We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Gado Gado

Chez Gado Gado
Jalan Camplung Tanduk (formerly Dhyanapura ) 99, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 736966
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 291 Restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, French, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Seminyak Beach front Restaurant Chez Gado Gado offers an exciting new concept in modern and contemporary European style dining in a relaxed, yet stylish environment. Surrounded by a beautiful outdoor deck dining area complete with pergola, Chez Gado Gado offers uninterrupted views across the Seminyak beach and Indian Ocean. It is a perfect setting for romantics and special occasions. Our cuisine can be described as eclectic with a mix of European and Indonesian an Asian items while offering a relaxed and casual service during lunch time. Dinner time provides a slightly more formal and professional service that matches its European style menu with local flavors. Chef Quirijn Rademaker proves his creativity by creating an innovative culinary journey with clean finishes. While we are a casual fine dining restaurant, proper attire such as shirt (no branded tank tops/singlets/T-shirt) and footwear, will be required in fairness to all of our guests. Bookings and reservations larger than 8 and no smoking requests will be prepared inside our dining room. Parties of 12 or more adults requires an assigned set menu so that the flow of service for all of our guests is not disrupted. Outside tables will require a reservation and will be set per weather permitting.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Went to Gado Gado for Dinner last night and it was amazing. Myself and three others enjoyed an entrée, main and desert (all of which were excellent) + drinks all for 2.1m IDR (about $200 AU). The value was fantastic (similar style restraint in Melbourne would be at least $500-800 AU).

Atmosphere was great, it was right on the beach front and the dinner area was very elegant. The service was excellent too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    277
    93
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food in beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My friends and I were staying close by at The Breezes and were advised it was lovely and we were all thrilled with the view, the value, the service and the fabulous food we were served. It was a memorable meal for all of us. I loved my pasta taster as a starter and was really impressed with the presentation of the 5 glasses of seafood sampler. I had the pork 3 ways and it was truly memorable. The service was subtle and efficient and was the only place we all had dessert - delicious!! The tables around us were all impressed too. Good value for such great food for Aussie travellers. Would go again for sure when next back in Bali..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“On the high end but still good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A very fancy night out for a special occasion. The service and food are hard to beat, I personally had the red snapper which was coated and cooked to perfection, like I always say try what the restaurant or area is famous for, that way you should always come out on top.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Get there! Get there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Chez Gado Gado delivers. The setting is fantastic, surrounded by large trees and overlooking the beach, and the service and food are excellent. There is also a pretty good wine list which covers most bases. My partner and I ordered starters - excellent - and terrific mains of Pan-seared Groper and Pork 3 ways “guling” style. We were smiling! The side of rice was the best we've tasted. We learnt later from the lovely chef who visited our table that it was organic Juniwati red rice. Who would have thought! Our dessert of Valrhona chocolate melted cake was exquisite. The prices are slightly high by Bali standards but great value for Australians. And don't forget to check out the classy rest-rooms.
One quibble and one tip. We booked our table on-line from Australia and the restaurant confirmed our booking. However, when we fronted, we were told we had no booking, until a search of their email messages confirmed our correspondence.
Finally, a tip. Our experience would have been near perfect if smokers were separated from non-smokers - a simple thing, really. The four diners on the adjacent table were heavy smokers and we suffered for it. That's why we've marked down 'atmosphere'.
Still, we'd happily return to Chez Gado Gado.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a lovely meal here in late August. The food had a fantastic mix of indonesian flavours with european techniques. I loved the "deconstructed" Gado Gado and my partner had the pork 3 ways and was in heaven. Setting stunning too

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Gado Gado also viewed

 

Been to Chez Gado Gado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Gado Gado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.