We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lata Liana villas at Villa Kubu are the new Kings of Seminyak villas..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Kubu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Kubu to your Saves list
Villa Kubu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gang Plawa no. 33F, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 115 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lata Liana villas at Villa Kubu are the new Kings of Seminyak villas..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed in the new 5 bedroom & 2 bedroom villas at Villa Kubu with our extended modern family & close friends. The layout was so perfect for a group ranging between grandparents and toddlers. Bedrooms are enormous and sumptuous, all equally private with garden bathrooms, beautiful furniture (all made from a 100 year old schooner) aircon, huge TV's, DVD players music systems galore, kitchens everywhere and all the other mod cons we all love. This was our 2nd stay at Villa Kubu and this time we were able to have everybody stay with us. Kids had their very own 'Lumbung' castle to while away their days in fantasy. The Hollywood like swimming pool was the centre of activities (25 metres, lazer lights & fountains!) 'Southfork' style meals (we felt we were in an episode of Dallas!) were beautifully presented and scrumptious. Staff are as usual in Villa Kubu, Legandary and were on call 24/7 to look after our every need. The 5 minute meandering walk to the beach passed the horse stables was frequented by our entire group several times a day making our way to the fun beach bars scattered along Seminyak Beach. The sound of the ocean followed us home and we could clearly hear the waves from the poolside at night. We all loved our new Kubu experience and the value for money was simply brilliant. Our friends have booked to come back for 2 weeks later this year and we will endeavour to return before the new year. Well done Putu, Artini and your entire team for making us feel at home from home and treating us like royalty... Again...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Front Office Manager at Villa Kubu, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
I note this was your second stay with us and the owners and the operational team were delighted with your comments. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    49
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
68
121
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ubud
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My family used Villa Kubu in Seminyak as our base for exploring Bali. We were interested in seeing the different "personalities" of the villas (thanks Trip Advisor for the tip!) so we stayed in several of the villas (#3, #2, #0). They are all very attractive and the staff was consistantly outstanding. Features worth noting: possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in; fun, spacious and luxurious outdoor bathroom with soaking tub AND seperate shower with excellent pressure; and other luxurious additions such as pre-loaded ipod, breakfast cooked to order in your villa, great lounging sofas. Small kids (and their parents) liked the shallow ares of pool, being able to kick ball around "outside the villa" in the quiet courtyard and walk by themsleves to the Kubu Cafe. A few notable differences to help you pick the villa for you: #3 has bedrooms and living side by side, #2 has living space away from bedrooms which is good for parents/couples who want to play music, watch movies together etc without worrying about noise, #zero has indoor living room with AC etc but you can still be outside by the pool if you like. Also, Zero master bedroom is AMAZING - a whole floor of bedroom, dressing room, indoor bathroom, outdoor bath and bale for your personal use. #2 bedroom also very nice but doesn't compete with master so this villa a good option if you put the kids downstairs but might cause jealousy if you are two couples travelling together! We were intrigued by the reviews of the Kubu Lataliana villas so I asked to take a look and was able to see the 5 bedroom. Wow! luxurious, vast and cooool. Outdoor and indoor living space, chef's kitchen to cook in yourself or buy groceries and cook will make what you want.Also discovered that on the off-street walk to the beach there is a horse back riding stable. Anyone for morning ride on the beach right on your doorstep? Might try to find a second family to come back with to stay at Lataliana.

Room Tip: See above. Consider if you prefer indoor or ourdoor communal living areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Front Office Manager at Villa Kubu, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and we are pleased to be your home away from home.

The Kubu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Recently stayed at Villa Kubu - Jan 9th - Jan17th. What a disappointment.

From the check-in and being asked to pay 3% credit card fee on a total bill in excess of $3000, to the owner's dog sleeping (every day) in the reception area on an old cushion, room service scrambled eggs cold on one occasion, no butter on a 2nd occasion, the list goes on and on. Not to mention the leaking cistern on the toilet - wet shorts after using the loo - , a totally empty gas bott in the kitchen, bedroom door sliding mechanism broke, etc etc. Basically I think the owners who stay at their new villa complex (and who we didnt once see on site) have decided that they can get away with charging over $250 US per night without spending anything on maintenance.

Thank goodness the staff were very helpful and tried their best to ensure we had a pleasant stay - with obviously no support from their employers.

I appreciate that the owners (Dee and Partner) may be trying to provide a "traditional-style" property - but if you are going to charge over $250 per night ( we actually paid around $290 ) then they should also provide a comenserate level of maintenance and quality of structure

.With so many other well maintained villa properties available (we also spent 2 days at Komaneka in Monkey Forest Rd, Ubud - similar price, but oh, what a difference), I couldnt possibly recommend Villa Kubu to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Front Office Manager at Villa Kubu, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Suspicious, suspicious, suspicious.

We have no client who stated for the days referenced, we didn't process an amount by a client that is referenced, and have to say putting a personal slight in against the owner while recommending other locations is just not what we consider to be 'playing with a straight bat' and one wonders of the motivations to write such a review.

We have emailed you to ascertain if this is a legitimate person behind the allegations made and had no response - which is not assisting with us to think this is not suspicious in terms of its content and author.

We are not perfect and always strive to improve. We do think we provide a very good value for money product (affordable luxury is one internal mottoes) and fantastic personal service facilitated by one of the best teams on the island.

