We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Seminyak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Island Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Island Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Sun Island Villas & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Seminyak 188, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 115 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Place in Seminyak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Sun Island provides you with clean, modern villas, a friendly, helpful staff, and a great breakfast selection. The shops are right there and the beach is not a far walk. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    66
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
28
168
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I booked a deluxe pool villa at $289 per night I don't believe we were provided with this room. Bathroom is in desperate need of cleaning, I bathed with my thongs on as a greasy film would rise in the water around my feet, tiles were grotty and an oddly placed outdoor shower which was not really outdoors, lined with old leaves from the small gap in the ceiling did not have hot
water. The floors in the kitchen need a good mop, they were greasy and slippery. The couch was a tiny two seater, which you could not lay on to watch a DVD you had to sit up and smelt horrible, lined with
stains. I have bigger bathtub at home which did not generate any ambience, hence I didn't get to enjoy a bath with the vintage most I bought! No sun entered the courtyard hence the pool was cold. No drinking water was supplied, nor tea or coffee. I had to pay $6 for wifi, which was slow and disgusted that this was not included for the amount we paid. I stayed at sky villa prior brand new amazing modern villa with all facilities, including a baby sitter for $175 a night.

On a positive note, the staff were brilliant, attentive and very accommodating. The idea of a villa in a hotel setting is great and the grounds maintained beautifully. Security guards were brilliant and always stopped traffic so I could cross the road! Great location if you want o be in the thick of the action.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nellypom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed in a pool villa and the pool was a tiny wee plunge pool that didn't get much sun. The room however was lovely. The bed was so comfy and it was a really big bed.
The restaurant was nice and the main pool was good for sunbathing at.
The location is perfect for shopping and restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Privacy, yet close to shopping and restaurants. Remember that most places in Seminyak are only a $2-5 taxi ride away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed at these Villas in Feb 2010 and returned with our daughter in Dec 2010. We paid for a roll a way bed but it wasn't set up. It took a couple of hours to arrive. We requested an extra lay out but was told no! As I had read about free upgrades we asked if it was possible to get an uupgrade as the villas were 3/4 empty. Only about 6 villas in use. Again no! We said we would pay but rate was at full price (over$80 p/n). As we were returning customers I felt they could have been more accommodating. At the end of our stay they tried to charged us $50 per night for the extra bed which we had already paid for in Australia.
Although we had trouble with reception we loved our stay and I feel the staff in restaurant, Minnie, Budy and Deewa etc were outstanding. Great location, loved everything else.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Fantastic location in the heart of shopping and resturants , needs a few little adjustments here and and there but other wise a nice hotel to stay at. Price is good , you get for what you pay for, friendly staff, breakfast average but location excellent.

Room Tip: book in quite season and you will be upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I shared a 2 bedroom suite with my three brothers. Both rooms were on suite with their own separate bathrooms, there is even an out door shower in the back yard, which I totally loved!
There is a lounge area on the first floor outside and garden furniture next to the pool in the front yard, and a lounge inside with a tv in the main room. This was perfect for us as we were numourous and could all find our own place when needed.
The pool in the garden is small, although we used it a few times for funs and giggles, we tended to go towards the bigger pool by the restaurant. There was more sun there and service so we chilled and orded cocktails. Very fun, we met some nice touists at the pool.
The resaurant food was really good. There was a large variety for breakfast.
Its almost like an island in Seminyak - so quiet and peaceful, as soon as you step out you'll find yourself in the heart of Bali tourism, a very busy, high traffic area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Island Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Villas & Spa

Address: Jalan Seminyak 188, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#28 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#36 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Island Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Sun Island Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Villas Hotel Seminyak
Sun Island Villas And Spa
Sun Island Hotel
Aston Seminyak
Hotel Sun Island
Sun Island Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Island Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.