We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back in a heartbeat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Jardin Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Jardin Villas to your Saves list
Le Jardin Villas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Sarinande No 7, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Would go back in a heartbeat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

I will start by saying that these villa's are an amazing place to stay and the service was sensational.

We stayed in a 3 bedroom Villa #7 with 4 of our friends (another couple and 2 singles) for 8 nights over the xmas/NY period. We where greeted at the airport by our friendly driver who gave us cold, peppermint towels and water before we got into the bus for our 30 minute trip to le jardin. It is true that the villas are down a laneway. The laneway actually backs on to the rear of the Soffitel so there are lots of people at all times of day and night so i was never concerned for my safety. There where 3 staff to greet us at Le Jardin when we arrived with a welcome drink and frangipani la i. We where checked in fast and shown to our Villa.

The villa took my breathe away. We all stated that it looked like it was out of the travel show getaway. We stepped over a butterfly made of petals to walk across stepping stones over a pond to enter our open aired villa. There was a master bedroom, a separate pavilion with a king bed and two single beds upstairs. The rooms where huge, very clean and smelt of peppermint. The baths had been filled with petals and there where petal hearts on the beds. All the bathrooms have an open air element, especially upstairs where you can sit on the throne and look straight out onto the balcony and day bed.

We decided to eat in that night and had the spring rolls and nasi goreng. Sufficed to say that those dishes came to our villa at least once a day for 8 days. The in-house food was good value and tasty. The breakfast was plentiful and always on time - they even came later one morning when they discovered we where all still sleeping! Not only do you get breakfast, but the table is set for you and water is provided.They also ring to remind you to place your breakfast order - which we forgot every night!!!!

We can not say enough good things about the service. Wayan and his crew are polite, helpful and aways willing to chat to you about what you need. As you can imagine a group of 6 people have alot of needs. So whether it was more bacon, a broken glass, more bottle openers, champagne flutes, lilo's for the pool, mosquito coils, beer, restaurant bookings, driver bookings, tours, advice or just a chat these guys didi it all with a smile and a laugh. They certainly made our holiday fantastic.

The hotel shuttle was made available to us on all occasions when it was in the hotel and drove us to Jimbaran bay and Nusa Dua. Just a hint the back seat has no air con vents so try to get the front or middle seats.

The location of the villas is about 3 minute walk to the beach, 10 minute walk to the main shopping strip of Seminyak and about a 1 minute walk to the first restauraunt. We hired some scooters to help us get around, however taxis are super cheap. The shopping is amazing and if you like home wares like i do you will be in heaven. My bag was 26kg on the way home laden with lots of goodies for the house.

We had our included seafood BBQ on new years which was fabulous. The staff then invited us to the beach to watch the fireworks which was a really nice thing for them to do.

Things I loved:

The service
The modern open aired feel to the Villa
The fact that you did not have to share any facility with anyone else
Hardly any noise from neighbouring Villa's
The pool
The open aired bathroom
The red room, a bar up the street
The Bali Spa - a short walk to get your nails and massages done
Lying on the day bed reading a magazine with a beer
Shirley Lane. A short walk from the Villa towards Seminyak on the first corner. I got two pairs of leather sandals and a beautiful bag hand made for me here for a 1/4 of the price i would pay at home. The owner is really nice. All of the girls on the trip ended up with something from here.

Things I would recommend:

Take insect repellant for after dark in Bali
Be careful on the villa footpaths in the rain, they are slippery
Get a local to light your fireworks on the beach
Get a driver for the day to take you to Ubud, talk to the staff about where you want to go, we ended up with the best table in the house at Jimbaran Bay
Go to Tenah lot - a great temple in the sea and great to watch the sunset - lots of people though - go up to the viewing deck bars to get away from the crowds
Ask for the mini bar to be cleaned out at the start of your stay
Dont be afraid to dial "0" if you need something
Ask for more bottle openers, 1 for each room and 1 for the kitchen
Have your included massage in your villa. The spa is next to the kitchen and a little noisy
Get some scooters and travel around the island, watch out when you return them when they try to tell you you dented it!
There is a supermarket on the main street in Seminyak, the one around the corner from the Villa is double the price

Thankyou Le Jardin for making our Bali holiday one to remember. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    72
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
88
158
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

Stayed at Le Jardin Boutique villa in November with our two young children ( 3 and 4 ). villoa was lovely, from the villa entrance which has stepping stones over a fish pond, though to the open plan living.... and I mean open cos the downstairs only has 3 walls and opens onto the pool area. This is not practical if you have two young children. My husband and I had the master bedroom and the children slept upstairs. We slept with one ear open all week, fearing that the children would come down during the night and fall into the pool !!! Also, the upstairs bathroom is open onto a daybed area, which overlooks the pool. The fencing is not safe to say the least, especially with young children, so we worried about them when using the bathroom!!!

