We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desamuda Village

Save Saved
You added Desamuda Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desamuda Village
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Jalan Raya Basangkasa No 30A | Seminyak - Kuta, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 296 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Limoges, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spacious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Tucked away in Seminyak area ... It's hidden from the road, but easy walking distance to all the up-and-coming shops and cafes in the area. Stayed in a three-bedroom pool villa, so it's very spacious. The staff are friendly,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    72
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
72
92
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our family stayed at Desamuda and really enjoyed the villa. The staff at Desamuda were fantastic - incredibly helpful and friendly. The villa was beautiful - I loved the outdoor bathrooms. We didn't experience any difficulty with mosquito's - we just ensured all doors remained closed and used the nets provided. Seminyak itself is quite up-market and a lot of the shops are expensive so we ended up catching taxi's to the local markets.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at Desamuda Village with my family (2 adults and 3 children) and we took a 2 storey villa with 2 bedrooms. The rooms were very spacious and clean and we liked the decor of the villa. We slept very well on the beds. They provide a shuttle service to take you along the Kuta - Legian - Seminyak stretch. The beach is about a 15 minute walk. Very friendly family run business. Will certainly return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We arrived here by default after a dreadful experience with a villa called Tamu Seseh.. I'll write about that terrible experience later..
For us, Desamuda was heaven, a safe, clean and tidy place where the staff were genuinely helpful, honest, and happy to have us stay with them.. It was close to everything in Seminyak, the breakfasts were included in the very reasonable room tariff and were good, we had the chef make banana crepes each morning and they were great. The room has its own pool and kitchen, the beds and amenities were comfortable and everything was in good condition. I would recommend this as a good place to stay for anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

As a first time visitor to Bali, but a long time traveller to a fairly diverse number of places, Desamuda Village for what it represents was a great choice for accomodation. Check in was fast and friendly with the ubiquitous juice on arrival. All of the staff, including back of house and maintenance staff were all extremely freindly and welcoming. As is typical (as I have come to learn) for the Balinese, our 10 month old daughter was a huge hit and the staff would whisk her away from us at every breakfast to cuddle and play with her, which was great for sneaking in some food for mum and dad in peace. I cannot speak highly enough of the friendliness of the Desamuda staff.

Despite the complex being close to 15 years old, the private pool villa we had booked was clean and extremely well maintained, with beautiful air-conditioning (necessary in the steamy wet season) for the bedroom.

My wife and I selected this place based on recommendations from TripAdvisor, and I am happy that we did. I would also be happy to recommend to anyone else that a holiday here would be money well spent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was recommended Desamuda by a friend. The ONLY negativity I can point out is the lobby area and entrance. It is on one of the main streets of Seminyak and you need to keep an eye out for the sign before actually noticing where the villa is. The lobby area could be better but it's something I can't complain about. They're currently refurnishing one side of the villa so it will only get better - this didn't distract my stay. Very quiet construction I must say. The rooms/villa itself was AMAZING. Absolutely jaw dropping when I walked in. It has an outside bathroom, private pool, kitchen and the bedroom was fab also. Every time we went out my partner and I could not wait to go back. Service was fantastic, room was cleaned every day. I would stay here again next time I'm in Bali, no doubt. The people are lovely. hey also provide free shuttle bus to wherever you want to go. Location is quite good. Restaurants are everywhere and if you continue walking down the street you will hit a few market stores. Closer to the villa are actual clothing stores. Thank you Desamuda, you've made my trip extremely enjoyable. Will 110% recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a private pool, this will make your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I booked Desamuda after much research and had really high expectations. I was not disappointed!!

We were picked up at the airport and check in took all of 2 minutes. We were upgraded from a 2brm pool Villa to a 3brm Villa with one room locked. The front of house staff were all amazing. Wonderful english, always smiling and nothing was ever too much hassle. We used the shuttle service most days which was very handy.

There are renovations happening, but they are extremely quiet, and all building works are closed off from view. If it weren't for the extra motorbikes out the front, you would often not be aware of the builders at all. A real credit to the management and builders that this is so unobtrusive to guests.

As others have mentioned, breakfast is sufficient, however we often requested extras that were not on the buffet (their pork bacon is yum!) and this was never a problem. Restaurant staff were wonderful.

The gardens were lovely and well maintained. There are 2 large resort pools which were both lovely.

The 3brm villa we had was wonderful. Rooms were huge and the airconditioning cold! Bathrooms were lovely. Once you were in the complex there was absolutely no sound from the busy road Desamuda is located on. The Villa was cleaned daily by a team of cleaners who were quiet and efficient, and as always, smiling and helpful!

Overall we had an amazing stay at Desamuda. While the Villas and grounds were all beautiful, the true star of Desamuda is without doubt the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desamuda Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desamuda Village

Address: Jalan Raya Basangkasa No 30A | Seminyak - Kuta, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 296 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desamuda Village 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desamuda Village is still one of Bali's most idyllic resorts. Consisting with collections of 26 private villas set within a tropically landscaped garden.The resorts were surrounded by Bali's most vibrant tourist districts in a stylish shopping and restaurant arcades for all your favorites gourmet treats in the prime area of SEMINYAK, Kuta - Bali. 7 minutes drive to many points on the Exotic white or/and black sands of The West Ocean Beach, 5 minutes from the night life, clubs, Bars & Lounge and sunset spots with its surroundings and 20 minute drive from/to Ngurah-Rai International Airport Featuring in one, two & three bedrooms, the air-conditioned villas come with wooden furnishings, garden views and a semi-outdoor private bathroom (Hot & Cold). LCD-screen satellite TVs and DVD players in all rooms, A gallon of drinking water; Breakfast and Dinner could be served in the villas. For convenience: Room service, laundry & Dry Cleaning service is also provided upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Desamuda Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desamuda Village Hotel Seminyak
Desamuda Village Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desamuda Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.