We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meals and a brilliant chef” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urchin Bali

Urchin Bali
Jl. Laksmana no. 22 | Opposite Samaya Hotel, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 736319
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 290 Restaurants in Seminyak
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The newest addition to Seminyak's hub of wining and dining, URCHIN - Grill & Raw Bar offers a modern Australian style of seafood and more!
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic meals and a brilliant chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We recently went to Seminyak and had the opportunity to enjoy two wonderful meals at Urchin.

The first night we went there, there was unfortunately an island-wide power cut and the generators didn't kick in properly, so there was a delay of about 45 minutes whilst everything was sorted out. Ordinarily, we would have left and gone to find somewhere that had power, but we had already had our starters and were so impressed with the food that we decided to stick it out for a bit longer. During this time, the restaurant provided us with free drinks and the chef came round for a chat. Am glad we waited it out because the red snapper I had for my main course was one of the best fish dishes I've ever had. Perfectly cooked, crackling-esque crispy skin, fantastic flavours. The tartar cones to start with were seasoned to perfection and incredibly tasty. The chef also gave us a dish of salmon pastrami that he had prepared for another table who had left which was also delightful.

We then went back a few nights later and had another brilliant meal. During our time in Bali, we ate at most of the top restaurants - Mozaic, Bridges, Sardine, Metis, Fire etc - but this was definitely our favourite. I expect to see Urchin working it's way up the Tripadvisor charts very soon.

Can't fault a thing - the decor is lovely, service excellent and most of all outstanding food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    39
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“one more restaurant in the island”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Nice food but nothing special. Out hotel manager recommended us to go since we were nearby and we do not regret it, but the dinner was not as nice as we were told. Maybe we had very high expectations. We loved the bread (my gf bake bread at home and she was really impressed about it) but the rest of the meal was plain. Nothing bad, but just regular.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Just fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Loved loved loved this place! Fantastic food, great service & beautiful setting! Fantastic kid-free night out!
Highlights for me (apart from the food) were watching the chef and cooks prepare the meals & the special touches (such as the hand made crockery which were stunning).
Totally recommend this for a great meal & night out in a quieter part of Seminyak!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow, so glad Bali now has this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

From the outset we knew the evening was going to be good. Sitting down you're given beautiful bread with butter. You look over the the new slick clean kitchen, the staff were buzzing around. After being in Bali a few days, I always crave some fresh, healthy produce. This is everything, the sushi melts in your mouth. My favourite was the scallop entree. It was so good we went the night after as well!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Overhyped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Don't want to be a meanie but for both my boyfriend and I this restaurant is not worth the hype. It is no doubt a great restaurant but not mind-blowing, it's just another nice restaurant. The service was good, food was great, we all loved the bread and butter. Since it was close by the villa we stayed at, otherwise don't bother to go to the area just for it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urchin Bali also viewed

 

Been to Urchin Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urchin Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.