Although I would not recommend this for families with young children, it would be wonderful for a romantic getaway. Husband and I had their seafood barbecue in our villa, which the staff "dressed" for the occasion, and the food was wonderful. Also the spa treatments were simply exquisite.

The staff could not do enough to help and shuttled us around the Seminyak area. They were lovely and caring with the children. Would definitely recommend Waterbom Park for children of all ages.

As this was our first time in Bali, I was glad we chose Seminyak, and would definitely stay there again, but would stay in a more appropriate accommodation for the children.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

Just returned from a short stay at Le Jardin with the husband and another couple. The pickup at the airport was smooth, and we were greeted by the staff with flowers and iced drinks when we arrived at the Le Jardin and led to our villas right away. There isn't much of a lobby or a grand entrance, the hotel is situated at the end of a little lane, with a small reception area serviced 24-hours a day.

The Villa: We booked a two-bedroom villa for the four of us. While the villa looked pretty much the same as the photos, some of the furniture did look rather old. The bedroom on the ground floor was spacious and well furnished, but the one on the upper floor was rather cramped and much more basic. The bathrooms for both rooms were large and clean and pretty much in the open, but you'll get used to that after a while! The pool was lovely, big enough for the four of us to lounge in and even for short laps. Breakfast was served every morning, you tell them your choice and preferred time the day before and it will be brought to your villa as instructed. The choice was rather limited, but it was pleasant to have a leisurely breakfast in the villa as you plan out your day. The air conditioning for the bedrooms was rather weak, and due to the fact that the living area on the ground floor is an open concept, you get insects and the warm afternoon sun. We would have preferred it if we had the option of closing up the living area and having it air-conditioned when the heat was just too much. The staff were great, always polite and friendly but never intrusive, quick to attend to every request and even dropped us off at most places quite readily.

The location isn't too bad, it's a 10-minute walk to the beach, and a bit more than that to the food places. But taxis are cheap and you can easily rent a scooter to get around. After visiting Kuta and other crowded areas, I must say I prefer the Seminyak area, and the beach is lovely and quiet as well.

Overall a pretty pleasant stay, but considering the price and the high quality of other resorts and villas there, we'll probably try something else the next time. Kudos to the excellent staff though!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

Le Jardin Villas is located on Jl Sarinande, a strange kind of back street, running between what used to be known as Jl Oberoi and the street with the Sofitel at the bottom of it. Due to its narrowness, they have a kind of human traffic light at each end of the street. Most of the hotels down there are in what I can only describe as a ‘compound’ – probably a result of when the land was carved up some years ago. Few of the streets in the Seminyak area appear to run in straight lines and we got lost numerous times, trying to find the hotel by scooter or on foot! Having said all that, the location is great for 2 reasons: 1) there’s a shortcut that will take you to the beach for sunset in 5 minutes; 2) if you inform the hotel staff in advance and they are not busy elsewhere, the hotel will lay on a free shuttle for you.

Our initial impressions were that the management of the place was a little shambolic, with a reception staff who lacked training and local knowledge. On arrival, we checked in to our room, showered and were ready to go out. We needed a lift and asked for the shuttle into town. The receptionist couldn’t find any of the hotel shuttles, didn’t know the restaurant we wanted to go to or the street it was on and didn’t even have a map! We got there in the end, but the episode didn’t fill us with confidence. On another occasion, we asked a different receptionist where we might find a bookshop and asked for directions to a spa, which she had recommended. She gave us completely inaccurate directions to the spa and recommended a shopping centre, which turned out to be a duty-free emporium with dollar prices for Japanese tourists in the middle of nowhere. After a total fiasco with a taxi driver, who took us through traffic jams to rack up the meter and then dropped us 25 minutes walk from where we wanted to go, we were a bit frustrated. Even more so the next day, when we found the spa ourselves and noticed a bookshop directly opposite. You could say that we were victims of the Balinese tendency to try to be helpful, even if you don’t know what you’re talking about, but coming from a hotel reception, I felt this was just irresponsible. The room service staff were much better.

We had a free upgrade to a 2-bedroom pool villa, which was unbelievably spacious. The only time we went upstairs was for our inclusive spa treatment and to sit on the roof terrace. The best thing about our villa was the private swimming pool, probably 4 x 8 metres or so – fantastic to be able to go for a dip at any time, with or without costumes! The water was a good temperature and very refreshing on 31 degree days. The living area was massive with an open-plan kitchen (we didn’t use it, but there are plates, cups and a few cooking implements if you feel so inclined), dining and seating area with flatscreen TV. The bedroom is large too and has sliding doors from where you can also jump into the pool! Large wardrobes, chaise longue and dressing table complete the furnishings. Now the weird bit – the bathroom is half inside, half outside – if it actually rained, which it did on a couple of nights – you probably wouldn’t get wet sitting on the loo, but the rain would splash back onto you. In the evenings, staff came in and lit mosquito coils and plugged in electrical mosquito deterrents, so insects in the bathroom didn’t seem to be a problem.

