We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it...but....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bhavana Private Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bhavana Private Villas to your Saves list
Bhavana Private Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pangkung Sari, Banjar Taman, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Aston Bhavana Villas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it...but....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

Me and my hubby just got back from Bali recenty & stayed at this villa - it was highly rec ommended by one of my hubby's friends so we decided to try it out instead of going to a hotel -- Here' s what we both loved and disliked abt the villa :)


1) The staff were polite and accomodating. They were also very prompt with their service
2) Pricing for food was reasonble and not exhorbitant! However, yes, breakfast was a bit boring cos there wasnt much to choose from!
3) Loved the idea of themserving free tea from 3-5pm: It even came along with some tasty teatime snacks!
4) It was great hving the pool in the villa but hubby and me didnt even use it once! Firstly, it was pouring and virtually impossible to get in there with that much of rain....plus when it was sunny, the pool was filled with aot of leaves and flowers which had fallen frm the nearby trees! :( Perhaps, the mgmt can think abt installing a retractable shade ovr the pool so that guests can still swim despite the weather conditions.
5) Our utensils in the villa were plagued with ants!! Yes,huge ants and we had to get housekeeping to immediately spray some insecticide! We were a lil worried abt the hygiene cos they used the same utensils to cook our breakfast the next day!
6) Bathroom facilities were great too - u have the choice of showering the tub, outdoor or indoor.. :)
7) Yes, roads leading to villa is dingy and terrible. Uneven and even a lil scary! But all the great restaurants and even a mini-mart is just 5-8 mins away
8) Hotel staff also seemed reluctant to provide the free shuttle - saying that they only hv 2 drivers but we managed to get them to bring us to KUTA but had to take the taxi on the way back :S

Overall, I would rate my stay 3.5/5

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    44
    13
    16
    8
See reviews for
23
77
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

What you see on the website for Aston Bhavana Villas is a very accurate portrayal of the villas. It was fabulous having our own pool, chef for breakfast and, for the price (around AUD300 per night, peak season) one of the villa bargains of Bali.

However, you do get what you pay for and I would say that anyone wanting a 5 star villa experience would be disappointed - it was good value for 3 ½ stars. Small things like sheets and towels that were threadbare and that I would have thrown away at home; only one sun lounge by the pool (for a 2 person villa with another requested but not available); no doorbell on the villa front entrance so that staff had to bang on the gate and YELL to let us know that they were there which was almost impossible to hear if you were inside; poorly designed drainage and protection from the weather in the open areas so that minor flooding reached furniture and consequently there was severe rotting near floor level of benches, occasional tables etc.; dingy and dark kitchen area; very ordinary bathroom toiletries (I’m a bit picky about the quality of toiletries when you’re paying this sort of money) ; rusty soap container in the shower etc etc.

These were minor things for us and didn’t detract from the experience, but I’m sure that, for many people wanting a luxurious ‘villa’ holiday (regardless of the cost) these issues would have potentially wrecked their stay. I still maintain though that, for the price, this property is really good value.

The villas themselves are located about a 5-10 minute walk from Jl. Laksama (Oberoi) but unfortunately the street they are located on is a virtually unmade road, unlit, with potholes and rough edges. This was a nightmare after the one severe rainstorm we had and, if you have kids or are elderly, you simply would not be able to make that walk to the main street and would be forced to get a taxi. As it was it took us twice as long as we manouvered the, now full, potholes along with all the other traffic. Having said that, this is typical of other streets in Seminyak and other areas in Bali.

Overall, I would say that the villa website gives an accurate image of the villas but it will be important for many people to understand some of the things that detract from this property. Consequently, the attached photos are posted to consider in conjunction with the website photos.

  • Liked — Privacy, private pool, great bed
  • Disliked — Needs maintenance
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loveozasia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed in a 1brm villa with our 4 year old for a week after New Years Eve. This was a first visit to Bali but I am sure that we will be returning - and would have no hesitation in staying at Aston Bhavana again. To make this easy I am going to review in a like/dislike way:

LOVED:
The position is excellent - it is directly behind Sentosa and less than a 5 minute walk to Eat Street. We were originally going to stay at another villa but when we drove past later were so glad that we chose Bhavana - it is in a much better position.
Very close to all the great restaurants: Trattoria, Ku De Ta, La Luciola, Sarong, Cafe Warisan, Warung Sobat (is only short drive away) and all the ones near Trattoria (on Eat Street).
Walking distance to Cool Spa (best reflexology - our 4 year old fell asleep and had 2 sessions!) and Bodyworks.
Very comfortable bed - it seemed bigger than our King at home and we all slept very comfortably.
Best overseas cable TV choice I have EVER seen - normally you only get a couple of channels to choose from (1 news and 1 MTV!). This had about 35-40.
Lovely linen, big fluffy towels for pool and bathroom.
The Villa is gorgeous... not going to bother posting photos as will just duplicate other earlier reviews.
Staff were very friendly.
The privacy of staying in a villa but with hotel service.
The price - very good value for money in comparison with other villas.
The manager was really lovely and would make an effort to find out anything you had been asking about.
The babysitter they recommended - Alicia... we were lucky to nab her for 3 nights after another family left who kept her for 2 weeks. We had 3 lovely date nights which we thoroughly needed and enjoyed, worry-free!

