We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Taman Ayu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Taman Ayu to your Saves list
The Taman Ayu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Petitenget, Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 116 Hotels in Seminyak
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Decent for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

The location in Seminyak (on Petitenget Kerobokan) is about a 10 minute walk to the beach along a road with no sidewalk. There are some good food options within 10 or 15 minutes too, but again, not very pleasant walking location. The pics on their website look like they were taken when the place was new, but now the rooms are a bit dirty and moldy. My first room had holes around the doors going out to the small balcony large enough to let in mosquitos. I got switched without a problem but the second room had the same run-down, moldy bathroom and dirty walls.

However, the staff is quite friendly, the price is good, and it's not that far away from stuff. The included breakfast is ok, but with so much good Indonesian food to try I generally stuck with just coffee and toast to save my apetite for better foods later in the day.

Pool is cleaned regularly, and bedsheets seemed clean. AC worked well.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    79
    29
    8
    10
See reviews for
22
52
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Can't beat the location in Seminyak and the price, started out in a super deluxe and changed over to a one bedroom cottage with kitchen and livingroom, shower and tub. Not fancy but more than sufficient and all the cab drivers know where it is!!!!!!!

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern part of the US
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Although a bit far from the center of all the touristy areas, this hotel is located within walking distance of a quiet part of the beach and great restaurants. The breakfast included is more than ample. Well kept grounds, wonderful staff and very clean rooms. The guests at this place tend to be families, and it stays fairly quiet- everyone is respectful of each other's space.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed 6 nights at Taman Ayu and booked two rooms through Bali Friendly. It was peak season so we had no choice but to take whatever rooms were available. The superior room (is the most basic) was cheaper through Bali Friendly than the hotel's website. When we arrived, we were put into one of the crummiest rooms I"ve ever stayed at in Bali. We've travelled around Asia and stayed at some rough places (I'm Malaysian) but what annoyed us the most was it was still USD$60 and we got a room that had crumbling wooden furniture from the 60s, a shower curtain that had an ecosystem growing on it and a bathtub that leaked. I called Bali Friendly to request an upgrade and told him that USD$60 was expensive for a room of this standard and that I have stayed at capital cities in Asia for less and the officer's response was:" But this is Bali...(read: high class wannabe monarco). I promptly reminded him that Bali WAS in Asia.

We managed to bargain for an upgrade for USD$10 more per night, which was reasonable but mind, you that's still USD$70. The Deluxe room is definitely more worth it but it just feels that it's an old hotel that received a half-baked upgrade. Sinks stoppers didn't work in the toilet, so we had to brush our teeth using the deluxe bathtub.

Customer Service was varied - we had great receptionists who were really helpful and others who seem jaded. Probably the icing on the cake was when we had to give up one of rooms and triple share on our last night (the hotel said one of the deluxe rooms had been booked). No problem there, except we noticed that the room we left behind was vacant for the last day! We then received a call at 12am at our triple room asking if we wanted the previous room we were staying at! Great.

The morning of our departure, we were accused of drinking from our minibar, which we had no idea we even had.

We had seen cleaners leaving the doors of rooms unattended during their rounds, and someone could have easily come into the room. Security is a bit lacking here. Don't leave valuables in the room.

Location was great though, Petitengget is just off the high-end belt in a nice emerging neighbourhood - really close to Seminyak but away from the mad crowd at Kuta. There are nicer hotels there though - Villa Lumbang looked great (they fill fast) and would definitely book there another time.

In short, skip Taman Ayu. Their website is an exercise in great Photoshop.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

reading so much excellent reviews, I probably have unrealistic expectations.
booked this hotel at the last minute and secured a room (901). I think it's one of the old rooms in the building, since it didn't look as pretty as the pictures posted here.
but at least it's clean, the air conditioning and water heater works properly, and the sheets are clean.
the one thing that bothered me the most is the length of the shower line. it barely reaches my shoulder, so when I wash my hair, I have to duck.
it's located in the seminyak area (near the ever popular hu'u bar --- which serves excellent lychee martini! love the alfresco setting)
but you still need a cab to get to the shops/boutique row.
the room was quite noisy since it's located at the front, near the reception area and the restaurant where the guests gather to watch the FIFA worldcup at ungodly hours.
breakfast was a standard affair of scrambled eggs, fruits, and toasts with butter and strawberry jam.
didn't spend much time at the hotel, so I guess it's okay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

This hotel is very good I was supposed to stay there only for 2 nights as the location and everything was so great I decided to stay for 7 more days. I can really recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

This hotel isn't exactly in Kuta- although I think there's a sister hotel in Kuta and then this one near Seminyak about half way along JL Petitenget. This one is called the New Taman Ayu Cottage. It's in a great district though with lots of restaurants (try Biku it's great) and the fab Petitenget Beach nearby. There's lots of taxis around to get you into Seminyak or Kuta. We actually walked from Kuta back to the hotel and enjoyed all the great shops and stopped for an afternoon juice along the way. The hotel pool is elevated and very deep but nicely situated and the deluxe rooms were newly refurbished with all mod cons -shower, TV, internet. We were out all day and it was a great quiet oasis to come back to. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a 6 am flight and the kitchen staff made us a hot box breakfast at 4am to take to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Taman Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taman Ayu

Address: Jl. Petitenget, Kerobokan, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Taman Ayu 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Taman Ayu Seminyak A Premium Location , with Privacy, Excellent Value & Full Service. A true Bali experience awaits at Taman Ayu in Seminyak. With full service hotel combines traditional elements with all modern conveniences. Everything that has to offer is at your doorstep. The best restaurant precinct, fashion shopping and an array of glorious sunset bars, are all within easy reach. Inside this premium location is a spacious garden setting that gives guests a feeling of seclusion and tranquility. With various options from our superior rooms right up to our spacious private villas, we are sure to have something to suit your needs. Welcome to the real Seminyak and The Taman Ayu. New for 2014: Come and enjoy our expanded main pool & new deluxe accommodation wing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Taman Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Ayu Cottage Hotel Seminyak
Taman Ayu Cottage Kuta
The Taman Ayu Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Taman Ayu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.