I hope anyone reading the very suspicious review above, contrasts it with all the glowing and legitimate reviews that surround it - we think those depict the true nature of Kubu and Lataliana.

The Kubu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed at Villa Kubu last night and ...

Loved all the pillows (8) and the comfy bed
Loved lying on a sun-lounger looking up at the stars
Loved the silence and the crickets
Loved the garden, the pool and the trees backlit
Loved the open air bathroom and power of the shower
Loved just doing nothing in a wonderful oasis

It took me about 30 mins to fully relax...love it!!

Room Tip: Try some of the local food, the massages are great and try a new fruit juice every morning - they ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Front Office Manager at Villa Kubu, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Loved your comments! Look forward to hosting you again.

The Kubu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

In the last month I have stayed at two Villa Kubu villas and have had such a relaxing and wonderful time I want othe travellers to Bali to know about them. The 5 bderoom Lataliana is one of their newest and it's divine. Beautiful design and furnishings, bathroom to-die-for..beautiful tub, indoor AND outdoor shower, spotlessly clean, friendly and professional staff who made the stay magical for us and another family. A short walk along a car-free lane takes you directly to the beach (avoid the crazy roads & sidewalks!). Excellent simming pool for kids and adults. When our family returned to Seminyak last weekend we stayed in a two bedroom villa and once again relaxed in to the peace and perfection of the Kubu villas and service. Don't miss the hotstone massage at their Spa Venus too.

Room Tip: If looking for a 2 bedroom, opt for Lataliana. New and sparkling, next to the beach and loft area me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Front Office Manager at Villa Kubu, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Seekingperfectspots

You make us blush with your kind words! We are very happy to have had you to stay with us and even more happy that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did.

Best Regards,
The Kubu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed in the five bedroom villa, Jan 2012, with another family; there were 4 adults and 6 children ages 16 - 7 yrs. It was just perfect. The location was fantastic for us adults to go out on scooters for a cocktail at some of the beautiful bars close by without the children. It was also convenient to do a couple of trips when everyone did go out together. We always felt the children were safe with the staff around; the villa is tucked away and very private. The staff were fantastic, especially our butler Made, whom everyone loved. Whatever we asked for the staff were there to help. They were even happy to pick us up from our other hotel instead of the airport.
This is the first time we have been to Bali and we were blown away with this place. All the food we had made for us was of exceptional quality, and not overpriced. We were really impressed with the turn down service where the staff came through all the rooms sprayed for mozzies, and prepared the beds for the night.
The villa itself caters for everything. At times it was great to chill out in the theatre room and watch dvds or have a relaxing swim in the pool. The photos on the website don’t give it justice, it is hard to describe how amazing it really is. We also looked through the 2 bed Villa, which looks just as good, and if we went back with just our family would definitely stay there.
We cannot fault anything with our stay, and can highly recommend to anyone. We will definitely stay at Villa Lata Liana when we return to Bali.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Front Office Manager at Villa Kubu, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
We are gratified to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The butlers still talk about Baby J! We are pleased that you liked the latest conception of Villa Kubu's quest to deliver the best holiday villa experience we can for our guests in the 5 bedroom and the 2 bedroom at Lataliana that have their own dedicated service kitchen and spa area.

The Kubu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed here over christmas with the family, and when we started to get close to the location we were a bit worried about what we could expect... once you get into the mindset that a large part of Bali is in fact pretty grotty, when you finally get through the entrance you're in for a treat.
We stayed in Villa 999 which was a 2 bedroom villa. Exceptionally clean, really good facilities and a nice little pool, which is big enough to keep 2 children entertained for days.

There were a few small gripes about the stay, but as soon as we mentioned anything to the management they fixed it immediately and really did their best to make sure everything was fine from that point on. For me a good resort is not about ticking the boxes but about looking after the guests wishes.... Kubu scores 10/10 on this part.

There are a few nice touches that I'd like to see in other hotels... for example, they don't give you 2 small bottles of drinking water, but each bedroom and the kitchen has a water dispenser so you can relax and get a drink of water whenever you need it.

Bear in mind the resort is pretty small and has grown organically, so they are separate villas with no central hub/restaurant/pool etc, but if this is what you're after and you know what to expect then you'll be happy.

The location is great, only about 5 mins walk from the main high street in Seminyak and taxis are cheap and easy to come by.

Totally loved this place.... one of the best places I've stayed at in a while.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Front Office Manager at Villa Kubu, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Happy new year.

we thank you for your comments. You help sum up our service philosophy which is "Unfortunately in life from time to time we all make mistakes; its how you deal with those mistakes that defines the kind of hospitality you actually provide".

We started with 3 villas over a decade ago. Now the Villa Kubu site offers 15 high individual units and our latest creation, the Lataliana Villas, offer two more and are only 400m from the beach.

At Kubu we're proud to announce that we just opened the Kubu Cafe, which offers a new focal point within the estate to enjoy food and beverages.

We hope to host you again in the not so distant future.

our best wishes for the new year,

The Kubu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Kubu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kubu

Address: Gang Plawa no. 33F, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Kubu 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Kubu offers tranquil and luxurious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom pool villas, on site spa and restaurant/bar and is located in the heart of sophisticated Seminyak. Each of the spacious and elegant villas offer private pools and enchanting gardens, kitchens, air conditioned rooms, complimentary wifi, made to order breakfast, room service, free airport transfers, complimentary shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Villa Kubu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Kubu - Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
Villa Kubu Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Kubu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.