Breakfasts weren’t bad, although it seemed difficult to get a boiled egg right! Good selection of teas and fresh fruit drinks. The inclusive Indonesian lunch was good, but the barbecue slightly bizarre – I had understood they would do it in our villa area, actually they do it kind of behind reception then deliver it to your villa. The staff will decorate your gateway and light your villa with candles, which is very atmospheric, unfortunately the food was not that great. For the starter, they served what seemed like about 20 plates of salad, before the main course of snapper and prawns. They were pretty good, but there was so much salad garnish, what a waste!

Our package also included a 2-hour spa treatment – full body massage with essential oils, followed by body-scrub and a rose-bath. It was incredibly relaxing, very enjoyable and the therapists seemed well-trained. Nice to be able to have this in the comfort of your own villa.

Seminyak was our second port of call after a wonderful stay in Ubud and I would say two things. First of all, we found the Balinese in Ubud more openly friendly than those on the south coast. This could be connected with the effects of heavier tourism in the south. I heard that there are many Javanese plying their trades in Kuta/Seminyak. Staff did seem to warm to guests with time, but generally were much more reticent, perhaps due to their training. They were responsive though, for example, I asked about the surround sound system in the rooms before going out in the morning and when we returned the hi-fi had been replaced and was fully operational. Our rooms at Le Jardin were more expensive than the much better hotel we had come from in Ubud. I don’t know if that is the general trend in Bali, but I always find it hard to accept paying more for something which is not as good. The manager seemed to notice that perhaps we were not over-the-top satisfied and things seemed to improve with tables being reserved and a surprise cake on my birthday (nice touch).

It wasn't essential for us, but the wireless internet didn't seem to work properly. I commented on it a few times, but nothing was done to fix it.

Although the villa was cleaned everyday, it needed a little sprucing up and a really good scrubbing in places. A couple of wall lights were hanging off at odd angles and that kind of thing. It just felt that standards had been allowed to slip. I think with better overall management and perhaps a slightly modified staff-guest dynamic Le Jardin could be excellent.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

After staying in budget accommodation in Kuta we booked a week at Le Jardin Private Villas, Seminyak and wow what a step up. The villa accommodation there is amazing and I just wish I could have picked up the villa and brought it back to Perth with me, the accomodation is amazing and looks as good if not better than on the website. In saying that the service, although lovely, was not quite as good. And really I am being picky here but there were a couple of instances (major one being a lack of internet service for the first 4 days) that let the accommodation down, but again I'm being picky. In all we had a lovely stay highlighted by the amazing villa and surrounds and would recommend Le Jardin to anyone wanting to upgrade when staying in Bali.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

We stayed at Le Jardin in a 2 bed 2 bath villa in November. Every aspect of our stay was brilliant. The staff and service they provide are exceptional and nothing is too much trouble. The villas themselves are spacious, clean and completely modern. The meals delivered to our villa each morning and one evening were excellent. My husband and I are often disappointed with the quality of accommodation we have booked online - but not this time!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Arriving at Le Jardin was just magic! It was everything we imagined and more!! The villas (we stayed in villa 9) are heaven on earth. Very private, pristine and beautifully decorated- somewhere we very happily called 'home' for 10 days. Darma, Yessi and staff were just wonderful and catered for all our needs. Villas were kept very clean. The in-villa dining was lovely, so much so, that we were happy to eat in rather than go our on some occasions.
I would highly recommend Le Jardin to everybody and i know that when visiting Bali, we will never have to look at accomodation again- it will always be Le Jardin!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Jardin Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin Villas

Address: Jalan Sarinande No 7, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Jardin Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the natural beauty and tranquillity of Seminyak, and developed on 4000m2 of exotic landscaped land that includes seasoned rainforest trees, Le Jardin encompasses an unsurpassed backdrop in which to enjoy a tropical retreat. Its nine two-bedroom and two three-bedroom villas are fully self-contained. The resort’s setting features five star luxury facilities and a service area to support all villa operations.Le Jardin’s design concept accommodates privacy, comfort and opulence with all villas featuring a spacious private pool and garden, outdoor living atmosphere and dining area surveying the swimming pool, garden area and lavish bedrooms complete with en-suite semi-open air bathroom.All of Le Jardin’s delightful villas come with the same open-air concept. Pretty glass doors entice you to enter the spacious areas complemented by warm and elegant dark wooden furniture, marble tiles downstairs and wooden floors upstairs, and leather woven sofas that match the stunningly carved black dining table. A token of our management’s creativity are the rattan ceilings and villas dubbed the names of tropical flowers. All odours from in-house blossoms to bath foam and shampoos release the scent and, therefore, the properties of that specific flower. This gives each villa a personal character. Rattan is usually used for furniture and floor mats but our audacious designers have taken it a step further, making the villas look innovative and stylish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Jardin Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Jardin Boutique Villa Hotel Seminyak
Le Jardin Boutique Hotel
Le Jardin Boutique Seminyak
Le Jardin Villas Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Jardin Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.