We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great. Architect designed. Best Location. 5 Star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Sentosa

Save Saved
You added Peppers Sentosa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Sentosa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pura Telaga Waja, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 89 hotels in Seminyak
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Always Great. Architect designed. Best Location. 5 Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Have stayed at Sentosa close to 15 times. Every time its fantastic. The villas are in the best location in Bali close to all the world class top restaurants (Sarong, Metis, Mozaic, Mamasan, Sardine), good wanky bars (Potato Head, Ku De Ta, Hu'u), beauty salons (Amo spa), designer shops (Magali Pascal), etc. If you go to Bali for the cosmopolitan scene that it offers, you will want to be near all these things. The villas are architect designed and have that 5 star hotel feel (Asian opulence), not that cheap & nasty feel (grimy blue tile, sandstone, pebbles stuck to concrete walls) that some villas claiming to be 5 star have. The villas also allow for privacy so you don't have to share your pool, nor see any annoying guests if you choose to. (My sister once got punched by a Frenchman at the Padma in Legian for sitting on a chair by the pool which he said was his- people like this can be avoided by the fact you will have your own private pool). The menu is good and the lobster club sandwich is something which I crave when I am not in Bali. I have ordered the carpaccio close to 20 times and never got sick. The cocktails are nice too. Try the Evo Juice.

They clean the rooms twice a day/ do the clean up in the morning then come to turn the beds at night. This adds to the luxury. I am annoyed that they downgraded the water sizes in the room to small. This is the only downfall. Also more attention to cleaning the glass in my shower would have been nice.

The spa is lovely. Get the man because some of the ladies are hit & miss in the massage department. Ask for the stronger masseuses & a room upstairs!

Pros: Location, style of villas, private pools, ratio of staff to guests, black stone in pool, Bali-slate on outside of each villa, huge private bathrooms which don't look cheap, architect designed villas, great menu, lobster club sandwich.

Cons: Better cleaning of shower glass needed & floor mopping in bathroom needs to be more thorough, downgraded waters to small, bits of furniture with marks (however when we stayed at the 2nd best suite at 'the Legian' they had marks on the furniture there too- probably comes from people with kids).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "old part" or "original villas" they have real grass thatc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sentosabali, Manager at Peppers Sentosa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear fiona2b

Thank you for your review and feedback.

I was delighted to read that that you return regularly to Sentosa Seminyak, and enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We appreciate the constructive feedback and we will definitely be looking into them. You might like to know that we are currently in the planning stage of a refurbishment that will refresh the villas, as well as upgrade a number of our services.

We look forward to extending once again the warm Sentosa hospitality to you on your next visit to Bali.

Yours sincerely,

Sashi Rajan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    58
    23
    7
    10
See reviews for
77
48
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay at sentosa. The villa configurations are fantastic and provide privacy even though your travelling with others. The location is a little out of the way but nothing a scooter can't fix... Staff are extremely friendly and helpful and always doing all they can to ensure you enjoy your stay. On the downside we ate and had drinks just once at the restaurant which unfortunately was not so great, management need to address this! as they are surrounded by many great eateries it only highlights the flaws in their chefs culinary skills and staffs ability to make nice drinks. The villas themselves need a little TLC or reduction in price as they have grown tired. Having said this we would most certainly stay again but avoid the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sentosabali, Manager at Peppers Sentosa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear MitchandDee

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are happy to learn that we have met most of your expectations.

We appreciate your constructive feedback about our restaurant and bar. We are currently looking into an exciting new food and beverage offering as well as in the planning stages of a villa refurbishment programme.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sentosa Seminyak when you next visit Bali.

