to the road, then approx 700meters or more to laskmana or abimanyu to get food, shopping ect.. definately worth paying the dollar or two each way, just make sure they have the meter on. Otherwise villa was outstanding, fully stocked, and with additional items that we had requested upon our arrival. Highly recommend Villa bugis, and can't wait to return again. Pictures don't do this gorgeous place justice, love it :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at Villa Ginger for 10 nights in early September. Villa was great - all three bedrooms were reasonably spacious and each had their own bathroom and indoor and outdoor shower. There is a communal area with a lounge and dining table, and a kitchen should you want to do any cooking. Pool was excellent, there was also a spa attached to it but we didn't really use it.

Staff were really lovely and come in each morning to make you breakfast. I wouldn't rave about the breakfast, it's okay - we had bacon, eggs and sausage for the first few days but got sick of this and asked for pancakes and the staff were more than happy to do that for us.

There was one major downside to the villa - the noise. Every single morning we got woken up by a dog barking right next to the property. It wasn't just a few minutes of barking - it could go on for hours. It was basically impossible to sleep past 6.30 in the morning if you didn't have ear plugs - and even then I could still hear the dog. We mentioned it to the staff one morning but I'm not sure there was much they could do about it. It's unfortunately something that put a bit of a dampener on the holiday for us - loved the facilities and would love to go back - but unfortunately would look at staying somewhere else next time just because of the dog.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just back from a great family holiday in Bali. Stayed at Villa Darma Bugis. The rooms were large and very comfortable. Very close to an amazing shopping area in Seminyak. The staff were very courteous and accommodating. Would recommend this villa to anyone looking for a family holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms were very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed in Villa Gembira and LOVED it! Don't be alarmed as you are driven down a long rough looking (even a little rubbish strewn about) lane to the Villa (3 groups of us arrived separately and were all nervous as we came down) because the Villa is spectacular!

The pool is large and beautiful! Water the perfect temperature! The grounds are spacious and the nicely maintained. The Bedrooms were lovely and a good size. Nice outdoor bathrooms. (Only complaint would be that the outdoor part looks a little run down and walls need a repaint. No big deal though and still lovely) Two bedrooms with Queen/King? Beds in the two guest houses have baths and showers. Two bedrooms beside dining/living area have twin beds and just a shower.

The location is great! Easy 10 min walk to beach. Ku de Ta probably only 15 min walk away on beach. Plenty of restaurants close by. Bintang Supermarket easy 10 min max walk away. Eat Street an easy 25? min walk away, or very short, cheap taxi ride.

Staff were absolutely lovely! American Breakfast is basic (eggs, bacon, sausage, toast and fruit) but tasty enough. Indonesian breakfast of Nasi Goreng or Mei Goreng with Fried Egg on top was super yummy! Great having a water cooler!

Couple of minor things to be aware of was that only one room had a blow dryer, and speakers on sound system are blown. Thankfully I am lucky enough to have a Bose Portable dock/speaker system that I brought with me, so I was fine.

Would recommend Anomali or Corner Store on Eat Street for amazing coffee of very high international standard. Lacalaca is a FANTASTIC fun, yummy mexican restaurant to go to.

Totally recommmend this villa to stay at. The pool is truly spectacular, grounds amazing and location excellent! Price is very good too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Bugis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bugis

Address: Jalan Drupadi | Gang Cempaka #14, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 293 Specialty lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Bugis 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Bugis is an Integrated Property Management and Marketing services company that represents a selection of villa owner that we consider unique due to attributes such as location, service and facilities. Our executive team comprises of managerial level hotel professional with years experience in the field. This has enabled us to establish and maintain property quality as well as train our staff to provide committed and unobtrusive serviceVilla accommodation symbolizes an exciting new era in Bali’s tourism industry. Apart from obvious cost efficiencies, ample space and home like qualities; a villa holiday provides an opportunity to experience the delights of tropical living where guests are not isolated from the island and its people by the constraints of a hotel environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Villa Bugis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bugis Hotel Seminyak
Villa Bugis Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Bugis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.