We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but.......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kayana Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Kayana Bali to your Saves list
The Kayana Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Petitenget, Kerobokan Kelod | Kuta Utara, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great, but.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

After a lot of research and visits on our last trip to Bali, we settled on Kayana for this trip as we love the locations and the property itself. I booked well in advance an specifically requested a 'quiet' room away from street noise, and nightclub noise in particular, as I had read reports about the nightclub out next door. I also requested a 'sunny' villa in order to be able to sunbathe by our plunge pool. So, after a late arrival into Bali and a mass of people at the airport, we finally arrived at Kayana. We were made to feel welcome and registration was quick. We were escorted to our villa and I was surprised that it was close to reception, but said nothing as we were tired. All was running along smoothly until Thursday night arrived and the Nightclub started; the music plays constantly from about 9pm to I think about 4am. Obviously we had no sleep that evening, so I went to reception the following morning to request a room change. Unfortunately the property was fully booked so we could not be moved. I explained that I had made specific requests prior to arrival which were noted, but obviously were not met. There also was no sun over our plunge pool, so no sunbathing in private. I was unhappy with the outcome and stated as much, but all that could be offered was a move to another property, which was not an option for us as we liked the position and the tranquillity (other than the loud music). We were offered earplugs which we accepted, but these hardly made a difference. So, for another two nights we had to endure the noise, and thus no sleep!
Staff were apologetic and sincere, but I was unhappy nonetheless. I asked for a discount on our room rate to compensate, but was offered only a small amount, so asked for other benefits such as free laundry and a massage which which was agreed upon. We enjoyed the next couple of days until check out day arrived, and once a gain we received another blow; no late check out possible as property was fully booked! I had requested this also in advance, but to no avail. I must say that I was once again unhappy as our flight was until midnight! All they could do was offer us a room for a few hours at another property which I would have to pay for; there was no way I would pay even more than I already had agreed to. I asked what else could be done so that we wouldn't have to leave, so they offered us a shower in the spa later that day; not ideal, but at least we could stay until departure. We had our complimentary massages and were met by the resort manager afterwards who apologised but said there was not a villa available, and we would have to check out by 1pm at the latest as our villa was expecting an arrival. He offered us another massage which we declined, but offered us a complimentary lunch which was appreciated. We spent the remainder of the afternoon around the property and outside in the area, and when it was time to shower and go for dinner before our departure, we noticed that the villa we had stayed in was not occupied, and even up to 9:00pm when we finally left, it was still unoccupied.
We are very frequent visitors to Bali, and Seminyak in particular, and I must admit this is the first negative review I have written about a property. We are an easy going family and appreciate the kindness and hospitality offered by the Balinese, which is why I found this experience so disappointing. I was only in Bali for 6 nights, and because three of those were sleepless, I have come home more tired than when we arrived! My advice to anyone planning a stay at Kayana is to request a villa in the high teens/twenties well away from the front of the property; obviously this can't be guaranteed as was our experience, but request nonetheless. Apart from our negative experiences, the property itself is lovely and serene, and even when at full occupancy, you rarely see another guest. The butlers are great and so happy when they deliver your breakfast each morning; they couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast was good and plentiful with more than enough options to choose from. The villas themselves are lovely and well set out; the main pool area is also nice, and the complimentary afternoon refreshment a nice touch. I would gladly return to Kayana, but only if my room request could be guaranteed!

Room Tip: Request a villa as far away from reception as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayanaBali, Sales Executive at The Kayana Bali, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from The Kayana,
We do trust this email finds you well..

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation while stayed in Bali and spared your time to gave us suggestions.

As on behalf of The Kayana, we would like to send you our deepest sorry for the inconvenience that we caused you. We always try to satisfy our guest and deliver the best services that we could give.

We also very thankful for every comments and suggestion that you gave. Please do let us still have the opportunity to serve you better in the future, as we know have the project to avoid the noise.

Should you need assistance in the future, please do let us know.

Thank you.

Best regards,

The Kayana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    111
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
52
274
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The staff were so helpful they gave us such an amazing holiday 120%. Best service we have ever received. They helped me organize a surprise for my husband and they exceeded my expectations they made it so special, even more than I expected. It was like a surprise for me too. This holiday will never be forgotten.



Thank you so much!!!

Love Aimee & Mr. Jorge

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayanaBali, Sales Executive at The Kayana Bali, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Aimee & Jorge,

Warmest greetings from The Kayana,
We do trust this email finds you well..

Thank you for choosing The Kayana as your preferred accommodation while stayed in Bali.
We would like to express our sincere gratitude to you for spared your time to gave compliment on Trip Advisor.

It was a great honor to served you here and our team all over were also happy anytime while had you at our property.
Please give us another opportunity to serve you here at you convenience time.

Should you have another assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Thank you.

Best regards,

The Kayana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the villa. It is perfect for a honeymoon. We love your finishing touches to meet our every need like beach bag, slippers and umbrella.

Your location is also ideal and easily accessible to nearby amenities. We will definitely recommend your villa to those we know! Thank you for the wonderful accommodation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayanaBali, Sales Executive at The Kayana Bali, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from The Kayana,
We do trust this email finds you well..

Thank you for choosing The Kayana as your preferred accommodation while stayed in Bali.
We would like to express our sincere gratitude to you for spared your time to gave compliment on Trip Advisor.

It was a great honor to served you here and our team all over were also happy anytime while had you at our property.
Please give us another opportunity to serve you here at you convenience time.

Should you have another assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Thank you.

