We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kayana Bali

Save Saved
You added The Kayana Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Kayana Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Petitenget, Kerobokan Kelod | Kuta Utara, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% Disc & Free Massage
Ranked #16 of 96 hotels in Seminyak
Perth
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Stayed at Kayana for 2 nights in early October 2009. From the moment you arrive at this resort the thing you notice the most is the exceptional service. From the front desk staff to the turn down service everyone is genuinely interested in making your stay enjoyable and memorable.

We chose a pool villa for 2 adults and 1 child. The villa is about 75 sq m and is separated into a living area with flat screen TV and DVD player and a large bed complete with mosquito net. The bathroom area includes a double vanity, shower and toilet and separate bath. There is a split system air-conditioning unit in the villa. The pool, complete with sun deck and water feature, is at your doorstep along with a small covered dining area. Our villa was located about 150m from the check in area – a nice walk amongst the beautifully maintained gardens and villas or there is a buggy always available to transport you.

You can choose to eat your breakfast and complimentary afternoon tea at the Dauh restaurant or in your villa. A good range of food and drink is available and was always beautifully presented. Not always piping hot, maybe due to the distance between the kitchen and the villa, but no complaints.

The staff is exceptional. From being treated like royalty upon check in to arranging reservations or transporting you to/from local restaurants, shops and spas. And everyone seems to know your name!

The villas are located on Jalan Petitgenet in northern Seminyak just up the road from Hu’u bar and Nutmeg restaurant, the Living Room (over-rated), Body Works spa (very reasonable prices), the Samaya, La Lucciola and The Legian hotel. Ku De Ta (well worth a visit) and eat street are just a 5 minute drive away.

We stayed at the sister resort, the Samaya, last year and as far as I’m concerned the Kayana wins hands down for value and service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    105
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
49
261
15
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We booked out stay at the Kayana through Booking.com, which i use regularly now and is always very reliable.

After a week in Sanur and a few nights staying in Ubud, my boyfriend and i arrived at Kayana. It is perfectly located a short walk from some of the trendiest restaurants (The Living Room and Hu'u, and very close to Ku De Ta), and has a immediately calm atmosphere. The rooms are all individual buildings with high walls, making the each room incredibly private. We were really blown away, the private plunge pool can be heated and our garden had a beautiful Frangapani tree. Also in the garden was an outdoor seating area where meals can be served for you (far nicer than in the restuarant).
The rooms are very spacious, with everything you would expect. Excellent quality bed linens with mosquito nets. I love the ipod music dock - great touch.

Wonderful modern design, DVD players, free drinks in the mini-bar.. Just makes life so much easier. I always feel cheated when you are charged a fortune for cheap drinks in the mini-bar after paying so much already!

I made good use of the free shuttle service, with awesome friendly drivers who know all the hot spots.. just let them know when you want to be picked up and they were there!

What i especially loved was being able to feel as though i could spend all day in the hotel without having to leave. I used the spa there alot, and only went out really to get food (i wasn't a fan of the resto - very basic).

I would have the music playing from my ipod in the background and be reading a magazine by the pool while i'd been abandoned by my boyfriend, who took off every day to Sanur for kitesurfing).

From here we stayed in another similar set up hotel just down the road, which was alot more expensive - and other than having bigger private pool - i was far more impressed with the design, quiet, internet quality, staff and set up at Kayana. Would stay there again over anywhere else in Seminyak!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

This is my third time staying at The Kayana and it has been great like always. Nothing has changed since the last time i was there. But there is one thing missing, my butler Sari Joe have moved on to another place. So sad that i did't have her as butler anymore, best service anyone could ever hope for from her, more maybe. A service from the heart. Keep it up you guys. i will be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

WE stayed here from sept 1st through sept. 4th and enjoyed every minute of our stay! We were mighty impressed by the cheerful and very professional staff, from Reception, Driver, Butler, Pool Boy etc.
The service was great great great. Their driver will take you anywhere in the Seminyak and Legian area. Breakfast was served every morning at the time requested and I cannot believe there have been people complaining about their breakfast! This Was very tastefull and plenty to choose from! We requested a villa with lots of sunshine which they provided, we had villa 816. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

smashing little villas with their own courtyard and perfectly private pool.
the staff is attentive and gracious. frangipanis everywhere. tranquility and privacy are central to everything here.

the location is fine. a little outside of the bustle of seminyak, but with the complimentary car service around the area, that's not a problem at all. the fact that it's not actually on the beach is something you know up front, so shouldn't be expecting. it's only 10 mins walk, in any case.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kayana Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kayana Bali

Address: Jalan Raya Petitenget, Kerobokan Kelod | Kuta Utara, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kayana Bali 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kayana is the one of the preferred villas in Seminyak, boasting a reputation for quality accommodation at agreeable rates. The 24 separate villas are positioned just off a winding pathway, flanked with frangipani trees and tropical foliage. Surrounded by pristine gardens and rich in the rewards that fresh open air brings, a stay at The Kayana offers guests total privacy and tranquility. The Deluxe Villas is featuring a plunge pool as well as an outdoor dining and lounge area. Pristine gardens run throughout the pathways offering seclusion and tranquility. Moving further, each unit of their Pool Villas is featuring a spacious 28sqm pool with outdoor dining and lounge area with pristine gardens. All of the 24 private villas is stocked with double canopy king size bed, air condition, wireless connection, safe deposit box, a plasma TV and more. The Kayana is situated close to Potato Head, Huu Bar, Kudeta and surrounded by good restaurants and boutiques. Just 15 minutes by walking to public beach and 20 minutes by walking to Seminyak center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Otel, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Venere and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Kayana Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kayana Bali Hotel Seminyak
Kayana Bali Seminyak
Kayana Bali Hotel Seminyak
The Kayana Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kayana Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.