Yours sincerely,

Sashi Rajan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at Sentosa a resort and spa back in October 2012 and again in January 2013. I enjoy the added luxury of your own villa and privacy. Each villa is enclosed within its own garden. The leafy green landscaped gardens are beautiful to observe whilst walking around the grounds. The rooms are huge your own living area boasts great features for such a simple design - own kitchen area and dining, with a 10 piece lounge suite. The rooms are immaculately kept. My preferred villa of choice whilst in Bali. Will be back again in a few months.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here in 2011... Although our family holiday here all the time due to a family member owning a private villa here... I stayed here for a week with a group of girls, I was visiting my sister in Australia and my cousin owns a private villa here so we went for a grils trip. We travelled with Air Asia which was cheap and cheerful. Sentosa private villas and Spa is absolutely heaven on earth, the villa's are the ultimate in luxury and the staff are amazing... It is very safe and secure, and so very peaceful... If you're looking for a relaxing holiday in heavenly surroundings then this is the place for you... I was lucky enough to stay in the presidential 5 bed private Villa, and 5 bed literally means 5 individual Villa's surrounding an infinity pool within your own complex, obviously there were lots of extra's as stated this particular private villa is owned by a family member so not all the Villa's will have the same extra's but all the priavtely owned villa's are of the same high standard... If you love Bali you will love Sentosa, and you would be hard pushed to find anywhere in Bali as luxurious as this complex... Loved it....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We got a deal via a well known coupon website and had a week here in absolute luxury. The place
was immaculate, the staff unbelievably friendly and helpful. The food was great and the breakfast was ample to keep you going till afternoon!
We had a meal in our villa as part of our deal which was unreal! We really couldn't fault this place at all. Its normally out of our price range, but for us was absolute luxury and we didn't want to leave.
As it was our honeymoon they gave us complimentary champagne on our arrival and my wife's birthday a few days later was met with a personalised decorated cake and flowers

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed here with a group of 8 girlfriends. The Villas were beautiful, huge and catered for all our needs. The Spa was great value for money, i think they may have had a special on at the time. Rooms were very clean, breakfast was yummy! and staff were very courteous and friendly. The location was close by to lovely restaurants and a short walk to the beach. The stay was very relaxing and we all had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent 7 nights at Sentosa Villa and overall we did have a pleasant stay. The layout of the Villa was great, the staff were friendly, and 'team' of cleaners each day were perfect. The Spa was amazing, and the fitness centre was also good.

However for the price we paid you expect everything to be exceptional - not just ok, or pleasant. From reading previous and recent reviews it appears there has been cost cutting and it's often these small details that make a place or don't. Some of the detail we thought were missing:

- The towels at the villa each day were really old and tired. At one point four of our six towels had holes in them and I to return them to the front desk. From then on our towels were fine, but I would have expected fresh NEW towels from the start for a premium resort.

- The juice that was included in our breakfast was a sugary juice from a bottle. For a higher cost resort we expected fresh juice to be included in the price - not an extra.

- The coffee in our breakfast was also weak drip coffee and we were charged extra for a 'espresso' coffee - again, this is something that you expect to be included in a premium resort.

- The villa directory stated that the hotel runs shuttle buses to close towns, yet when I rang the front desk to ask about times they told me the shuttle had not been running for about 12 months?? Why did they still have it in the villa directory?

- Because the shuttle bus was stopped you need to get a taxi everywhere, and because the Villa's are not on main road you are charged a minimum of RP 25000. It's a really small amount but if the shuttle was running you would not have to wait for a taxi every time you go somewhere.

- The stereo that was supplied had no ipod input or dock. The staff were able to provide us with a new stereo that did have one - but again why was this not there from the start?

- The bedroom had a plasma TV in it, but our living room did not. This is a premium listing and we would expect this.

- The back of our mirror in the living room was peeling away leaving a brown fringe around the frame.

- Our fridge had a film of plastic peeling away near the handle.

- Outdoor cushions were stained with suncream and look very old.

As said above we had a pleasant stay, but getting the small details right at such places can really mean whether guests have a good holiday or an awesome one. This is meant to be a premium resort, but whilst we were there it wasn't, but your charged for it. It's a shame because when we booked all the reviews up until then were good.

Unfortunately, with the current rates I would not be able to recommend Sentosa. It certainly feels like there is cost cutting that means the details are being forgotten about.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peppers Sentosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Sentosa

Address: Jalan Pura Telaga Waja, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#35 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#36 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#37 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Sentosa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Sentosa, Seminyak is a world class contemporary and luxurious private villa resort in Seminyak on the southwest coast of Bali. Each one of our private villas boasts a private swimming pool and idyllic tropical gardens. Our team of attentive, yet discreet staff is dedicated to creating a truly memorable and luxurious experience which fulfills our guests' dreams and expectations of a holiday in the paradise of Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Peppers Sentosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentosa Private Villas And Spa
Sentosa Private Villas Hotel Seminyak
Peppers Sentosa Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Sentosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.