Best regards,

The Kayana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We just spent one night at The Kayana, and the staff and management were very accommodating and nice! We originally had planned to stay for a week, but the noise level was too much for us. The W is situated right behind the Kayana, and the road leading to it generates a lot of car, truck and motorcycle noise. Obviously this can't be controlled by the Kayana, but we were in Bali six years and our villa was in a similar situation, so we barely slept. After having a conversation with the staff at the Kayana they kindly agreed to our early checkout. We sincerely appreciate their effort! We wished that the traffic noise didn't bother us, and we could have stayed. It is a beautiful property and the location is near the beach, shopping and great places to eat. If you want to have a cup of coffee or juice, I recommend you head across the street to Mantra.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayanaBali, Sales Executive at The Kayana Bali, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from The Kayana,
We do trust this email finds you well..

Thank you for choosing The Kayana as your preferred accommodation while stayed in Bali.
We would like to express our sincere gratitude to you for spared your time to gave compliment on Trip Advisor.

It was a great honor to served you here and our team all over were also happy anytime while had you at our property. We are very sorry for any inconvenience that we caused you. Pleased to inform you that we now have project for the noise issue.
Please give us another opportunity to serve you here at you convenience time.

Should you have another assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Thank you.

Best regards,

The Kayana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a villa with plunge pool for 3 nights at the Kayana.

Liked...
1) the shuttle service to anywhere you wanted to go within Seminyak. The drivers were always available to take us to wherever we wanted to go.
2) the fantastic breakfast which we had served to us for 2 out of 3 nights. Having breakfast in the privacy of our villa was great.
3) the villa and plunge pool - if you just want a dip in the pool, a plunge pool is more than enough for you. Bed was ok and liked the his and her sinks.

Didn't quite like...
1) the service by the receptionists especially Rai (not as helpful as she could have been)
2) the mosquitoes in the room on second night kept us awake. First night was fine. Advice is,if you see more than 2-3 mosquitoes, call recep to fumigate your room (don't take any chances like we did and don't think that the mosquito netting will save you from a bloodbath - literally)

Other tips:
Check out amo day spa across the road - an ok spa but nice vintage clothing
Don't change money from unlicensed money changers along the roads even if they offer you better rates
Go to potatohead which is just 10 min walk away
Go to espace spa - great spa!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayanaBali, Sales Executive at The Kayana Bali, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from The Kayana,
We do trust this email finds you well..

Thank you for choosing The Kayana as your preferred accommodation while stayed in Bali.
We would like to express our sincere gratitude to you for spared your time to gave compliment on Trip Advisor.

It was a great honor to served you here and our team all over were also happy anytime while had you at our property.
We are very sorry for any inconvenience that we caused you during your stayed, we will try our best to work on it in order to serve you better in the future.
Please give us another opportunity to have you here at your convenience time.

Should you have another assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Thank you.

Best regards,

The Kayana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Excellent staff, very helpful. Courtesy shuttle to Seminyak area. Good brekkie. Nice pool. There's a hair salon opposite the villa. Spa at the hotel also good. Was a nice stay indeed. Would've been nice if the wi-fi is faster. Was a hassle trying to get connection.

Room Tip: Choose a villa away from the road. Noise from the nightclubs are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayanaBali, Sales Executive at The Kayana Bali, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from The Kayana,
We do trust this email finds you well..

Thank you for choosing The Kayana as your preferred accommodation while stayed in Bali.
We would like to express our sincere gratitude to you for spared your time to gave compliment on Trip Advisor.

It was a great honor to served you here and our team all over were also happy anytime while had you at our property. Pleased to inform you that now we have project to avoid the noise issue.
Please give us another opportunity to serve you here at your convenience time.

Should you have another assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Thank you.

Best regards,

The Kayana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I was stay in here a few years ago when I had a business trip to Bali.
If you want to see Indonesia's building design, you can stay in here. I acknowledge that the building of Kayana Villa is reflects to typical tropical building in Indonesia. One of the characteristics typical of Indonesia tropical buildings is a lot of window openings.

So for those of you who want to experience living in a tropical country, you can stay here.

Room Tip: Please book on their web site, http://www.thekayana.com/
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayanaBali, Sales Executive at The Kayana Bali, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from The Kayana,
We do trust this email finds you well..

Thank you for choosing The Kayana as your preferred accommodation while stayed in Bali.
We would like to express our sincere gratitude to you for spared your time to gave compliment on Trip Advisor.

It was a great honor to served you here and our team all over were also happy anytime while had you at our property.
Please give us another opportunity to serve you here at your convenience time.

Should you have another assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Thank you.

Best regards,

The Kayana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kayana Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kayana Bali

Address: Jalan Raya Petitenget, Kerobokan Kelod | Kuta Utara, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kayana Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kayana is the one of the preferred villas in Seminyak, boasting a reputation for quality accommodation at agreeable rates. The 24 separate villas are positioned just off a winding pathway, flanked with frangipani trees and tropical foliage. Surrounded by pristine gardens and rich in the rewards that fresh open air brings, a stay at The Kayana offers guests total privacy and tranquility. The Deluxe Villas is featuring a plunge pool as well as an outdoor dining and lounge area. Pristine gardens run throughout the pathways offering seclusion and tranquility. Moving further, each unit of their Pool Villas is featuring a spacious 28sqm pool with outdoor dining and lounge area with pristine gardens. All of the 24 private villas is stocked with double canopy king size bed, air condition, wireless connection, safe deposit box, a plasma TV and more. The Kayana is situated close to Potato Head, Huu Bar, Kudeta and surrounded by good restaurants and boutiques. Just 15 minutes by walking to public beach and 20 minutes by walking to Seminyak center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kayana Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kayana Bali Hotel Seminyak
Kayana Bali Seminyak
Kayana Bali Hotel Seminyak
The Kayana Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kayana Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.