DISLIKED:
Sometimes you had to really push the staff into giving you a drop off down the road etc, although this is a service they provide. I ended up after 2 'no's' just making a joke and asking if they were just pretending about the drop off service. After this we didn't have a problem - mostly because we hired a motorbike!
Breakfast got a bit boring and repetitive - we ate out 3/7 mornings as we got a bit bored with it. Lovely food, just repetitive. You will love it if you are an eggs and bacon kind of person but I got sick of egg, bacon, same danish, same jam, same fruit etc. We fed this back to them so they may spruce it up.
No use of outdoor tiles so can get a bit slippery after pool use or when it rains (when water pools at the back near the kitchen).
Don't use their VIP pick up service (it cost us $US40 p/p but was not the same level of service as other TA reviews; where they report about lounge and drinks while luggage etc is collected, we just had someone walk us through customs, buy the visa while we waited standing and then stood together waiting for luggage). That was a bit useless and a big rip off I thought.

By the way: I just wanted to mention an earlier review that someone posted about having to return toiletries. The little bottles of shampoo, conditioner, shower gel are on the bath and are ceramic - they are obviously meant to stay there. I have no idea how someone would think they could take them home???? Very very weird - especially as they still have a box by the sink full of normal hotel amenities... toothbrushes, comb, razor, sewing etc etc.

  • Liked — The location and pool (very clean and sparkling).
  • Disliked — Boring breakfast menu (we are foodies).
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

I love Bali very much, together with my husband and other couples, we always stayed in five star hotel. This time we want to spend in private villas instead. And we find Aston bhavana, perfecly located in prime area in Seminyak. we are very happy with this decision. The design is so cozy and the villas is so spacious, the ambience is so fresh, we could relax in our private pool, and having a chef cooked in our villas, the service is absolutely high end, we feel so special.
This experience could never been forgotten.

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

we booked to stay at the sesari in Jan 08 for aug 08. We booked well in advance to avoid dissapointment. We booked the honeymoon package & we were really excited to stay here as we had read all the reviews before hand & was delighted with our choice. on arrival in bali after travelling for 30 hours, our driver picked us up & handed us a letter. The letter stated that they had over booked & were moving us to another complex. we were transferred to the sun island resort. The sun island was a nice resort but no way near as nice as the sesari. We were deeply disappointed by this especially as this was our honeymoon. we didn't get the honeymoon package as requested. so we missed out on having our breakfast & dinner cooked for us in the villa. as a way of compensation they offered us a free massage! i was really gutted that this happened to us on our honeymoon & would warn other potential customers to be careful!

  • Liked — i would'nt know :(
Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

We chose this place after getting almost no response from any other villas during the peak season last July. Everything went well except for some breakfast issue we had on the second day and some problem on the last day. Take note of this, you have to fill in the breakfast form and give it to the hotel everyday or nothing will come for you the next morning. The staff was trying hard to be friendly but unfortunately they were not efficient enough. They didn't explain to us about the breakfast arrangement. Also, on the last day of our three-night stay, they made me open my luggage to return used plastic bottles of shampoo and soap! It was embarassing because we thought they were hotel amenities that you can take, surely we had no intention of stealing them! I have stayed in many hotels and never had this problem anywhere else before, so it was quite an awkward situation. Other than that the place was beautiful, surrounded by lush garden, a typical Balinese villa with private pool. Two nice staff will cook and serve you breakfast every morning. The area is quite secluded and rather far from everywhere so renting a car is recomended if you want to stay there.

  • Liked — the private pool and location
  • Disliked — the service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bhavana Private Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhavana Private Villas

Address: Jalan Pangkung Sari, Banjar Taman, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Aston Bhavana Villas)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#54 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#58 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bhavana Private Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The delightful Bhavana Bali offers sixteen delightful private villas set in immaculate walled gardens each with a private pool, a semi outdoor lounge area with a functional kitchenette, dining area and air-conditioned bedrooms.Modeled after traditional houses found in Bali and Java, the villas are built, furnished and decorated using local timber, tiles, fabrics and artifacts - blended with a modern-minimalist edge.Each has its own private pool, semi outdoor lounge with a kitchen and dining area. In the midst of fashionable Seminyak, the Bhavana - Private Villas are only minutes away from Seminyak beach offering daily spectacular sunsets which can be viewed from delightful beachside cafes and bars.Seminyak is also a world class shopping, dine out and nightlife destination with several of Asia’s best restaurants, bars and discotheques offering something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bhavana Private Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhavana Private Villas Hotel Seminyak
Aston Bhavana Hotel
Aston Bhavana Resort
Sesari Bali
Bhavana Private Villas Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bhavana Private Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.